Reviews
Hemina - Nebulae

"Love is a friendship set to music."

Read more ››
Posted: Today by Introspekrieg | Comments (1)

Reviews
Earthship - Withered

Former The Ocean drummer Jan Oberg and his neat little band from Berlin, Germany, Earthship, have exploded onto the sludge/stoner landscape with their third release, Withered - a short but substantial 30-minute piece of music that's broken down to 10 archaic and bludgeoning riff clinics. The tunes are catchy, likable, and most of all, heavy.

Read more ››
Posted: 01.09.2014 by tea[m]ster | Comments (0)

Reviews
Warhound - Next Level

Metal and hip hop? Being a fan of both, I can honestly say it's usually a remedy for embarrassing disaster, or something to listen to with that overt irony (see: Limp Bizkit). Props to Warhound for beating down the skeptics.

Read more ››
Posted: 31.08.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (3)

Reviews
Earth - Primitive And Deadly

Earth require little introduction for fans of drone. Their debut album has become so legendary in the scene that even Stephen O'Malley (a legend in his own right) was inspired to start a project named after one of its tracks. However, the band demonstrated soon after that they were never content to sit in this one style, and have been consistently reinventing themselves ever since. 2014's Primitive And Deadly only continues this trend, further proving that Earth aren't running out of the tricks in their hat anytime soon.

Read more ››
Posted: 30.08.2014 by Apothecary | Comments (17)

Reviews
Angrepp - Libido

Ahhh, black metal and punk, when that combo is done right, it's like tasting Oreos for the first time all over again. Crunchy, yet sweetly addictive.

Read more ››
Posted: 30.08.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (3)

Reviews
Trioscapes - Digital Dream Sequence

When can a band you really don't care for yield one that you do? Why, when the band in question has a member who forms another band that's overall better and more enjoyable, of course. Enter the case of Dan Briggs' Trioscapes.

Read more ››
Posted: 29.08.2014 by Apothecary | Comments (8)

Reviews
Blues Pills - Blues Pills

Psychedelic rock has always been a diverse and creative musical niche, the more upbeat and rhythmically infectious examples of the subgenre usually facilitating the modus operandi to which its fans would stereotypically respond with: "whoa, groovy vibes." When a band lives and breathes the general ideals that held sway over rock music as exemplified from the mid-60's to the mid-70's, and manages to make it seem as if this time has come all over again through sound waves instilling euphoric nostalgia, you know you've hit something hippies would consider gold, if they had any materialistic interest in shiny metals. The feeling of an entire decade has been conveniently, colourfully and convincingly compressed into one audible pill, a first full dose this Swedish based band has self-labelled as Blues Pills.

Read more ››
Posted: 29.08.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (18)

Reviews
Fornicus - Storming Heaven

Who's up for some fresh, American black metal?

Read more ››
Posted: 29.08.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (2)

Reviews
Craang - To The Estimated Size Of The Universe

Though a lot of good recent psych comes from the US and the European north, the Mediterranean is coming up with some fine examples as well. Worshippers of sweepingly heavy pysch rock jams laden with fuzz reverb and metallic angularities need this first bit from Craang, more stoner voyages courtesy of Greece. Their debut EP holds four quarters of a trip, which equates to exactly one trip. Whoa, that just blew my mind.

Read more ››
Posted: 28.08.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (7)

Reviews
Eden Weint Im Grab - Geysterstunde II

If my eight-year-old mp3-player's battery had died today on my way to work, I wouldn't even have been mad. I followed Eden Weint Im Grab from their very first album on, they were a promising newcomer in the German gothic metal scene and deserved praise in various magazines. Their first two albums are awesome and the poetic non-musical album Der Herbst Des Einsamen has a very strong personal meaning for me. I even liked their last real studio album entitled Geysterstunde I when others did not (it has some good and some bad songs on it). But with its follow up, the second part of Geysterstunde, I feel like the journey is finally over.

Read more ››
Posted: 27.08.2014 by Windrider | Comments (1)

Reviews
Decapitated - Blood Mantra

Tech death bands usually come in two sorts: you've got the "listen to me" types, where every member fucks around competing over the listener's attention, and then you have the "listen to us" types who don't make abysmal music. Decapitated has always been part of the second group.

Read more ››
Posted: 27.08.2014 by wormdrink414 | Comments (10)

Reviews
Planet Of Zeus - Vigilante

Zeus. Father of the gods. Bringer of lightning, thunder and hard rock hitting metal mayhemů and apparently he's also the mythological ruler of the southern United States for some reason.

Read more ››
Posted: 26.08.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (4)

Reviews
Monsterworks - Overhaul

Here's the thing about being eclectic; it's only good if you can execute each and every piece with an even level of quality. This...well, I applaud the attempt, but this is like trying to listen to a meth-head explain advanced calculus.

Read more ››
Posted: 25.08.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (7)

Reviews
The Haunted - Exit Wounds

Jesus, does anyone remember how bad The Unseen was? Good God, we all knew The Haunted weren't what they used to be, but that just got out of hand. Now it's time for The Haunted to make amends for dropping that Rise Against-tribute-turd on us. Let's just say this about Exit Wounds: Apology accepted.

Read more ››
Posted: 25.08.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (6)

Reviews
Colombian Necktie - Twilight Upon Us

Between Cancer Bats' Bears, Mayors, Scraps And Bones, and this grimy little massive debut, it's a pretty big wonder why the hardcore and sludge roads don't cross more often (or "sludgecore" as we're calling it now, apparently). While Cancer Bats definitely put out a stomping, yet slick, commercial friendly album with their 2010 release, Colombian Necktie is all about exploiting the raw, dirty, chaotic side of both genres.

Read more ››
Posted: 24.08.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (4)

Reviews
Morgoth - God Is Evil

Mor who? Right. Another death metal band who called it quits nearly two decades ago wants to take another stab at it. Do we really need this?

Read more ››
Posted: 23.08.2014 by D.T. Metal | Comments (3)

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 ... 7