Updates - reviews


Reviews
Myrkur - Mareridt

Myrkur hasn't stopped making waves in the metal scene since unveiling her self-titled EP in 2014, and Mareridt, the project's second full-length, suggests that those waves are only going to get bigger and bigger with the passage of time.

Read more ››
Posted: 16.10.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (6)

Reviews
Tengger Cavalry - Die On My Ride

Tengger Cavalry has made it exceedingly difficult for me to care about them over the last few years. When the band debuted in 2010 with Blood Sacrifice Shaman and then found solid footing with 2012's Sunesu Cavalry, Tengger Cavalry was at the top of the Mongolian folk metal world. That might not being saying much, but the band was forging a strong reputation well outside that limited circle, even selling out Carnegie Hall with an acoustic performance in 2015. Things have changed.

Read more ››
Posted: 14.10.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (4)

Reviews
Jag Panzer - The Deviant Chord

Jag Panzer is that rare power metal band that lives up to the name of the genre in every aspect, radiating a sense of raw power and brute force that leaves a lot of extreme metal bands rolling in the dust. Thankfully, the band's second hiatus was considerably shorter than the first, and The Deviant Chord shows us a Jag Panzer renewed in spirit and ready to keep its good name intact.

Read more ››
Posted: 13.10.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (0)

Reviews
Wolves In The Throne Room - Thrice Woven

It's been quite the journey for Wolves In The Throne Room over the past six years. After releasing the epic, brilliantly composed Celestial Lineage in 2011, they chose to follow it up not with more of their epic, transcendent black metal, but with a full fledged ambient album, the polarizing Celestite from 2014. Three years later, the band are going back to their roots, conjuring forth the black metal magic yet again.

Read more ››
Posted: 13.10.2017 by Apothecary | Comments (9)

Reviews
Satyricon - Deep Calleth Upon Deep

When Satyricon revealed the title track of their new album, Deep Calleth Upon Deep, Satyr advised to "consider it a journey, play it loud, close your eyes and head into the forest". But how on earth does one find a forest in the capital of a hot Mediterranean country?

Read more ››
Posted: 12.10.2017 by nikarg | Comments (10)

Reviews
Ensiferum - Two Paths

Ladies and gentlemen, we're getting old.

Read more ››
Posted: 08.10.2017 by Doc Godin | Comments (17)

Reviews
Quiet Riot - Road Rage

I remember when Quiet Riot was a gaudy spandex sweat stain of a glam band waving in the toxic breeze of the Sunset Strip, earning its weekly paycheck by riding on the dwindling coattails of Randy Rhoads's brief captaincy and fortuitously hacked-up versions of great songs from a better band. How I long for those days.

Read more ››
Posted: 03.10.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (14)

Reviews
Nibiru - Qaal Babalon

It's been a few years since the term "edging" has happily made its way into contemporary parlance.* Now, it's hard to say what kind of twisted soul would submit themselves to such torture, but it at least makes some kind of sense when you hold it in context with a band like Nibiru.

Read more ››
Posted: 03.10.2017 by Doc Godin | Comments (2)

Reviews
Septicflesh - Codex Omega

If you have a soft spot for symphonic death metal, Septicflesh is beyond doubt the band to satisfy your needs. Since their rebirth, the Greek lords of brutal harmony have taken the genre to a different level that other acts can only dream of and have managed to put themselves in a class of their own. Codex Omega showcases once more the mastery of their style, though without any hidden surprises to spice it up.

Read more ››
Posted: 01.10.2017 by nikarg | Comments (7)

Reviews
Cradle Of Filth - Cryptoriana: The Seductiveness Of Decay

We go way back, Dani and I. When I first heard The Principle Of Evil Made Flesh in 1995, I was put off by the vocals, but I thought the music was too good to let the shrieking spaz spoil it for me. Once I heard Vempire the following year, I was hooked. Years later I was sad to see that after Midian Cradle Of Filth began to tumble into mediocrity. 2015's Hammer of the Witches was surprisingly good, but it had me wondering whether it was a one-off, or the band was really back in top-notch form. I'm very happy to report that the increase in quality seems to hold. Or even rise.

Read more ››
Posted: 26.09.2017 by Daniell | Comments (18)

Reviews
Alice Cooper - Paranormal

After the cavalcade of risks and fresh sounds that populated Welcome 2 My Nightmare, Alice Cooper decided to circle back around to regular, ol' rock'n'roll of the type that everyone can grasp immediately. I'll admit to some disappointment that Paranormal doesn't quite see Alice reinveinting himself for the umpteenth time, but with that said, this is a 27th album that is enjoyable and doesn't drag, so I'll take it.

Read more ››
Posted: 12.09.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (3)

Reviews
Paradise Lost - Medusa

I have been following Paradise Lost since the Frozen Illusion demo back when there was no internet and we had to rely on scarce metal radio shows and MTV's "Headbangers Ball" for our fix of new music. The band has tried its hand at death, doom, gothic and even electronic styles, but since In Requiem they have been gradually returning to their roots with every release. Medusa is another sample of greatness in a nearly thirty-year-old, more-than-remarkable career.

Read more ››
Posted: 01.09.2017 by nikarg | Comments (29)

Reviews
Eluveitie - Evocation II - Pantheon

The follow-up to 2009's Evocation I - The Arcane Dominion seemed like a far-off mirage in the wake of Eluveitie's drastic restructuring in 2016 - not the first shake-up the band has undergone, but the first that felt like a true splintering of the group. Not one to entertain setbacks, however, bandleader Chrigel Glanzmann assembled another substantial cast of musicians and finished Evocation II - Pantheon with only a slight delay.

Read more ››
Posted: 26.08.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (7)

Reviews
Sun Of The Sleepless - To The Elements

Sun Of The Sleepless is the one-man band of Ulf Theodor Schwadorf (real name: Markus Stock), best known from Empyrium and The Vision Bleak. Even though the project was formed almost 20 years back, only a couple of EPs and a split with Nachtmar were released in the early days, making To The Elements the band's debut full-length and the first piece of new music after no fewer than 13 years. Its creator described it as "a fist in the face of a shallow world!" and indeed it is. It was also more than worth the wait.

Read more ››
Posted: 20.08.2017 by nikarg | Comments (8)