Job For A Cowboy - Biography



Job For A Cowboy was founded in Glendale, Arizona during December 2003 by vocalist Jonny Davy, guitarists Ravi Bhadriraju and Andrew Arcurio, bassist Chad Staples, and drummer Andy Rysdam. In 2004, they created a MySpace profile, posted songs online, and immediately began to connect with several worldwide fans. Later that year, Staples and Rysdam left Job For A Cowboy and were replaced by Brent Riggs and Elliott Sellers respectively as bassist and drummer. Traffic to the band's MySpace profile increased exponentially in late 2005 when the band released their first EP, entitled Doom. The EP attracted the attention of Arizona independent label King Of The Monsters, who distributed the disc after an initial self-released pressing by the band.

Job For A Cowboy extensively promoted their debut EP, including three performances on the Sounds Of The Underground tour. By the end of the year, the band obtained professional management and signed a deal with Metal Blade Records, who reissued Doom with a bonus track. During the same year (2006), Arcurio left the band, and Bobby Thompson joined the group. While Job For A Cowboy was writing material for their first full-length album, Sellers announced that he would be leaving the band to go back to school immediately after recording the album. In search of a permanent drummer, the band then posted a bulletin on, which was seen by Jon "The Charn" Rice. He made a video of himself, posted it on YouTube, and sent the link to the band. Soon after, Rice was announced as the new drummer.

In March 2007, Job For A Cowboy completed their debut full-length album, Genesis. The album was recorded at Blue Light Audio Media in Phoenix, Arizona with producer Cory Spotts. It was mixed by Sabbat guitarist Andy Sneap; released on May 15, the album peaked at #54 on the Billboard 200, and sold nearly 13,000 copies in its first week, which made Genesis the best-selling heavy metal debut since Slipknot's 1999 debut album. The album received generally positive reviews, with Kerrang! Magazine saying, "an album that quite literally obliterates everyone else currently residing within the death and grind scenes" and "one of the year's most essential metal purchases".

In June 2007, the band performed at the Download Festival in Donington Park, England. The group also played at the Sounds of the Underground festival along with Amon Amarth, Chimaira, Gwar, and Shadows Fall. In October, Job For A Cowboy co-headlined the 2007 Radio Rebellion Tour, teaming up with Behemoth, Gojira and Beneath The Massacre. The band featured on the 2008's Gigantour with headliners Megadeth, Children Of Bodom, In Flames and High On Fire. In addition, they have been confirmed for a number of festivals during 2008, including Wacken Open Air in Germany and a second appearance at England's Download Festival. Job For A Cowboy have embarked on a U.S. headlining tour in November and December 2008 with supporting acts Hate Eternal and All Shall Perish. In late-2008 guitarist Ravi Bhadriraju left Job For A Cowboy to return to school because want to pursue a more rewarding career in the medical field, in his words "reinvent the pacemaker"; he was replaced with former Despised Icon guitarist, Al Glassman.

On May 1, 2009, the band announced that they completed recording their second studio album, Ruination, at AudioHammer studios in Sanford, Florida with producer Jason Suecof. The album marks the debut of drummer Jon "The Charn" Rice, who has actually been with the band since the tour for Genesis, and also of guitarist Al Glassman. Ruination, was then released on July 7, 2009 worldwide through Metal Blade Records. The album sold around 10,600 copies in the United States in its first week of release to debut at position No. 42 on the Billboard 200 chart. Job For A Cowboy took place in the second Mayhem Festival, playing on the Hot Topic stage along with bands such as Cannibal Corpse and Whitechapel.

At the beginning of 2011, the band started work on an EP, that was recorded in February at the Audiohammer Studios in Sanford, Florida with producer Jason Suecof. Just before the recording of Gloom, bassist Brent Riggs departed from the band and Bobby Thompson was replaced by Tony Sannicandro. On the 13th April 2011 a video appeared on the internet of drummer, Jon Rice, performing a new song in the studio.

The Gloom EP is set to be released on June 7th via Metal Blade Records.