Reviews
Viathyn - Cynosure

In the album reviewin' game, it's pretty common to review a solid band on their debut, only to see them disappear into the night. I guess that's reflective of the music business in general; maintaining a working band is difficult. It's like a five-way marriage...except with musicians, so your spouses are twice as moody and thrice as entitled. But I digress, the point I'm getting at is it's nice to see a band hold it together and return after four years making solid steps forward with their follow-up. Welcome back, Viathyn.

Read more ››
Posted: Today by Doc Godin | Comments (1)

Reviews
Threshold - For The Journey

"Did you find what you're looking for?"

Read more ››
Posted: Today by Introspekrieg | Comments (4)

Reviews
Alunah - Awakening The Forest

Alunah have run the gamut of stoner doom metal across their studio recordings. Or perhaps lumber the gamut is a more appropriate way to put it, and their third album finds them at their most unbowed and traditionally doom delivering. To a style such as theirs the concept of "new" seems disingenuous as their identity here depends on a personalised refurbishment of sounds old and slow. Vocally heralding such devotion, the first four lyrical utterances of the record determine the band's most distinguishing feature; "There was a lady."

Read more ››
Posted: 29.09.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (4)

Reviews
Sunn O))) - Soused [Collaboration]

So Sunn O))) seem to have been taking a liking to collaborations as of late. This in itself is not a bad thing, as Greg Anderson and Stephen O'Malley have already proven themselves as versatile musicians capable of adapting their sound on multiple occasions. This time around, however, the duo chose to work with Avantgarde musician Scott Walker, the results of which were unfortunately a bit like mixing oil with water.

Read more ››
Posted: 29.09.2014 by Apothecary | Comments (11)

Reviews
Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

Who exactly are the "Big 4" of thrash metal is a highly debated topic among metal music veterans for what seems now all of eternity. Everyone can agree with Metallica, Megadeth and Slayer but the fourth band gets a bit tricky depending on who you ask.

Read more ››
Posted: 27.09.2014 by tea[m]ster | Comments (29)

Reviews
Horn Of The Rhino - Summoning Deliverance

Horn Of The Rhino have a special place in my heart as probably the one band that was most responsible for getting me into sludge. Three years ago when I was just a mindless n00b into little other than thrash and tech death, it was this Spanish trio that won me over with their bulldozing riffs and clever application of the "less is more" formula. Summoning Deliverance, the band's latest effort, is a stark reminder that although Horn Of The Rhino may be comparatively unknown within their style, they're definitely one of its more powerful bands.

Read more ››
Posted: 26.09.2014 by Apothecary | Comments (3)

Reviews
Tyrant's Kall - Dagon

"Ia Cthulhu, Ia Dagon!" Yep, Lovecraft it is. Today we have a look at Tyrant's Kall's debut album Dagon from 2012, re-released on LP with a different song order and a bonus track this year. The band is from Belgium and plays old schoolish doom metal with some death influences, resembling Candlemass and Black Sabbath at times. Hell, this old school stuff has become a thing recently.

Read more ››
Posted: 26.09.2014 by Windrider | Comments (0)

Reviews
Gormathon - Following The Beast

They stop short of drinking mead out of horns and naming every other song "_______ Of The Gods," but there is no mistaking those chunky, low-end riffs and ominous war drums. These guys are into Amon Amarth big-time. You might think you already have enough Amon Amarth in your life; heck, you might even think that one is too many. You're wrong.

Read more ››
Posted: 26.09.2014 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (3)

Reviews
Mutilation Rites - Harbinger

Black metal as it is in 2014 is a curious creature. On the one hand, you have bands seemingly hell bent on incorporating whatever non-BM sounds they can find into their mix, boldly pushing the boundaries of the genre. On the other, you have those sticking to a sound more rooted in tradition. Mutilation Rites sit in a bit of an odd position between these two, not exactly being able to be placed too far in either category.

Read more ››
Posted: 24.09.2014 by Apothecary | Comments (3)

Reviews
Solace Of Requiem - Casting Ruin

It took me a lot of thought to determine my true impression of this album. It's not as though Solace Of Requiem play such an esoteric style of music that I couldn't comprehend it; but sometimes I find it difficult to ascertain just what kind of an atmosphere they are aiming for, and how often I hear Solace Of Requiem versus how often I try to hear other bands in them.

Read more ››
Posted: 23.09.2014 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (1)

Reviews
Silent Call - Truth's Redemption

Integral and clean progressive metal. It's a rare thing to come by in this day and age when pervasive trends seem to infiltrate every aspect of the genre, to its general declination as less and less sounds endeavour to provide generic stability and assurance. Thankfully we have bands like Silent Call.

Read more ››
Posted: 21.09.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (1)

Reviews
Stigmhate - Zodacare Od Zodameranu

Zodameranu isn't the kind of album that will get your neuronal pistons firing in any kind of unique or strained way. You could call it cruise-control black metal, and that'd be fair.

Read more ››
Posted: 20.09.2014 by wormdrink414 | Comments (3)

Reviews
Moab - Billow

Billow is a peculiar undulation. Like a sprightly psychedelic will-o'-the-wisp it entices those on the watch for regular doom in a direction well off the beaten path, all to experience the short duration of unexpectedly infiltrative riff scuff. Strangely jovial things begin to take shape in the haze, and Moab happily loom over doom with an eagerness to mix an eccentric concoction.

Read more ››
Posted: 20.09.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (1)

Reviews
Black Moth - Condemned To Hope

Merely hoping for their tunes to be deemed catchy isn't Black Moth's manner of proceeding. Cunningly combining rock 'n' roll energies and a darkly charred stoner metal presentation, it seems that they would condemn passable song writing to deliver catchy tunes by natural force of habit.

Read more ››
Posted: 19.09.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (3)

Reviews
Gunfire - Age Of Supremacy

Gunfire's first new music in ten years brings all the classic metal you could ever need.

Read more ››
Posted: 18.09.2014 by R Lewis | Comments (0)

Reviews
Midnight Sin - Sex First

Good lord. Sleaze metal revival? Are we actually still doing this? Ugh. Midnight Sin, if this album ever had any value, it's about a decade past it's "best before" date.

Read more ››
Posted: 18.09.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (7)

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 ... 7