36 Crazyfists - Biography



Formed in December 1994, 36 Crazyfists originate from Anchorage, Alaska. The band's original line-up consisted of vocalist Brock Lindow, guitarist Ryan Brownell, bassist JD Stuart and drummer Thomas Noonan. The band independently released two EPs and one LP before being signed. Their first EP Boss Buckle was released in 1995, followed by Suffer Tree in 1997 and finally their LP In the Skin which was also released in 1997. A demo disc was also recorded in 1999. Three out of four songs on this demo would later featured on their 2002 major label debut.

In order to break into the industry, the band moved from Alaska to Portland, Oregon after the death of their original bassist in a car accident. From here, they opened for such acts System of a Down, Primus, Blink-182 and NOFX. They eventually befriended metal band Skinlab, who landed their demo into the hands of A&R reps at Roadrunner Records.

Signed by Roadrunner Records in 2000, the band recorded their major debut album Bitterness the Star which was released on April 4, 2002. In support of its release, the band toured with such heavy weight acts as Candiria, God Forbid, Chimaira, Diecast and Hotwire. After touring the United States, they headed off to Europe to begin the European Road Rage Tour with Killswitch Engage and Five Pointe O.

The band reemerged two years later, on March 16, 2004 with their second album A Snow Capped Romance which was produced by James Paul Wisner (who also produced albums for bands like Dashboard Confessional and As Friends Rust). They toured intensely behind the record (playing shows with acts like Killswitch Engage and Poison the Well) through December, taking two months off before beginning the work on their next album.

36 Crazyfists entered the studio with producer Sal Villanueva (who'd worked with Thursday and Taking Back Sunday) in October, 2005 to commence recording, and the result, their third album Rest Inside the Flames was released across Europe on June 12, 2006. Ultimately, Roadrunner decided not to release the album in North America. A deal with DRT Entertainment was later struck, and the album received a belated release on November 7, 2006.

The album was a success in the UK, with Rest Inside the Flames debuting at #71 on the UK album charts, and reaching #2 in the BBC's Rock Album charts. However, the album only sold 1,858 copies in the US during its first week of release.

The band started an extensive UK tour, supported by Twelve Tribes on April 1, 2007, where they played at 26 venues across the country.

Vocalist Brock Lindow announced that a new record would be released in March 2008 on Ferret Music entitled "The Tide and Its Takers". This date has been pushed back, and will now see a release on April 29, 2008.

This was released on Ultimate-Guitar.com on 29 November " Alaska based rockers 36 Crazyfists are currently in the studio working on their Ferret Music debut, which they have titled The Tide And Its Takers.

36 Crazyfists have just completed writing and begin the recording process after Thanksgiving. The band will be having guitarist and backing vocalist, Steve Holt, sitting in the producer's chair. They have decided to work with Andy Sneap (Machine Head, Testament, As I Lay Dying) again on the mixing.

Lead singer Brock Lindow had this to say, "We could not be happier to be on Ferret Music, we are all big fans of the bands on the roster as well as the people who run the label. Our new record is now finished being written and we will start recording right after Thanksgiving. We will be out on tour in January starting with the UK and Europe first, looking forward to hitting the road and seeing all of our friends again." "