Rating:
8.5
Katatonia - The Great Cold Distance
13 March 2006


01. Leaders
02. Deliberation
03. Soil's Song
04. My Twin
05. Consternation
06. Follower
07. Rusted
08. Increase
09. July
10. In The White
11. The Itch
12. Journey Through Pressure

Special edition:

13. Displaced
14. Dissolving Bonds
15. Code Against The Code
16. Unfurl


Three years after the great, but surprising, "Viva Emptiness", Katatonia is back with their 7th releases the "The Great Cold Distance". Always with this really particular sound, but with some new sonority too, "The Great Cold Distance" will probably be a real success. Will it be right? Do they really deserve success with this new album? I think so, because no doubt that Katatonia did something nice, one more time; with this new album…

As always, Katatonia uses its really particular rhythmic with its really dark and beautiful atmospheric sound. But don't expect something exceptionally new or innovative for the Swedish band, as always Katatonia proposes its really personal sound, and "The Great Cold Distance" is without any doubt the continuity of the precedent album. On "The Great Cold Distance", the riffs are heavy but you can evidently find those leads that sound like crystal. On the other hand I think that the Bass of Norman is a lot more present and powerful and this is a good point because first, this guy is a great bassist, but also in this really particular cold atmosphere this instrument give some interesting "hot" touches.

If we got "Evidence" or "Teargas" in the past, now you'll have to count on "My Twin", the best song of the album. With a really exceptional catchy chorus, with its great atmosphere I'm sure that it will become a classic. But don't be fooled, we have some others pearls on this CD. "Leaders" where we can find Death vocals is another proof that Katatonia is at its best level, "Soil's Song" is a beautiful piece of music (the guitarist will understand why), the melodies of "Rusted" are just beautiful and "July" is a song in the pure spirit of a "Last Fair Deal Gone Down". There are variations on this new CD, "The Great Cold Distance" isn't linear and if you were a fan of Viva Emptiness, no doubt that you'll love this new album, though I have the feeling that "The Great Cold Distance" is a bit more complex and no so easy of access (especially for someone who don't know yet the music of the band).

The production is fantastic and I don't have to talk about the artworks made by Travis Smith. The sound is exceptional and it's possible to listen to all the little variations here and there. When I said that "The Great Cold Distance" is a complex album, I was evidently talking about the compositions and the arrangements. There are sounds, arpeggio or little melodies (that come from the guitars like from the bass) everywhere. This is perfectly played and the work of Jens Brogen for the recording is really amazing but on the other hand it's so perfect that maybe that the music of Katatonia lost a bit of its charm and innocence, it's not so intimist at the end. But well, the voice of Jonas is so perfect, so touching, that really, this little reproach isn't a big deal at the end.

At the end, I won't say that "The Great Cold Distance" is the best album of the band or not, you'll be the judge. But if you're a fan of the band or if you just love to listen to music full of emotion, don't miss this jewel. Katatonia is one of my favourite band and each time they prove to me that they're great original musicians. "The Great Cold Distance" is a great album, and no doubt that we will hear about it during a long time. What a real pleasure to listen to your music guys, you rock really…


Band profile: Katatonia
Album: The Great Cold Distance


 


written by Jeff | 05.03.2006



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 31  
Users visited: 293  
Search this topic:  


canmewaterbee - 06.10.2006 at 22:54  
I don't believe the superb production hinders ANYTHING from coming through to the listener. It does just the opposite for me. This is such an emotional and touching album - very dark and very poetic. "In the White" and "Follower" and "Journey Through Pressure" send shivers down my spine, much like "Evidence" and "Wealth" and "Inside the City of Glass" did on their previous album. Katatonia and Virgin Black = the masters of depressing rock.
Dangerboner - 07.10.2006 at 02:48  
I've heard most of their albums and this is my favorite. I think this album could have been better if they took out the 2 or 3 not-so-good tracks though.
Passenger - 21.02.2007 at 21:05  
This is one of their best for sure, even if LFDGD and Viva Emptiness top it.
psychoticone - 23.02.2007 at 23:55  
This is the really good follower of previous album. Nothing has been discovered, but imho some addition brought us anther enjoyable piece of music. Anyway, it's time to show another face, as fast as possible.
BloodTears - 05.03.2007 at 18:27  
This album its in my toplist for katatonia's works. the exact word is "emotional" on this one. Fragile, melancholic, real, abysmal.
iaberis - 10.03.2007 at 07:46  
Katatonia goes better every year. Nice to see them evolving but also keeping their usual sound they developed over the last years. Very good album.
__Az__ - 05.05.2007 at 17:18  
Amazing album, there is so much emotion and passion conatined within the vocals. Sheer brilliance.
Bitch Boy - 06.05.2007 at 07:53  
My second favorite Katatonia album. The production is really amazing. It isn't as good as "Viva Emptiness" but they kept their great quality.
Lazarus Complex - 14.05.2007 at 02:25  
Katatonia can do no wrong. If you liked LFDGD and Viva Emptiness, you'll like this too. This is truly an unbelivable collection of songs.
__Az__ - 14.05.2007 at 02:35  
Actually, sorry, but this deserves more than 8.5
Ðírgë - 24.09.2007 at 13:20  
It's been ages since I heard something so pure and peaceful. This is one of my all time favourite. Katatonia can be replaced by only Katatonia but noone else.
FolloweR - 10.10.2007 at 19:35  
Katatonia really rules ...another excellent album from this band. And what I really like is My Twin video...it´s great. Masters of their style. ..one of their best albums I think...
pdepmcp - 18.10.2007 at 00:19  
The production is really amazing and that is why it seems their best album to many people (including me in the first months). Some songs are simply great (3 or 4 songs, and July on top of all).
But about songwriting this is the weakest album in a very long long time ...maybe we should search before brave murder day to find such an average release by Katatonia.
Anyway it's better than most gothic related releases out there
Lian - 17.02.2008 at 18:21  
Written by pdepmcp on 18.10.2007 at 00:19

The production is really amazing and that is why it seems their best album to many people (including me in the first months). Some songs are simply great (3 or 4 songs, and July on top of all).
But about songwriting this is the weakest album in a very long long time ...maybe we should search before brave murder day to find such an average release by Katatonia.
Anyway it's better than most gothic related releases out there

Totally agree, just the same I was going to say.

My top track is Soil's Song, then July...
I'll give it a 7 as much.
-DC-002- - 30.11.2008 at 09:10  
I just got this album and even with the first time listening to it I really like it. Ill give it a 9 (by my standards)
Andresopeth - 27.03.2009 at 14:39  
I like this one a lot, even being so different than their previous albums, this one is more alternative and less dark, but it definitely has very good songs i love "Journey Through Pressure" "My Twin" and "Consternation"
Andresopeth - 27.03.2009 at 14:39  
I like this one a lot, even being so different than their previous albums, this one is more alternative and less dark, but it definitely has very good songs i love "Journey Through Pressure" "My Twin" and "Consternation"
Uirapuru - 26.05.2009 at 13:21  
Average and overrated. It's too ''heavy'' for my taste, at least compared to their best works. And the super-clean production kinda kills the melancholic atmosphere.
Oh... and what is worse: stop-paced riffs! Killing every possible chance of feeling something from the music.

Now I wonder if ''average'' is too much of a compliment.

Overall.. I feel nothing listen to this album, except for a couple of tracks, its just shallow music. Better stick to their three previous albuns.
lord artan - 29.06.2009 at 20:59  
I love this album very good doom metal
INÆRIS - 22.10.2009 at 04:02  
This is by far the smoothest sounding Katatonia album. Quite heavy at times, but always a very comfortable heavy. Very nice album. One of my favorites for sure.
Array - 29.10.2009 at 22:45  
This is the best album ever made by any band.
Marcel Hubregtse - 29.10.2009 at 22:48  
Written by Array on 29.10.2009 at 22:45

This is the best album ever made by any band.


I wouldn't even consider it top five for Katatonia
BloodTears - 31.10.2009 at 20:03  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 29.10.2009 at 22:48

Written by Array on 29.10.2009 at 22:45

This is the best album ever made by any band.


I wouldn't even consider it top five for Katatonia


What do you think about the new album?
Marcel Hubregtse - 01.11.2009 at 12:14  
Written by BloodTears on 31.10.2009 at 20:03

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 29.10.2009 at 22:48

Written by Array on 29.10.2009 at 22:45

This is the best album ever made by any band.


I wouldn't even consider it top five for Katatonia


What do you think about the new album?


The songs on themselves are very good. SO all perfect as singles, but as a whole I find the new one boring, but not as boring as The Great Cold Distance though. TGCD is their worst for me and this one is a bit better but nowhere near as good as the rest of their stuff.
Mr. Doctor - 01.11.2009 at 12:48  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 01.11.2009 at 12:14

The songs on themselves are very good. SO all perfect as singles, but as a whole I find the new one boring, but not as boring as The Great Cold Distance though. TGCD is their worst for me and this one is a bit better but nowhere near as good as the rest of their stuff.


So I can make the conclusion that if I liked TGCD then I'm gonna like the new one?
Good enough for me I guess
InnerSelf - 02.11.2009 at 17:42  
It seems that Marcel only enjoys albums with songs connected to each other i.e. PoG's new one ,Esoteric's latest .......
for me I guess I would enjoy an album like the mentioned but if the songs as singles are good it wouldn't bother me ,infact I enjoyed TGCD
Marcel Hubregtse - 02.11.2009 at 21:13  
Written by InnerSelf on 02.11.2009 at 17:42

It seems that Marcel only enjoys albums with songs connected to each other i.e. PoG's new one ,Esoteric's latest .......
for me I guess I would enjoy an album like the mentioned but if the songs as singles are good it wouldn't bother me ,infact I enjoyed TGCD


Actually usually I am not a fan of albums where the songs are connected. For example I absolutely love the new candlemass or grieving age, there the songs aren't connected.

The weird thing is that although all the songs on the new Katatonia are all good they are way too similar and therefore the album gets boring for me. With a band such as Katatonia I want loads of variation, like on Viva Emptiness.
hobaleo - 03.11.2009 at 02:03  
The album is depressing and boring.... typical katatonia
InnerSelf - 04.11.2009 at 15:53  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 02.11.2009 at 21:13

Written by InnerSelf on 02.11.2009 at 17:42

It seems that Marcel only enjoys albums with songs connected to each other i.e. PoG's new one ,Esoteric's latest .......
for me I guess I would enjoy an album like the mentioned but if the songs as singles are good it wouldn't bother me ,infact I enjoyed TGCD


Actually usually I am not a fan of albums where the songs are connected. For example I absolutely love the new candlemass or grieving age, there the songs aren't connected.

The weird thing is that although all the songs on the new Katatonia are all good they are way too similar and therefore the album gets boring for me. With a band such as Katatonia I want loads of variation, like on Viva Emptiness.


the kind of variation on Viva Empitness is smething truely refreshing and remarkable
yet I got the impression that you only like albums like the mentioned
I was wrong
Slayer666 - 10.11.2009 at 23:56  
Written by Uirapuru on 26.05.2009 at 13:21

Average and overrated. It's too ''heavy'' for my taste, at least compared to their best works. And the super-clean production kinda kills the melancholic atmosphere.
Oh... and what is worse: stop-paced riffs! Killing every possible chance of feeling something from the music.

Now I wonder if ''average'' is too much of a compliment.

Overall.. I feel nothing listen to this album, except for a couple of tracks, its just shallow music. Better stick to their three previous albuns.

Yeap, exactly. Katatonia died for me after "Tonight's Decision". Their early stuff beats the shit out of 95% of the Doom Metal bands, but this new emo/goth (not litteraly) sound is just.... Shallow and pointless.
Theberzerker - 11.01.2012 at 07:24  
:banger2::banger2::banger2::banger2::banger2:

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Katatonia - The Great Cold Distance 9 19.11.2011 by musicalkaratekid
Reviews Catamenia - Bringing The Cold To Poland 6 13.01.2007 by BestMetalstormer
Reviews Long Distance Calling - Avoid The Light 6 31.01.2010 by Uirapuru
Reviews Cold Body Radiation - The Great White Emptiness 5.5 15.09.2010 by spirit_inblack
Reviews Blynd - The Human Touch 4.5 27.10.2007 by Dane Train



Hits total: 10592 | This month: 81