Bandcamp music player

Rating:
7.5
Abstract Spirit - Theomorphic Defectiveness
22 April 2013


01. Theomorphic Defectiveness
02. Za Sonmom Cvetnyx Snovidenii
03. Leaden Dysthymia
04. Prism Of Muteness
05. Under Narcoleptic Delusions
06. March October [Skepticism cover]


Take your time with this album and you might find Russia's Abstract Spirit couldn't have chosen a more fitting name. It's the additives and what escapes between each trawling note which initially entice and encourage further listens through the long reach and macabre tread of this piece of funeral doom.

Abstract Spirit aren't exactly making a bold new statement for the genre but what makes their sound particularly distinctive is the strange effects that are ably swirled around within the mix. But a bold statement is something which can be a difficult thing to make when it comes to this slow style of riff accumulation. Once the listener has listened, the lethargic pace of guitars either produces something substantial and retentive in the long run or they don't. Fortunately for this band they do.

Where used the melodies sound sick. Not the "woah, awesome man" kind of sick but the "you look like you need to lie down" kind of sick. They sound unnatural and fetid as they rise and swell in the "Prism Of Muteness" or "Leaden Dysthymia." Even a few surprising momentary shreds spice up the likes of "Prism Of Muteness" with its strangely solemn vocal choir placed in a swirling atmosphere.

The rather ghoulish feminine vocal presence in the title track lumbers in an occult incantation, at first something secondary before moving hauntingly closer to the fore.

Ground down beneath the oppressive growls of the Russian titled "За Сонмом Цветных Сновидений " you'll find the best representation of the band's unusual inclinations; a shimmering effect is often layered beneath the guitars to raise them up and the use of what sounds like a trombone, which is also used elsewhere, gives it a truly irregular bend.

Most punishing is the album's consistent tempo; it's unrelenting and fixed. Each of the tracks are mostly constructed in a similar drumming pattern and make up a burgeoning body of distorted guitar work. Tracks like "Leaden Dysthymia", with a more concise insistency, add slight variance with a militaristic beat as it draws nearer the end; a marching of the bizarre spirits moving irregularly to the trombone in a predetermined direction.

Theomorphic Defectiveness is like a horror film stuck in slow motion, each riff being the kicking open of a coffin and letting loose all manner of hellish souls.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 7


 



Written on 27.09.2013 by
R'Vannith
R'Vannith enjoys music, he's hoping you do too.
More reviews by R'Vannith ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 12  
Users visited: 113  
Search this topic:  


Merchant of Doom - 27.09.2013 at 18:41  
You know why nobody has commented yet? Because everybody's pissed off you gave it such a low rating...
BitterCOld - 28.09.2013 at 07:24  
I haven't simply because i haven't checked it out yet.
Marcel Hubregtse - 28.09.2013 at 12:28  
Spot on review and rating. Imo their other albums are also worth a 7.5. An extremely consistent band falling short of being great. Just a good decent band.
Monolithic - 29.09.2013 at 18:38  
I liked their album and the reason why I added them was the consistency I felt throughout the album. They're walking on a safe line and they have their own fans.
R'Vannith - 30.09.2013 at 07:04  
Written by Monolithic on 29.09.2013 at 18:38

I liked their album and the reason why I added them was the consistency I felt throughout the album. They're walking on a safe line and they have their own fans.


I agree, they demonstrate consistency on this one. And as Marcel has indicated the album is reflective of the band's achievements, they're just short of reaching something really great. This one would certainly appeal very much to their fans then I think, another consistent dose of the music they expect and appreciate.
R'Vannith - 30.09.2013 at 07:08  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 27.09.2013 at 18:41

You know why nobody has commented yet? Because everybody's pissed off you gave it such a low rating...


I think I might have boosted the rating if the Skepticism cover had left more of an impression. It's nicely done I think but doesn't really add anything to the original, or to this album. What rating would you have given this one?
Monolithic - 30.09.2013 at 08:00  
Written by R'Vannith on 30.09.2013 at 07:04



Yeah, definitely. IMO A lot of bands can't stay consistent throughout their presence. They either take the chance and rise impressively or fall down and turn into a total disaster.
Merchant of Doom - 30.09.2013 at 10:33  
Written by R'Vannith on 30.09.2013 at 07:08


I think I might have boosted the rating if the Skepticism cover had left more of an impression. It's nicely done I think but doesn't really add anything to the original, or to this album. What rating would you have given this one?


8.5
3rdWorld - 06.10.2013 at 20:54  
This is quite a good record overall. Sad thing the chorus parts in some songs are weak and aren't helping to enhance the experience.
theembryo - 07.10.2013 at 10:07  
Mournfully, crushingly, heavy Doom....... just as expected - review is accurate in what to expect from the bit. Thanks to R'Vannith
R'Vannith - 08.10.2013 at 14:37  
Written by 3rdWorld on 06.10.2013 at 20:54

This is quite a good record overall. Sad thing the chorus parts in some songs are weak and aren't helping to enhance the experience.


I can see what you mean, but I must say they keep up a constantly creepy feel for me, even if they are where the performance is at its weakest.
R'Vannith - 08.10.2013 at 14:40  
Written by theembryo on 07.10.2013 at 10:07

Mournfully, crushingly, heavy Doom....... just as expected - review is accurate in what to expect from the bit. Thanks to R'Vannith


No problem

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Abstract Spirit - Theomorphic Defectiveness 7.5 04.10.2013 by 3rdWorld
Reviews Abstract Spirit - Horror Vacui 6 24.06.2011 by Merchant of Doom
Reviews Abstract Spirit - Horror Vacui 5.5 15.08.2011 by Windrider
Albums Abstract Spirit - Liquid Dimensions Change 4.5 06.07.2011 by serega25
Reviews Acyl - Algebra 3 18.12.2012 by Dark†SymphonY



Hits total: 2708 | This month: 64