Updates - reviews


Reviews
Fen - Winter

Now that spring is approaching us again with flowers in bloom and birds singing, Fen from the ever-so-rainy United Kingdom deliver us their new album, called Winter. A little late maybe? However, every season is a good season for atmospheric black metal and therefore we shall not hesitate to take a closer look.

Read more ››
Posted: 29.03.2017 by Windrider | Comments (3)

Reviews
Ordog - The Grand Wall

I've been to the Great Wall, and it was pretty great. 10/10, would wall again. I still haven't seen The Great Wall, but it looks like Zhang Yimou lost his eye for imperial extravagance and tragic heroism in unexpected places beneath layers of overextensive eye-catching and Western-style explosion saturation. The Grand Wall sits somewhere between those two. Probably. I'll update you when I've seen The Great Wall.

Read more ››
Posted: 28.03.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (2)

Reviews
Au-Dessus - End Of Chapter

The mysterious, shrouded Lithuanians of Au-Dessus blast forth VII tunes of evocative black metal with enough post-influence to keep things intriguing.

Read more ››
Posted: 26.03.2017 by BitterCOld | Comments (4)

Reviews
Wolfheart - Tyhjyys

Fan boy disclaimer: I love this band. Now that it is out of the way and I won't dwell on the fact that I still listen to Shadow World weekly, let me bring my unbiased opinion of the latest Wolfheart, which is the fully formed brainchild of Tuomas Saukkonen. The Finnish band has made ripples on the great lake of melodic death metal since its inception with a sound self-proclaimed as winter metal, which is an aggressively energy-packed form of Gothenburg metal with themes about nature.

Read more ››
Posted: 26.03.2017 by Demonic Tutor | Comments (3)

Reviews
In The Company Of Serpents - Ain​-​Soph Aur

In The Company Of Serpents sound as though they have been listening to a lot of very early rock'n'roll and blues in addition to the requisite sludge and doom staples. The guitars alternate between the most distorted of stone-tones and a jangly brightness that, combined with the gargantuan groove, uncluttered progression, and ultimate indebtedness of sludge to blues (by way of doom), had me convinced I was listening to somebody feeding Link Wray through a wood chipper at first.

Read more ››
Posted: 23.03.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (2)

Reviews
Persefone - Aathma

And so begins the next chapter. One band from Andorra has torn the fabric of space-time continuum to deliver another one-of-a-kind album. Persefone has undergone some lineup changes in recent years but the quality of musicianship hasn't been affected one bit.

Read more ››
Posted: 18.03.2017 by Demonic Tutor | Comments (5)

Reviews
Steve Grimmett's Grim Reaper - Walking In The Shadows

I've had just about enough of these once-great NWOBHM bands wheeling out from the crypt to cast a pall on their own legacies. Bootless, biteless, baseless, and, most importantly, Bowcott-less, vocalist Steve Grimmett's self-titled incarnation of 1980s giant Grim Reaper supposedly brings an old warhorse back from the dead, but the only soul this band is capable of reaping is its own.

Read more ››
Posted: 17.03.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (4)

Reviews
King Of Asgard - :taudr:

Yes, size does matter when it comes to a penis. Now that I have your attention, stop looking down so desperately. Size doesn't always matter when it comes to music though, when it's more about quality. In recent times I've become a fan of short albums; it has some refreshing effect and is easy to get into when you have a 30-minute commute to work everyday. King Of Asgard's new album :taudr: guides me safely to work and back everyday with its 33 minutes of running time and I can tell you it's the best I have listened to in quite some time.

Read more ››
Posted: 16.03.2017 by Windrider | Comments (3)

Reviews
Striker - Striker

The opening track of Striker's self-titled fifth album tells of a return to former glory, that of the band or the vocalist or the same ambiguous subject of every metal song sung in the first person for no particular reason. Striker might struggle harder against the bonds of mediocrity than did Stand In The Fire, but to the extent Striker ever possessed anything so magnificent as "glory," this album hardly represents a return to it. Rather, the opposite.

Read more ››
Posted: 16.03.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (3)

Reviews
Kreator - Gods Of Violence

Over the last decade or so, Kreator has embraced a much fuller, more melodic style that, paired with remarkably consistent material, has kept the band at the forefront of the thrash scene with such veteran grace and wisdom that it's almost impossible not to appreciate Kreator from a professional standpoint as well as a musical one.

Read more ››
Posted: 14.03.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (10)

Reviews
Skáphe - Untitled

If you've been napping around so far this year, waiting for a standout black metal release to swing around your way, it's time to wake the fuck up. The beast hath returned.

Read more ››
Posted: 12.03.2017 by Apothecary | Comments (7)

Reviews
Yayla - Pas​.​to​.​rale

"I believe this is hell; that I will suffer even after I die… eternally". Well, after that opening line I feel like quoting the great Dax Riggs: "If this is hell, then I'm lucky".

Read more ››
Posted: 10.03.2017 by Mr. Doctor | Comments (8)

Reviews
Gloson - Grimen

Gloson is a five-piece post-metal band residing in Halmstad, Sweden. In 2014 I listened to their debut EP, Yearwalker, and came away thoroughly impressed. Now, after 2+ years, they have finally released their first full-length album, Grimen. A well-executed and high-standard effort in what is unfortunately now the Groundhog Day world for post-metal, Gloson showcase a sound unmistakably distinct from other post metal bands today, and I am so relieved.

The one prowess I noticed right from the advent of Grimen is the disquiet is particularly thick and represented by a substantial subset of sub-genres. Slow-burning sludge-y riffs, expansive and colossal doom exercises, and above-average death metal growls. The mixture is well-formed and beyond reproach. Very expressive and hallmarked by diligently placed crescendo. All the right ingredients in the proper proportions.

Read more ››
Posted: 06.03.2017 by tea[m]ster | Comments (3)

Reviews
Funeralium - Of Throes And Blight

What the Hell have I got myself into here? Where to begin? I guess I could go the obvious route and compare the miserable experience of listening to this to an obscure form of slow and excruciating torture… Or I could go the humorous route and compare it to ordering pizza delivery in Paraguay. Fuck it. 2 disks, 4 songs, 90+ minutes. Let's do both.

Read more ››
Posted: 06.03.2017 by BitterCOld | Comments (6)

Reviews
Dread Sovereign - For Doom The Bell Tolls

According to what most people say the world is doomed. In 2017 more than ever before. I usually don't care what others say but if my year will be full of doom I'm definitely looking forward to it, so let's start the party with Dread Sovereign and their second effort For Whom Doom The Bell Tolls.

Read more ››
Posted: 27.02.2017 by Windrider | Comments (2)

Reviews
AATHMA - Aventa

Haailing from Spaain we have Aathma, aa post stoner doom trio.

Read more ››
Posted: 27.02.2017 by BitterCOld | Comments (2)