Reviews
Inthyflesh - The Flaming Death

The Flaming Death is an incredibly hypnotizing album of raw black metal. Portugal's Inthyflesh shows that you only need the barest of tools to create startling atmosphere, if you know what you're doing. Indeed, they know.

Read more ››
Posted: 31.08.2016 by Susan | Comments (0)

Reviews
Dust Bolt - Mass Confusion

Some days it seems like thrash is one of the only metal subgenres that refuses to get a grip and evolve, but even in an era of edentulous epigones of Exodus, amidst a surfeit of sweatily-shouted shibboleths swiped from Slayer, bands like Dust Bolt arrive to issue reminders that thrash can still be fun and brash without being self-parodic and obnoxious.

Read more ››
Posted: 31.08.2016 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (1)

Reviews
Evergrey - The Storm Within

The musicians of Evergrey have had a tumultuous and hard-fought career, and even though the band has had many talented members, the current lineup is being rightfully regarded as their best. Following the triumphant combined returns of Henrik Danhage and Jonas Ekdahl in 2014, the album Hymns for the Broken set the new standard for the band. 2016 sees their new offering come to life through AFM Records, bearing the title The Storm Within. So?

So, circle the calendar. The dark poets of progressive power metal have struck gold again.

Read more ››
Posted: 28.08.2016 by Demonic Tutor | Comments (7)

Reviews
Sabaton - The Last Stand

The hype train for The Last Stand was as swift, powerful, and unstoppable as Jan III Sobieski at the Battle of Vienna. Sabaton and Nuclear Blast ardently touted this album as a new chapter in the band's sonic evolution, a new incarnation of our Swedish pals featuring more experimentation and variation than ever. It's clear that they wanted us to recognize something greater in The Last Stand. But what is it that sets The Last Stand apart?

Read more ››
Posted: 20.08.2016 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (75)

Reviews
Horseback - Dead Ringers

On the morning of August 12, when I went on Bandcamp eager to listen to this new Horseback album in full, I saw a little blurb in the upper right corner that described it as music where "the distorted swagger of Neil Young's Crazy Horse sits at a table next to the haunted dronescapes of Sunn O)))." I burst out laughing then and there at how ridiculously silly this description sounded. But I would later regret it upon entering the realm of Horseback once more, and realizing just how accurate that label truly is.

Read more ››
Posted: 14.08.2016 by Apothecary | Comments (18)

Reviews
Forevermore - Integral

Baseball is often called "the thinking-man's sport." This may be unfair, since huge degrees of both mental toughness and strategy are required for nearly all sports, but artful scheming, well-thought-out maneuvers, and evolving game-plans are vital to baseball. So, I keep listening to Forevermore and having the term "thinking-man's metalcore" come to mind. Progressive elements dazzle this record and show incredible depth and texture. Instead of just throwing musical paint against the wall, they laid down some highly purposeful aggression and melody to create a clear picture.

Read more ››
Posted: 12.08.2016 by Susan | Comments (6)

Reviews
Hibria - XX

Has it really been 20 years since Hibria formed? Many of us discovered them with the release of their explosive and monumental 2004 debut, Defying The Rules, which was already a culmination of several years' hard work and demo releases. Aside from making us feel old (I mean, I still consider Hibria to be the energetic young kids of heavy metal), these Brazilians have put together a little anniversary gift for us fans: three excellent new tunes and four top-notch live performances of previous favorites.

Read more ››
Posted: 08.08.2016 by Susan | Comments (2)

Reviews
Fistula - Longing For Infection

Who ever said a band needed to be original to be good? Fistula sure as hell didn't.

Read more ››
Posted: 07.08.2016 by Apothecary | Comments (5)

Reviews
Wolvserpent - Aporia:Kāla:Ananta

The wolf is an able predator, of quick movement and firm body, able to take down its prey relatively easily. Snakes are lower on the food chain, however, and must resort to more stealth and concealement for survival. What happens when nature's winding trails make these two creatures cross paths? Enter Wolvserpent.

Read more ››
Posted: 07.08.2016 by Apothecary | Comments (12)

Reviews
Be'lakor - Vessels

Be'lakor is one of the most highly-praised and widely-beloved bands on Metal Storm, and I guess now we know which album is going to sweep our melodeath category come awards season; but before you storm away in a petulant huff complaining about popularity contests and unfair competition, allow me to explain why Vessels will be the album leading its buddies by 600 votes next February.

Read more ››
Posted: 06.08.2016 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (23)

Reviews
Crowhurst - Isolator

This is music.

Read more ››
Posted: 30.07.2016 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (4)

Reviews
Blliigghhtted - Into The Cunt Of The Witch

One of Blliigghhtted's candles was suddenly blown away as one of the members, Ruhan, committed suicide during December 2015 But just like the embers of a candle can ignite a new flame, Ruhan's unfortunate death is the main force behind the final album by this project.

Read more ››
Posted: 27.07.2016 by Mr. Doctor | Comments (20)

Reviews
Dark Forest (UK) - Beyond The Veil

Yeah, I like classic Elvenking, too.

Read more ››
Posted: 25.07.2016 by Susan | Comments (13)

Reviews
Lascaille's Shroud - The Roads Leading North

You know that Lascaille's Shroud is a great band because I'm not pissed off that I had to sit through over two hours of album just to hear The Roads Leading North a single time.

Read more ››
Posted: 21.07.2016 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (10)

Reviews
We Are The Catalyst - Elevation

Spoiler alert: it kicks ass. In fact, this is exactly how to present a sophomore album:

Read more ››
Posted: 19.07.2016 by Susan | Comments (6)

Reviews
Mistur - In Memoriam

Mistur excels at creating atmosphere. In Memoriam is lousy with layers of instrumentation that never cease building on each other, and the results are monstrous in scale.

Read more ››
Posted: 16.07.2016 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (1)

Pages: [1] 2