Saattue - Biography


Saattue is formed in 2001, at the darkest corner of Bar Papillon (Riihimäki/Finland). Since the beginning of the band, it is clear that the band members want to play slow and the darkest kind of metal and to write their lyrics in Finnish. At the early stage, the band choses to call them selves as Kiduttajat. After recording two demos the name changes to Saattue, which means procession, or convoy, in english.

The first CDEP Kivisydän is brought out in 2004. Band's original members Vesa Mänty (guitar/vocals), Harri Lampinen(guitar) and bassist Valtteri Heinonen (all former Braindrain members) have now recruited a third guitarist Tero Kalliomäki (ex-Yearning) and a drummer T. Kristian (Yearning, Thyrane, Carcase Inc.) into their line-up and started to play live all over southern Finland. The band's sound has progressed to doomier kind of metal, which is well dominated by the harmonic and heavy wall of three guitars - while the vocals are varying from aggressive and metallic outcries to clean, dark and haunting voices. The EP is getting good reviews in the magazines, some radio air play and the band starts to gain more listeners.

However, a few changes are ahead while the procession advances. Vesa Mänty starts to concentrate on guitar only and Tuukka Koskinen joins in as the vocalist. Bassist Valtteri Heinonen leaves the band and Samu Lahtinen steps in. The band plays more shows until they take a brake from the concert stages. After long consideration Vesa Mänty decides to leave the band in 2005 and shortly after this the drummer T.Kristian is being replaced by Miku (UltraMayhem). Guitarist Jani Koskela joins in and the renovated line-up plays their first live show.

Saattue records a 3 track promo EP Ikiuneen, which the band releases in January 2006. Shortly after the recording sessions, Saattue plays their first foreign show in Tallinn, Estonia. The new promo is receiving good critics, this time also from record companies. However, no serious contracts are being offered and the band continues to work with Ikiuneen on self-financed basis. While knowing that the next release is going be an important release for Saattue´s carrier progression, the band continues to write new material and to promote Ikiuneen by playing shows in southern Finland.

Four tracks are being rehearsed and pre-produced and after a few setbacks, the band enters D-Studio in Klaukkala in May 2007. Saattue plans to release the new songs as an EP, tittled as Jäähyvästi, while secretly hoping that the new material would lead the band to sign a record company contract and the planed EP would expand to become an album. This eventually happens as Spinefarm Records offers Saattue an album contract, right after hearing the new recordings. The band gladly accepts the offer and agrees to return to D-Studio in September, in order to record and mix their debut album. The album will include 7 tracks of pure SaattoMetal and it will be heavy, powerfull and the most dynamic Saattue release so far. Besides of the raw and doomy metal elements, you will also hear more emotional and melodic passages, supported by the appearance of guest vocalist Ines Lukkanen.

Doom on!