Rating:
7.8
Aoria - The Constant
12 October 2012


01. A Slow Moving Storm
02. The Black Heart
03. Assassination
04. The Bleeder
05. You Really Gave It All, Didn't You?
06. An Overwhelming Calm


Many people might not recognize Aoria, but if we mention Niklas Sandin (Katatonia), Robin Bergh (October Tide) or Erik Nilsson (A Swarm Of The Sun), that will probably ring some bells. Making the direct assumption that Aoria will sound like those bands, however, is not the best approach to take. You might even draw parallels with some atmospheres and a certain 'feel' but this is something that attempts to be unique.

The best way to describe Aoria's The Constant is calling it a beautiful painting of music; only the melodies are the color pallet and the musicians are the artists. This is a debut album that is far from being innocent. Most of the colors you find in The Constant are something between grays, blacks and the darker tonalities. Not many bright yellows in there or rays of sunshine but rather a calmness that suddenly dives right into a black spiral of emotions. Aoria give us lulling post rock/metal sounds and roaring guitars as the melodies entwine and touch in a crescendo. There is an ever-present sadness in the music ("The Black Heart") connected to the grandiose of the compositions ("Assassination").

Apart from that, Erik Nilsson's voice is overwhelming and capable of generating a turmoil of emotions on the listener. He sings with such feeling (just listen to "You Really Gave It All, Didn't You?") that it destroys any attempts to ignore its influence. It is heartfelt and honest, which is something you don't find everyday.

With the running time of only 36 minutes though, it feels like there was more to give and the ending almost comes as an anti-climax. A little bit more of diversity wouldn't hurt, but ultimately The Constant is constantly good and intense. It has the cadence of a good mournful poem.


Band profile: Aoria
Album: The Constant


 



Written on 27.12.2012 by
BloodTears
News chief, random reviewer, professional progger and wannabe surfer.
More reviews by BloodTears ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 170  
Search this topic:  


PocketMetal - 27.12.2012 at 10:04  
A friend recommended me their EP an I really liked it ( dat voice ! ) , this one is probably worth checking out too .
Kuroboshi - 27.12.2012 at 13:09  
OMG OMG OMG, thanks for the heads up!
dismaleuphony - 27.12.2012 at 20:52  
Thanks for reviewing, I'd totally forgot about this being released! "I brought you closer to me and the waves got higher.": Ahh, such a great line in the opening track

Yes, lots of greys and darkness, and you are right about there being a calmness before the spiral!
R'Vannith - 28.12.2012 at 02:03  
I like the album name, it's very fitting as the album delivers a constant stab at something subtly different. It's definitely not showy and I agree about Erik being dominant.
Dentura - 28.12.2012 at 08:03  
Cool stuff, I should check this out. Sweet review
BloodTears - 28.12.2012 at 11:28  
Thanks for the nice comments guys. I hope you like the album when you listen to it.

Written by dismaleuphony on 27.12.2012 at 20:52

Thanks for reviewing, I'd totally forgot about this being released! "I brought you closer to me and the waves got higher.": Ahh, such a great line in the opening track

Yes, lots of greys and darkness, and you are right about there being a calmness before the spiral!


Yes, I love their lyrics as well, very fitting with the music. This release probably deserves more attention than it's received.
NocturnalStalker - 02.01.2013 at 07:23  
I feel like I should definitely check this album out.
Kuroboshi - 06.05.2013 at 12:45  
It sounds alot like Khoma.
IronArkadius666 - 31.05.2013 at 18:18  
Wow, very underrated band. Some parts remind me of Isis.
The heavy pounding of the first track really does conjure up an image of a slow moving storm for me, destroying everything in it's path.

Unfortunately it really is far too short, 't'were it longer I might have raised my rating.
IronArkadius666 - 31.05.2013 at 18:19  
Wow, very underrated band. Some parts remind me of Isis.
The heavy pounding of the first track really does conjure up an image of a slow moving storm for me, destroying everything in it's path.

Unfortunately it really is far too short, 't'were it longer I might have raised my rating.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Aoria - The Constant 6 16.01.2013 by Gopherhawk
Reviews Scale The Summit - The Migration 4.5 26.06.2013 by R Lewis
Reviews Klone - The Dreamer's Hideaway 4.5 09.11.2012 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Between The Buried And Me - The Parallax: Hypersleep Dialogues 4.5 04.08.2011 by MeloDeathViking
Reviews I Saw The Deep - Astronavigation 4.5 23.08.2012 by Ace Frawley



Hits total: 3329 | This month: 39