Reviews
Metallica - Hardwired…To Self-Destruct

Is Metallica back? Nah. Is Metallica less gone? Yeah, sure.

Read more ››
Posted: 27.11.2016 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (19)

Reviews
Dawn On Sedna - Our Sky Has Changed

Dawn On Sedna are a post-metal act hailing from Viareggio, Tuscany, Italy. So I'm going to take the easy way out and use food metaphors to describe the album. Lazy on my part? Sure. But Italian food is great, and so is this album.

Read more ››
Posted: 27.11.2016 by BitterCOld | Comments (7)

Reviews
Dark Tranquillity - Atoma

Dark Tranquillity, season 11.

Three years ago we had Construct, a so-so album - a mostly failed experiment at redefining themselves. Sure, these last few years haven't been easy on DT as far as line-up was concerned, particularly 2016 with the departure of founding member Martin Henriksson.

Read more ››
Posted: 17.11.2016 by Darkside Momo | Comments (24)

Reviews
Negură Bunget - ZI

One of the unquestionable masterpieces of Romanian black metal, and indeed black metal as a whole, would have to be Negură Bunget's OM. As things would turn out for the band however, not long after crafting this masterpiece, some of the chief architects of its sound would depart, leaving the group's future murky and uncertain. After several attempts to regain some momentum and craft a capable new identity for themselves, it seems as though Negură Bunget are finally doing so with ZI.

Read more ››
Posted: 13.11.2016 by Apothecary | Comments (14)

Reviews
Urfaust - Empty Space Meditation

It's that time of the year again. Leaves are dying. Days are getting shorter. The line between the living and the dead grows thinner. And few can provide a better, more fitting soundtrack for this shadowy, ethereal atmosphere than the mighty Urfaust.

Read more ››
Posted: 27.10.2016 by Apothecary | Comments (16)

Reviews
Horizon Of The Mute - Trobar Clus

One minute I'm naming Saattue's Kärsimysnäytelmä my current doom album of the year, the next I'm stumbling into the eerie pit of despair that is Trobar Clus. Even with the breakup of 0 X í S T, 2016 has been a good year for Jani Koskela.

Read more ››
Posted: 22.10.2016 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (5)

Reviews
Blood Red Throne - Union Of Flesh And Machine

Basically Just Death Metal™: now with 100% more death metal.

Read more ››
Posted: 20.10.2016 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (7)

Reviews
Saor - Guardians

Bracing winds blow heavy mists across the ancient hillocks, vertebrae of soil trodden and venerated over millennia rising and falling like waves. Distant crows balefully cast their distinctive, corvine calls toward daybreak. Slowly, the weary earth awakens from its slumber. Cloistered somewhere in the verdant valley, bagpipes skirl into life, and the song begins anew. Saor returns.

Read more ››
Posted: 18.10.2016 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (10)

Reviews
Vermin Womb - Decline

Getting hit in the face with a sledgehammer is, in all likelihood, not an overly pleasant experience. However, some have been known to enjoy the fine art of masochism, and their preference should not be discounted.

Read more ››
Posted: 15.10.2016 by Apothecary | Comments (8)

Reviews
Human Fortress - Thieves Of The Night

I always thought the name Human Fortress could make for some gruesome artwork with a mass of body parts forming some sort of unholy burg. I didn't get anything like that though. This is safe melodic metal defined. No songs being particularly shocking, but absolutely nothing special on offer. Thieves Of The Night sounds alright when listening to it, but I instantly forgot about it afterwards.

Read more ››
Posted: 14.10.2016 by Belegûr | Comments (3)

Reviews
40 Watt Sun - Wider Than The Sky

Wider Than The Sky marks the tragic yet triumphant return of 40 Watt Sun, some five years after their inaugural effort, The Inside Room. The bar was set pretty high for this one.

Read more ››
Posted: 14.10.2016 by BitterCOld | Comments (16)

Reviews
Iron Savior - Titancraft

Iron Savior return with their 9th studio album and very little has changed. I didn't go into Titancraft expecting anything dramatically different from Rise Of The Hero or The Landing. Everything down to the generic Felipe Machado Franco cover art remains pretty much the same. As is with the case with many German power metal bands, lack of originality can be overlooked in favour of uplifting and catchy anthems. This is something Iron Savior have excelled at for years and they continue that tradition.

Read more ››
Posted: 13.10.2016 by Belegûr | Comments (1)

Reviews
Ortega - Sacred States

So after many, many moons Ortega, the band, not the salsa, are finally back with a new full-length. It feels so long I keep mistaking the title of their last proper album, 1634 with the year of release. Ok, it's only been six years, but the band keeps teasing us with eps, singles and splits, oh my.

Read more ››
Posted: 11.10.2016 by BitterCOld | Comments (13)