Rating:
7.5
Amputated - Dissect, Molest, Ingest
15 January 2014


01. Body Of Work
02. Gorging On Putrid Discharge (Septic Felch, Wretched Belch)
03. The Local Flavour
04. Infanticidal Dysmorphia
05. Skullfuck Lobotomy
06. Psychotropic Suicide
07. When Whores Meet Saws
08. Subatomic Insemination
09. Six Feet Deep
10. Dissect Molest Ingest
11. Toolbox Abortionist


Any knowledgeable fan of the brutal death metal scene should be more than familiar not only with Amputated, but with their record label: Sevared Records. For the uneducated, this is the kind of music toolbox abortionists listen to. If that doesn't clarify matters enough, just spend a good minute analyzing that beautiful display of butchery on the album cover.

This isn't one of those overly brutal slam-style albums expected of a Cephalotripsy or Vulvectomy. Instead, these lads pay some serious homage (possibly unintentionally) to the likes of Cannibal Corpse and a host of other old school American death metal bands from the '90s. The abundance of breakdowns typical of the genre have been replaced, or at least subdued for the most part, with the use of samples (presumably from old horror movies I'm not indie enough to have heard of before). The technical aspect of their sound has also taken a major leap forward, although this isn't exactly what you would call a tech-death release.

Don't let me trick you into thinking this is some kind of uppity Opeth kind of intellectualist nonsense either. It may be a little more varied and personal, but don't let yourself forget this is the same band that gave us Wading Through Rancid Offal back in 2009. That album was, and still is, a lesson in brutality as much as it is in repetition. That repetition can quickly cause a band to stagnate, but Amputated remained loyal to the style while also assuming a more ambitious outlook for this release. It's more intense and aggressive in spite of a somewhat more accessible and melodic approach.

In terms of extremity, Dissect, Molest, Ingest delivers on all fronts. There are times when the drums break the sound barrier, but the overall speed is kept to a pretty digestible standard as the guitars just keep crunching out mid-paced riff after mid-paced riff. The juxtaposition kind of deceives your brain into thinking there might be some more envelope-pushing than is really present, but eventually the chugging breakdowns and ungodly guttural vocals will quickly bring you back to reality.

It's nice to see a band kind of evolve in terms of establishing their own identity, but it's just as nice watching a band go through a growth spurt like this. It gives you hope that said growth will lead to bigger and better things in the near future, and that promise is sometimes all a band needs to really captivate an audience and convert an entirely new legion of fans. If there was ever a time for Amputated to capitalize on that opportunity, it's with this, Dissect, Molest, Ingest, their most mature and focused release to date.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 6
Production: 8


 



Written on 04.02.2014 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 24  
Users visited: 184  
Search this topic:  


Troy Killjoy - 04.02.2014 at 23:40  
For anyone looking to give this a listen, it's streaming in full on Bandcamp.

http://amputated.bandcamp.com/album/dissect-molest-ingest
Mr. Doctor - 04.02.2014 at 23:52  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 04.02.2014 at 23:40

For anyone looking to give this a listen, it's streaming in full on Bandcamp.

http://amputated.bandcamp.com/album/dissect-molest-ingest


...and youtube as well! Almost 10 mins in and I like what I'm listening to. Really focused indeed and I enjoy the groove. Thanks for the heads up.
Fearmeister - 04.02.2014 at 23:59  
This album is great fun! Delivers exactly what you would expect. Nothing more, nothing less
Troy Killjoy - 05.02.2014 at 00:01  
Shit, fixed the rating. Was a little bit higher than I thought I picked. :/
RottingDeathHead - 05.02.2014 at 00:21  
Sounds like it will be much better than their last release. But I'll just have to see for myself.
Troy Killjoy - 05.02.2014 at 00:45  
Written by RottingDeathHead on 05.02.2014 at 00:21
Sounds like it will be much better than their last release. But I'll just have to see for myself.

I think I prefer this one slightly, but I actually really liked Wading so it's a tough call. This one is more accessible so I can see more people liking it, whereas its predecessor will remain well-liked solely by those who look for more typical brutal/slam death metal.
deadone - 05.02.2014 at 05:17  
Kinda like a groovier Cannibal Corpse (but not Six Feet Under) with odd Cryptopsy moment.

Not bad at all, except when it goes into generic DM blast beating and then I figure I might as well just listen to Cannibal Corpse or Suffocation. Some good riffing as well.
Troy Killjoy - 05.02.2014 at 05:19  
Written by deadone on 05.02.2014 at 05:17
Kinda like a groovier Cannibal Corpse (but not Six Feet Under) with odd Cryptopsy moment.

Sometimes I wish we could submit one-line reviews. This would have been perfect.
deadone - 05.02.2014 at 05:42  
Alas after 24 minutes it has become boring and repetitive with 10 more minutes to go. Would've been better as an EP but then that applies to so many releases in so many genres.

Sometimes less is more.

EDIT: And by 28 minutes it had to go off. Shame as it started so promising.
Cynic Metalhead - 05.02.2014 at 07:48  
Prostitute Disfigurement and now Amputated. Hell yeah.

It'll be fun. Let me get some time off before I play this disc.

Oh, nice review too.
Daniell - 05.02.2014 at 09:14  
If something is nonsense, it's jackhammer noise that is called "brutal" death metal. It's so stupidly over the top that it's impossible to take it seriously. By far and without a shadow of doubt, it's the worst subgenre of metal. I'd rather listen to Rhapsody all night long (even though I absolutely hate Rhapsody).
Cynic Metalhead - 05.02.2014 at 10:24  
Written by Daniell on 05.02.2014 at 09:14

If something is nonsense, it's jackhammer noise that is called "brutal" death metal. It's so stupidly over the top that it's impossible to take it seriously.


Well, you forcefully closing down that genre which has produce some good records. You don't like, its fine. But saying its over the top and impossible to take it is plain stupid I would say. Have you listened to Wading Through Rancid Offal? You listened to new Broken Hope? Did you check out new Prostitute Diafigurment? Okay, all these albums are bad for you?

Its like saying "We shoud stop listening to Manowar because what they come up with is average power metal record and it's impossible to listen an entire album in one sitting because they're boring, boring and boring.

No matter how worse the genre is there will be few bands who'll keep up the good work and status of genre high.
Daniell - 05.02.2014 at 11:06  
Written by Cynic Metalhead on 05.02.2014 at 10:24

Well, you forcefully closing down that genre which has produce some good records. You don't like, its fine. But saying its over the top and impossible to take it is plain stupid I would say. Have you listened to Wading Through Rancid Offal? You listened to new Broken Hope? Did you check out new Prostitute Diafigurment? Okay, all these albums are bad for you?


You seem to forget that it's only my opinion. The fact that I dismiss most of such bands does not mean you can't enjoy them. Live and let live man.
!J.O.O.E.! - 05.02.2014 at 11:33  
Written by Daniell on 05.02.2014 at 09:14

If something is nonsense, it's jackhammer noise that is called "brutal" death metal. It's so stupidly over the top that it's impossible to take it seriously. By far and without a shadow of doubt, it's the worst subgenre of metal. I'd rather listen to Rhapsody all night long (even though I absolutely hate Rhapsody).

Bit of a general statement really, and one that's been made many a time (by me certainly). However Amputated are probably one of the less offensive BDM bands I've heard. This one for example lacks many of the caricature-ish traits of the genres. Vocals and "slams" if you will seem to be pretty tastefully restrained and the songwriting is quite varied and even some moments approaching Benighted quality. Basically they're a pretty far cry from Devourment so lumping this in with the worst of the worst that metal has to offer isn't really fair and I think if you listened to it you'd probably realise that.
Daniell - 05.02.2014 at 11:46  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 05.02.2014 at 11:33

lumping this in with the worst of the worst that metal has to offer isn't really fair and I think if you listened to it you'd probably realise that.


You may be right, I admit. My whole statement was provoked by Troy, who called Opeth nonsense
!J.O.O.E.! - 05.02.2014 at 11:50  
Written by Daniell on 05.02.2014 at 11:46


You may be right, I admit. My whole statement was provoked by Troy, who called Opeth nonsense

I'm sure Opeth and Amputated could learn a lot from each other
Mr. Doctor - 05.02.2014 at 13:45  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 05.02.2014 at 11:50

Written by Daniell on 05.02.2014 at 11:46


You may be right, I admit. My whole statement was provoked by Troy, who called Opeth nonsense

I'm sure Opeth and Amputated could learn a lot from each other


Specially Opeth considering their last album......
Daniell - 05.02.2014 at 14:40  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 05.02.2014 at 13:45

Specially Opeth considering their last album......


You do have a point there
Cynic Metalhead - 05.02.2014 at 16:45  
That's discrimination Daniell.

Joe said it and that's fine for you.

I said it so it's your opinion and let you live.

Sorry man, I'll take this matter to higher court.
Troy Killjoy - 05.02.2014 at 17:05  
Even as someone who enjoys the majority of the brutal death metal scene, I understand Daniel's point. This kind of music isn't for everyone, and that Opeth remark is basically just me mocking other forms of music that require a little bit more of an artistic approach. This isn't a thinking man's band, but you kind of have to know that going in - even though, as Joe correctly pointed out, Amputated aren't just a run-of-the-mill slam band, even though at times they come across as somewhat run-of-the-mill in their approach to death metal.

Most people (let alone most users on Metal Storm) don't have a lot of positive things to say about the likes of Katalepsy or Abominable Putridity, but there is a small portion of people who gravitate towards that music and that's the target audience for these reviews. I know I won't convert the likes of Joe or Daniel by pimping hordes of slam bands, but that's not my goal anyway.
deadone - 05.02.2014 at 23:39  
I think the problem with BDM is for the most part it's tedious and repetition. It truly is a genre where an EP should king and LPs avoided.

Amputated certainly didn't sound lie Brutal Death Metal though - far too refined. Certainly not as brutal as Skinless or even Suffocation.
phantom17 - 10.02.2014 at 18:30  
Excellent album! I'm a big pan of Amputated!
deadone - 10.02.2014 at 23:56  
Written by phantom17 on 10.02.2014 at 18:30

Excellent album! I'm a big pan of Amputated!



And now we know what Phantom17 looks like.

Karlabos - 11.02.2014 at 00:57  

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Amputated - Dissect, Molest, Ingest 7.5 15.09.2013 by Protostar
Reviews Dauden I Mørke - Nephilim 5 16.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Thulcandra - Under A Frozen Sun 5 18.11.2011 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews John Haughm - +46 17' 36​.​30", -124 4' 20​.​13" 4.5 05.12.2011 by malaikat
Reviews Sombres Forêts - La Mort Du Soleil 4.5 03.12.2013 by Draugen



Hits total: 3371 | This month: 152