Updates - reviews


Reviews
Ordinul Negru - Faustian Nights

Would a prolific musician's output increase in quality with experience or become bloated and generic? Let's take Ordinul Negru for example.

Read more ››
Posted: 12.08.2018 by RaduP | Comments (0)

Reviews
Khôrada - Salt

Would you rather have your music be love at first sight (or rather listen) or be something you can continuously explore and each time change how you feel about it? How many times do you have to listen to something before you accept that it won't click with you?

Read more ››
Posted: 12.08.2018 by RaduP | Comments (3)

Reviews
Van Canto - Trust In Rust

I haven't been an avid follower of Van Canto's career, but since heavy metal is the only part of the world I don't completely shut myself off from, I have been watching them from the sidelines for a good decade or so. 12 years after the first bubbly-bubbly-doo-doo-doo hit the scene, I was curious to hear how the unusual concept had held up, and I'm afraid to say that Trust In Rust is less run-diggy-dun and more of a long, slow sigh.

Read more ››
Posted: 11.08.2018 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (1)

Reviews
Imperial Triumphant - Vile Luxury

Being inclined toward a considerable degree of artistic boldness and defiance of prevailing standards, it can often be difficult to say what really qualifies as "Avant-garde music" and what doesn't with any sort of authority. Whatever dietary supplements Imperial Triumphant are making use of in the morning, however, I think they're definitely hitting the mark for it.

Read more ››
Posted: 10.08.2018 by Apothecary | Comments (4)

Reviews
Frontierer - Unloved

WARNING! Frontierer are in possession of the most powerful explosive ever devised by man.

Read more ››
Posted: 09.08.2018 by RaduP | Comments (0)

Reviews
The Lion's Daughter - Future Cult

Retro '80s revival has been hitting pretty hard recently, but I suppose sludge metal would be the last place you'd expect it to hit.

Read more ››
Posted: 09.08.2018 by RaduP | Comments (1)

Reviews
Gruesome - Twisted Prayers

Gruesome is some sort of tribute band. They pay homage to the group that invented, shaped and perfected death metal. You guessed right, the band worshipped is Death.

Read more ››
Posted: 06.08.2018 by nikarg | Comments (2)

Reviews
Neckbeard Deathcamp - White Nationalism Is For Basement Dwelling Losers

Metal is serious stuff guize!!

Read more ››
Posted: 03.08.2018 by RaduP | Comments (23)

Reviews
Nookie - Исключения

After slaying her way into the semifinals of Russia's version of The Voice, Nookie returns to a more familiar musical sphere with Исключения (Exceptions), her most aggressive and electric solo effort to date.

Read more ››
Posted: 02.08.2018 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (3)

Reviews
Eryn Non Dae. - Abandon Of The Self

Is six years too much to wait for a new album? Will expectations following a spectacular release be so much that Abandon Of The Self is set to fail?

Read more ››
Posted: 01.08.2018 by RaduP | Comments (7)

Reviews
Sadistik Forest - Morbid Majesties

Finland. Forests. Death metal. Enter Sadistik Forest with Morbid Majesties.

Read more ››
Posted: 25.07.2018 by nikarg | Comments (9)

Reviews
Chrch - Light Will Consume Us All

Who ever said that doom metal needed to be oppressively crushing and heavy to be good? Chrch sure didn't.

Read more ››
Posted: 23.07.2018 by Apothecary | Comments (4)

Reviews
Funeral Mist - Hekatomb

While 2018's biggest surprise comeback does not have too many surprises within itself, Hekatomb still hits harder than most black metal releases.

To prepare myself for this review, I revisited all the previous material. There isn't really a lot to dive into, but Funeral Mist's music has always spoken to me on a different level. Now I can safely say that this project by Arioch, a.k.a. Mortuus, is without a doubt my favorite within the current Swedish black metal scene. But what is it that captivates these corrupted ears? It's the raw, beautiful melodies that evoke such a blood-chilling atmosphere. The refined, violent, and so-gorgeous-you-can-hum-them riffs from Salvation remain nearly unmatched. And what about Maranatha, with its cleaner sound, daring experimentation, and such an unnerving, disgusting, fanatical vocal delivery? You see, there is plenty to love in Funeral Mist's sound, a sound that it took me an intense week to realize really is their very own.

Read more ››
Posted: 20.07.2018 by Mr. Doctor | Comments (6)

Reviews
Epica - Epica VS Attack On Titan Songs

It's not often that metal and anime converge, and even more rarely does the union yield something with production values as high as this. Epica covering Attack On Titan themes seems a logical premise on paper, and, indeed, in execution everything went according to keikaku*.

Read more ››
Posted: 18.07.2018 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (6)

Reviews
Powerwolf - The Sacrament Of Sin

Powerwolf's lupo-hagio-crypto-satano-sacro-groovy power metal of the night has carved a fun niche for the band. The "German Catholic werewolves thing," as a friend of mine describes it, has a pleasingly dramatic flair, with all its organ-scored singalongs and Attila Dorn's stunning, operatic charisma. That wasn't enough to stop Powerwolf from dipping into realms below their potential on recent releases, but The Sacrament Of Sin pulls them back to a level more befitting their talents.

Read more ››
Posted: 17.07.2018 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (0)

Reviews
Deathbell - With The Beyond

Hey, it's MOAR femme-fronted fuzzed-out retro stoner doom! Something which I used to scoff at, largely for "cult of personality" projects named after the female vocalist, oft with the album as well, just seemed more a marketing strategy. Now I get a steady diet that feel more "organic" in nature. Rosy Finch, Hela, Grajo and add Deathbell to the list.

Read more ››
Posted: 16.07.2018 by BitterCOld | Comments (6)