Reviews
Coal Chamber - Rivals

Twelve years after they went the way of the dodo, nu metal stalwarts Coal Chamber are back with a new album, Rivals. And like with any reunion album, the question arises as to whether it would be a welcome addition to the band's catalogue or just another pointless exercise in misguided nostalgia.

Read more ››
Posted: 27.05.2015 by deadone | Comments (0)

Reviews
Alkaloid - The Malkuth Grimoire

When it comes to progressive metal, one finds many die-hard fans and others who can't handle it at all. It might be that this genre has a larger ratio of musicians among the fans, those who comprehend the music are more likely to enjoy it with all its facets. Out of nothing now a new band emerged; Alkaloid from Germany greet us with their first ever release after their formation just a year ago. The musicians, however, are known to some people from their work with other big bands like Necrophagist, Obscura or Dark Fortress. Therefore, calling this new project a big surprise would be a bit of an exaggeration, nevertheless the music is worth the praise it currently receives.

Read more ››
Posted: 27.05.2015 by Windrider | Comments (2)

Reviews
Leprous - The Congregation

It would be unlike Leprous to exercise restraint to the point of diminishment and place limitations on fresh efforts. Nonetheless, The Congregation is a compromise.

Read more ››
Posted: 26.05.2015 by R'Vannith | Comments (22)

Reviews
Nibiru - Padmalotus

In recent years, a good few occult theorists and scientists who spend too much time reading Zecharia Sitchin have come to proclaim the inevitable return of Nibiru. If they're talking about the fabled planet, I'd say their arguments are probably shit out of luck, but if they happen to be referring to the band, they're dead on. The Italian trio that is Nibiru are indeed here again on the psychedelia block, and they're striking back with what is perhaps their most powerful album to date.

Read more ››
Posted: 23.05.2015 by Apothecary | Comments (2)

Reviews
Sannhet - Revisionist

An American band that plays good black metal? There are not many, and even though Sannhet orchestrates what certainly can be labeled as "hipster" black metal (had to say it), they are pretty unique in that they have no vocals. Think Deafheaven, Altar Of Plagues or Regarde Les Hommes Tomber but without the desolate, shrieking and chthonic black metal singing.

Read more ››
Posted: 22.05.2015 by tea[m]ster | Comments (11)

Reviews
Gruesome - Savage Land

There are probably a few Death fans out there who lament that the band switched to more progressive pastures far too quickly and who believe the band should have churned out a few more Leprosy's instead. Now these fans have their wish come true in the form of Gruesome's Leprosy worshipping debut Savage Land.

Read more ››
Posted: 21.05.2015 by deadone | Comments (18)

Reviews
King Parrot - Dead Set

Honestly, looking at the name, you couldn't fault someone for thinking this is another one of those Municipal Waste side projects, which doesn't set the highest expectations. Don't get me wrong, Cannabis Corpse and Iron Reagan are both good fun, but ultimately a bit disposable. King Parrot meets some expectations and blows away others.

Read more ››
Posted: 20.05.2015 by Doc Godin | Comments (9)

Reviews
Arena - The Unquiet Sky

Turns out it's not easy to come up with an apt description for the new Arena album. I've spent quite some time searching for a phrase that would round up my ongoing journey with The Unquiet Sky. Until recently I could only think of something being off about this one. Now, finally, I've concluded that unremarkable grower sums it up best. That, and that something is decidedly off about it.

Read more ››
Posted: 16.05.2015 by Ivor | Comments (4)

Reviews
Forgotten Tomb - Hurt Yourself And The Ones You Love

Forgotten Tomb is a pretty easy band to nail musically. Whether it's their early-Katatonia era worship or the more recent ones which bring some rocking attitude to melodic black metal, and I really like them both even if they're not extremely original.

Read more ››
Posted: 13.05.2015 by Ag Fox | Comments (4)

Reviews
Porta Nigra - Kaiserschnitt

Alright, so we have album artwork of a weasel-looking thing, wearing a general's uniform and looking coked out of its mind, biting into a bleeding globe. I wouldn't put my money on it, but using the simple human power of deduction, I'd say that means we're in for a wild ride.

Read more ››
Posted: 11.05.2015 by Apothecary | Comments (27)

Reviews
Fistula - Destitute

Ohio's Fistula are an example of a band whose name goes perfectly hand in hand with the attitude of their music. Like the abnormal and harmful organ connections for which they are named, these guys are purveyors of grime and are all about the nastiness: eating, drinking, and bathing in it. 2015's Destitute is certainly no exception to this, and proves that although the band aren't changing up their formula anytime soon, they really don't need to.

Read more ››
Posted: 07.05.2015 by Apothecary | Comments (13)

Reviews
Noisem - Blossoming Decay

On Blossoming Decay, Noisem play really angry death/thrash/grind music. Why are they angry? Is it the destruction of the environment, the implosion of the middle east, the replacement of human values with mindless consumerism? Or is it because they play mindlessly angry death/thrash/grind music?

Read more ››
Posted: 06.05.2015 by deadone | Comments (6)

Reviews
Shining - IX - Everyone, Everything, Everywhere, Ends

I think we can all agree that Shining isn't a band that needs much of an introduction. Niklas Kvarforth and his colleagues have twisted black metal into sickness for almost twenty years. But now it is a new year, and it brought us a new album named IX - Everyone, Everything, Everywhere, Ends. Before we go in-depth I have to mention that I never was a huge Shining fan, but since I saw them on stage last year for the first time Kvarforth's attitude left me disgusted and most interested at the same time and one has to take this sick mind into account to form the whole picture of the music. Anyway, on a musical album there still are no pictures, but only audio that counts.

Read more ››
Posted: 05.05.2015 by Windrider | Comments (7)

Reviews
Feared - Synder

There was a time when the phrase "Swedish death metal" was enough to send metalheads into a frenzy. But then Stockholm got stale and Gothenburg first got oversaturated and then immersed itself in mainstream pop mannerisms and generic clichés. Things got boring or too mellow or both. And then out of the ruins came Feared with album number 6: Synder

Read more ››
Posted: 05.05.2015 by deadone | Comments (18)

Reviews
Enforcer - From Beyond

Way back in 1984, Sweden's Enforcer came up with a blistering little heavy metal album called From Beyond. No, not really. But it might as well have been cause this little doozy would not be out of place in any self-respecting 1980s metalhead's vinyl collection.

Read more ››
Posted: 05.05.2015 by deadone | Comments (5)

Reviews
Ereb Altor - Nattramn

From Gefle, Sweden hail Ereb Altor, a band playing a mix of pagan and black metal, with their new album Nattramn. Many people compare them with the almighty Bathory, their epic and pagan era to be precise. If this holds true we shall find out, but what can already be said is that the music is indeed epic.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.05.2015 by Windrider | Comments (10)

Pages: [1] 2 3