Rating:
8.5
Forteresse - Crépuscule d'octobre
22 November 2011


01. Silence d'octobre
02. Le triomphe des douze
03. La lame du passé
04. Mon esprit rôde toujours
05. Spectres du solstice
06. Enfants du Lys


Canadian black metallers Forteresse have been around for about half-a-decade now, slowly but surely rising to prominence within the metal noir Québécois scene. For the uninitiated, the Québec black metal scene is growing rapidly: spearheaded by other bands such as Gris, Akitsa, and Sombres Forêts (to name a few).

Forteresse embody black metal not only in sound, but in philosophy. Politically driven, these musicians use the band as a means of voicing their disgust at the deaths of tradition within their native land. And that disgust is more than felt throughout their discography.

Crépuscule d'octobre continues in the same vain as its predecessors, combining a grandiose atmosphere and folk-inspired raw black metal that pummels the listener with angst-laden repetition for 45 minutes. The goal of the music is to crush the listener with a feeling of inescapable anguish, and that is precisely where this album succeeds. The only way to avoid the asphyxiating effects of the October dusk is to crawl on your hands and knees inside the dank cellar of your fanatical antipathy, searching hopelessly for some sign of light. Immediately it becomes clear that the way out is shrouded by the developments of the modern world, leaving you behind to rot in misery while solace seeks out those who embrace evolution.

And evolve this band will not. The simplicity, the almost stagnant creativity, the blatant inability to give in to the winds of change... it fills the air with charm. A charm that wraps around the throat with an iron grip, choking the remnants of life from your very soul. Crépuscule d'octobre acts as the perverse shadow that saunters mockingly at your side while your eyes swallow the tips of your fingers seeking refuge from the cruel world around you, into the world of Forteresse: distorted, malignant melodies; icy, metallic drum work; and tormenting shrieks that burrow deep inside your depraved imagination.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 6
Production: 10


 



Written on 26.12.2011 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 25  
Users visited: 221  
Search this topic:  


Milena - 26.12.2011 at 12:12  
Oh, my, I felt almost like reading a review by Rozz. Good job!

"The goal of the music is to crush the listener with a feeling of inescapable anguish, and that is precisely where this album succeeds."

I definitely felt this while listening.
Troy Killjoy - 26.12.2011 at 12:20  
Written by Milena on 26.12.2011 at 12:12
Oh, my, I felt almost like reading a review by Rozz. Good job!

Probably the greatest compliment I've ever received on this site.

And I'm glad to hear you felt the weight of this release. I know atmosphere is an incredibly subjective thing, so while some people might feel the same about its enveloping factor, others might just think of it as boring because you can't tell the songs apart.
Mr. Doctor - 26.12.2011 at 13:38  
Written by Milena on 26.12.2011 at 12:12

"The goal of the music is to crush the listener with a feeling of inescapable anguish, and that is precisely where this album succeeds."
I definitely felt this while listening.


Music can do different things to people... I was in a good humor and pretty much smiling the whole time, a pleasant, beautiful and quite peaceful listening indeed.
Milena - 26.12.2011 at 13:41  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 26.12.2011 at 13:38

Music can do different things to people... I was in a good humor and pretty much smiling the whole time, a pleasant, beautiful and quite peaceful listening indeed.

I always try to figure out the intended mood, so I try listening to releases in different times of the day and surroundings, and different companies too. Nerd.
Mr. Doctor - 26.12.2011 at 13:47  
Written by Milena on 26.12.2011 at 13:41
I always try to figure out the intended mood, so I try listening to releases in different times of the day and surroundings, and different companies too. Nerd.


A lot of cds change their atmosphere or make it more strong if you change the environment.
This album has too much melody and light sound for me to feel some kind of anguish. It's too nice
Troy Killjoy - 26.12.2011 at 13:53  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 26.12.2011 at 13:47
This album has too much melody and light sound for me to feel some kind of anguish. It's too nice

I'm sure the holy days have a great deal of influence on this.

In regards to both our opinions.
Mr. Doctor - 26.12.2011 at 13:56  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 26.12.2011 at 13:53

I'm sure the holy days have a great deal of influence on this.
In regards to both our opinions.


Hhahahhahaha that could be a good point. Let's see how this album would sound like after a few weeks after going back to Uni.
Milena - 26.12.2011 at 13:57  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 26.12.2011 at 13:47

This album has too much melody and light sound for me to feel some kind of anguish. It's too nice

Dunno, I get more negative emotions from "nice" stuff than the other stuff. If you tell me I'm looking at a horror film, I'll just laugh at the bloodspill. If I watch a normal movie and come across a negative feeling-laden situation, I won't be able to watch for a couple of seconds.
Troy Killjoy - 26.12.2011 at 14:01  
Written by Milena on 26.12.2011 at 13:57
Dunno, I get more negative emotions from "nice" stuff than the other stuff.

Likewise.

And the opposite is true for me too. I feel more positive when listening to or watching more "negative" things.
Milena - 26.12.2011 at 14:07  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 26.12.2011 at 14:01

I feel more positive when listening to or watching more "negative" things.

True for my circle of friends. We always play Sentenced at gatherings. Well, Sentenced is pretty sadness-lite for most metalheads, but since we like them, there's always a sense of negativity coming from the unfortunate death of Miika Tenkula. But it still makes a great party atmosphere for us. And most people, when they are present at some of our gatherings, don't get how can we have fun "while playing something so depressive". "We just can" is always the answer
Mr. Doctor - 26.12.2011 at 14:19  
I dunno... when I go for negativity. I'll go deep on extreme doom so Sentenced would be faaaaar away from depressive. Not even extreme doom makes me gloomy. I'm just inmune to that nowdays. "Nice music" just makes me feel good.

Music can't make me feel bad nowdays because I use music as an escape, so I'm going to feel better by default.
Milena - 26.12.2011 at 15:37  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 26.12.2011 at 14:19

I dunno... when I go for negativity. I'll go deep on extreme doom so Sentenced would be faaaaar away from depressive. Not even extreme doom makes me gloomy. I'm just inmune to that nowdays. "Nice music" just makes me feel good.

Music can't make me feel bad nowdays because I use music as an escape, so I'm going to feel better by default.

That's what I said, they're mostly sadness-lite for metalheads, but still people can't figure out how come we listen to "that depressing shit" while we're having fun.
Boxcar Willy - 26.12.2011 at 19:45  
Immma be tr00 kvlt and call this wheatcore.
Milena - 26.12.2011 at 20:36  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 26.12.2011 at 19:45

Immma be tr00 kvlt and call this wheatcore.

It does have a grainy sound.
Boxcar Willy - 26.12.2011 at 20:59  
Written by Milena on 26.12.2011 at 20:36

Written by Boxcar Willy on 26.12.2011 at 19:45

Immma be tr00 kvlt and call this wheatcore.

It does have a grainy sound.

its settled then, somebody change the genre.




I HAVE SPOKEN!
Slayer666 - 26.12.2011 at 23:20  
I remember hearing Les hivers de notre époque by these guys.
The entire album was pretty much the same melody repeated over and over again, only with a different background tempo each time. Still, I was fairly satisfied, it had that epic yet tragic atmosphere going on that I loved.

Will be giving this a fair chance.
Milena - 27.12.2011 at 02:10  
Written by Slayer666 on 26.12.2011 at 23:20

Will be giving this a fair chance.

Well Troy's several recommendations made me try it, of all people, so yeah, go ahead please
Ag Fox - 27.12.2011 at 16:08  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 26.12.2011 at 14:01

And the opposite is true for me too. I feel more positive when listening to or watching more "negative" things.
the negativity is my salvation
Slayer666 - 27.12.2011 at 21:47  
Written by Milena on 27.12.2011 at 02:10

Well Troy's several recommendations made me try it, of all people, so yeah, go ahead please

Wait, what? How in the...
Never mind. After careful consideration, I've decided I really don't want to know.

Checked it myself, and yeah, pretty solid piece of atmospheric BM. Not a 8.5 by any stretch in my book, but Troy is just weird like that.
Milena - 27.12.2011 at 23:16  
Written by Slayer666 on 27.12.2011 at 21:47

Never mind. After careful consideration, I've decided I really don't want to know.

Nothing weird, wanted to listen to something I usually don't so I asked the person with the taste most opposite of mine to give me a nice list to go through
Edmund Fogg - 28.12.2011 at 18:23  
All hail Quebec BM scene!!! Hahaha! Really well written review. It seems someone as taken Rozz as a mentor. Just kidding,you still have your own personal spice. I like the album a lot. Thanks for putting it under the spotlight.
Troy Killjoy - 31.12.2011 at 01:53  
Written by Edmund Fogg on 28.12.2011 at 18:23
All hail Quebec BM scene!!! Hahaha! Really well written review. It seems someone as taken Rozz as a mentor. Just kidding,you still have your own personal spice. I like the album a lot. Thanks for putting it under the spotlight.

The only reason I'd wanna live in Quebec is for the local BM scene.

Hopefully my next review doesn't seem so... copied.
Edmund Fogg - 31.12.2011 at 13:34  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 31.12.2011 at 01:53

Hopefully my next review doesn't seem so... copied.


Haha! Don't worry about it. As I said this still has The Killjoy's touch. So iit feels more inspired then copied. It doesn't look like a Rozz revivalist review just yet.
NocturnalStalker - 04.01.2012 at 19:10  
Oh, my. It seems I've been listening to too much black metal albums lately... And it's all your fault, Troy, for writing such tempting reviews.
Troy Killjoy - 04.01.2012 at 20:35  
Written by NocturnalStalker on 04.01.2012 at 19:10
Oh, my. It seems I've been listening to too much black metal albums lately... And it's all your fault, Troy, for writing such tempting reviews.

Glad to hear it. No such thing as too much black metal.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Forteresse - Crépuscule d'octobre 6 08.12.2011 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Srodek - Förfall 5 04.01.2012 by Milena
Reviews Pact - The Dragon Lineage Of Satan 4.5 28.03.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Tortorum - Katabasis 4.5 28.02.2014 by Tristus Scriptor
Reviews Hellspawn - The Great Red Dragon 4.5 08.07.2012 by Boxcar Willy



Hits total: 3529 | This month: 31