Reviews
Angrepp - Libido

Ahhh, black metal and punk, when that combo is done right, it's like tasting Oreos for the first time all over again. Crunchy, yet sweetly addictive.

Read more ››
Posted: Today by Doc Godin | Comments (0)

Reviews
Trioscapes - Digital Dream Sequence

When can a band you really don't care for yield one that you do? Why, when the band in question has a member who forms another band that's overall better and more enjoyable, of course. Enter the case of Dan Briggs' Trioscapes.

Read more ››
Posted: 29.08.2014 by Apothecary | Comments (4)

Reviews
Blues Pills - Blues Pills

Psychedelic rock has always been a diverse and creative musical niche, the more upbeat and rhythmically infectious examples of the subgenre usually facilitating the modus operandi to which its fans would stereotypically respond with: "whoa, groovy vibes." When a band lives and breathes the general ideals that held sway over rock music as exemplified from the mid-60's to the mid-70's, and manages to make it seem as if this time has come all over again through sound waves instilling euphoric nostalgia, you know you've hit something hippies would consider gold, if they had any materialistic interest in shiny metals. The feeling of an entire decade has been conveniently, colourfully and convincingly compressed into one audible pill, a first full dose this Swedish based band has self-labelled as Blues Pills.

Read more ››
Posted: 29.08.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (15)

Reviews
Fornicus - Storming Heaven

Who's up for some fresh, American black metal?

Read more ››
Posted: 29.08.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (1)

Reviews
Craang - To The Estimated Size Of The Universe

Though a lot of good recent psych comes from the US and the European north, the Mediterranean is coming up with some fine examples as well. Worshippers of sweepingly heavy pysch rock jams laden with fuzz reverb and metallic angularities need this first bit from Craang, more stoner voyages courtesy of Greece. Their debut EP holds four quarters of a trip, which equates to exactly one trip. Whoa, that just blew my mind.

Read more ››
Posted: 28.08.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (7)

Reviews
Eden Weint Im Grab - Geysterstunde II

If my eight-year-old mp3-player's battery had died today on my way to work, I wouldn't even have been mad. I followed Eden Weint Im Grab from their very first album on, they were a promising newcomer in the German gothic metal scene and deserved praise in various magazines. Their first two albums are awesome and the poetic non-musical album Der Herbst Des Einsamen has a very strong personal meaning for me. I even liked their last real studio album entitled Geysterstunde I when others did not (it has some good and some bad songs on it). But with its follow up, the second part of Geysterstunde, I feel like the journey is finally over.

Read more ››
Posted: 27.08.2014 by Windrider | Comments (1)

Reviews
Decapitated - Blood Mantra

Tech death bands usually come in two sorts: you've got the "listen to me" types, where every member fucks around competing over the listener's attention, and then you have the "listen to us" types who don't make abysmal music. Decapitated has always been part of the second group.

Read more ››
Posted: 27.08.2014 by wormdrink414 | Comments (10)

Reviews
Planet Of Zeus - Vigilante

Zeus. Father of the gods. Bringer of lightning, thunder and hard rock hitting metal mayhemů and apparently he's also the mythological ruler of the southern United States for some reason.

Read more ››
Posted: 26.08.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (4)

Reviews
Monsterworks - Overhaul

Here's the thing about being eclectic; it's only good if you can execute each and every piece with an even level of quality. This...well, I applaud the attempt, but this is like trying to listen to a meth-head explain advanced calculus.

Read more ››
Posted: 25.08.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (7)

Reviews
The Haunted - Exit Wounds

Jesus, does anyone remember how bad The Unseen was? Good God, we all knew The Haunted weren't what they used to be, but that just got out of hand. Now it's time for The Haunted to make amends for dropping that Rise Against-tribute-turd on us. Let's just say this about Exit Wounds: Apology accepted.

Read more ››
Posted: 25.08.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (6)

Reviews
Colombian Necktie - Twilight Upon Us

Between Cancer Bats' Bears, Mayors, Scraps And Bones, and this grimy little massive debut, it's a pretty big wonder why the hardcore and sludge roads don't cross more often (or "sludgecore" as we're calling it now, apparently). While Cancer Bats definitely put out a stomping, yet slick, commercial friendly album with their 2010 release, Colombian Necktie is all about exploiting the raw, dirty, chaotic side of both genres.

Read more ››
Posted: 24.08.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (4)

Reviews
Morgoth - God Is Evil

Mor who? Right. Another death metal band who called it quits nearly two decades ago wants to take another stab at it. Do we really need this?

Read more ››
Posted: 23.08.2014 by D.T. Metal | Comments (3)

Reviews
Pallbearer - Foundations Of Burden

If you could encase within a coffin all that is texturally appealing about doom metal, Pallbearer knowingly carry six of these coffins to their grave in Foundations Of Burden. This is not to suggest that they simply bring the traditional sound of a genre to its untimely end, but, rather, in our modern era they place it respectfully in an ideal and honourable resting place. Ad Memoriam Doom.

Read more ››
Posted: 22.08.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (14)

Reviews
Crimson Shadows - Kings Among Men

Let's face it people, epic metal is fucking dumb when you think about it. Grown men so obsessed with their Dungeons & Dragons adventures they give them life via recording entire albums. Cocaine, expensive tranny hookers and D&D have proven an awful mix, as we usually end up with two outcomes: Either the musician takes their bloated creation waaay too seriously, or they mock it so much they come across as resentful of own musical creations, and their fans in the process. It's always nice to hear some balance between self-aware fun and serious effort. Crimson Shadows epitomize that.

Read more ››
Posted: 22.08.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (11)

Reviews
Last Minute To Jaffna - Volume III

Metal awash with the down-tempo depressions of slowcore; this is Last Minute To Jaffna's relaxing rebuke to unoriginality. The resulting sound in Volume III is hypnotic and psychedelic, breathed into life with Italian acoustic. For a post-metal album, it's an unusual experience.

Read more ››
Posted: 22.08.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (6)

Reviews
Dark Fortress - Venereal Dawn

Tasteful evolution. If there ever was a phrase to describe Dark Fortress, that, right there, is it. They're never ones to reinvent the wheel, but why should they? They've crafted their own sound without any extravagant gimmicks, they don't take risks, but they also never really misstep. With each album, Dark Fortress just defines their sound a little more. Venereal Dawn is another solid step forward in the logical progression of their history.

Read more ››
Posted: 22.08.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (10)

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 ... 7