Rating:
8.1
Moonless - Calling All Demons
18 April 2012


01. Mark Of The Dead
02. Devil's Tool
03. Horn Of The Ram
04. Calling All Demons
05. The Bastard In Me
06. Midnight Skies


DOOOOOOOOOOooooooooooooooooOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOooooooooooooooooooooOOOOOOOMMMMMMMmmmmMMmmmmm!

Classic styled doom with some stoner influences? Count me in.

The party starts with your classic fuzzed out riff, that riff that drives down your throat (giggidy) straight into your body. That riff, that as soon as you hear it, you know what you're in for. The bass and drums come with power of M1 Abrams, rolling, and heavy; this 2 ton predator comes at you like an acid tripped hippie with a razor. Woeful vocals come next, assuring you that you're not going to make it out of this nightmare. You're bleeding out, and they can help you, but they assure you it would be better to die. Moonless is that kind of band.

Moonless is that mirage in the desert that makes you walk 40 miles for nothing… just more sand and more heat. Moonless is that gust of wind that extinguishes that little flame that you need in the freezing cold winter. Moonless is a heartless bastard.

Hendrix-styled fuzz, thumping basslines, groove happy drums fills. They all come together into one mass of stoneriffic doom. Classic styling riffs and grooves will make you think you're back in the 70's smoking a bowl with Black Sabbath and Co.

The part that stands out the most about this, you ask?

Everything.

Everything has its own little bubble of awesome; nothing stands out except for everything (you just got mindfucked). The bass flows well with the guitar, the drums work excellently with the vocals, the guitar fits in with the drums, the ba- okay, so you get the picture? Good. Now go buy the damn record.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 7


 


written by Boxcar Willy | 29.07.2012


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 8  
Users visited: 27  
Search this topic:  


Milena - 30.07.2012 at 16:41  
Well fuck me, I just got mindfucked.
Boxcar Willy - 30.07.2012 at 16:45  
Written by Milena on 30.07.2012 at 16:41

Well fuck me, I just got mindfucked.



It really is a cool album, I guess it sounds like the 70's would if they were made today.
Milena - 30.07.2012 at 16:50  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 30.07.2012 at 16:45

It really is a cool album, I guess it sounds like the 70's would if they were made today.

Yeah, I got that from the review which was quite okay, btw. I'm going to read the other ones I've missed during my absence.
Boxcar Willy - 30.07.2012 at 16:52  
Written by Milena on 30.07.2012 at 16:50

Written by Boxcar Willy on 30.07.2012 at 16:45

It really is a cool album, I guess it sounds like the 70's would if they were made today.

Yeah, I got that from the review which was quite okay, btw. I'm going to read the other ones I've missed during my absence.

Yeah, don't why I backed it up there

And if you mean my reviews, I think there's only been a few, I kinda slacked off for a bit there :/
Milena - 30.07.2012 at 16:57  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 30.07.2012 at 16:52

I kinda slacked off for a bit there :/

You're not the only one
Spirit Molecule - 30.07.2012 at 17:15  
I checked these guys out a while back, some really cool stoner doom.
For some reason these guys remind me a Sahg.
Alex Fenger - 09.09.2012 at 15:52  
Nice review, you pretty much sold me on buying the album (which I'm glad I did). Keep it up
Boxcar Willy - 09.09.2012 at 16:04  
Written by Alex Fenger on 09.09.2012 at 15:52

Nice review, you pretty much sold me on buying the album (which I'm glad I did). Keep it up

Thanks

I'm still considering buying the cd copy, but it's $15 :/

EDIT: going to...

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Sick Of It All - Based On A True Story 6 15.01.2012 by 3rdWorld
Reviews Kingdom Of Sorrow - Behind The Blackest Tears 4.5 12.02.2012 by K†ulu
Reviews Extreme Noise Terror - Being And Nothing 4.5 04.01.2012 by ScreamingSteelUS
Reviews We Lost The Sea - The Quietest Place On Earth 4.5 21.12.2012 by LICH
Reviews HellLight - No God Above, No Devil Below 4.5 17.08.2013 by MuhannadQandah



Hits total: 1696 | This month: 28