Rating:
3.4
Manowar - Kings Of Metal MMXIV
28 February 2014


01. Wheels Of Fire
02. Kings Of Metal
03. Heart Of Steel
04. Sting Of The Bumblebee
05. The Crown And The Ring [Orchestral version]
06. Kingdom Come
07. Hail And Kill
08. The Warrior's Prayer
09. Blood Of The Kings
10. Blood Of The Kings
11. Hail And Kill [Instrumental] [bonus]
12. Heart Of Steel [Acoustic Intro]
13. Kingdom Come [Instrumental] [bonus]
14. Wheels Of Fire [Instrumental] [bonus]


I'll level with you guys. I wrote a review for Kings Of Metal MMXIV back in November 2013, based purely on the Battle Hymns MMXI abomination and the seconds-long clip of the "Kingdom Come" vocal track. I knew exactly what this would sound like; I was only waiting for the album's release to confirm my suspicions. Well, you know what? It's WORSE.

I can't believe this. Manowar actually failed to meet my pessimistic expectations. I had to rewrite my review. If you thought that Battle Hymns MMXI was grossly unnecessary and disgraceful, just wait until you get your hands on this glorious garbage. I have said some unkind things about Manowar in the past, and of my four previous reviews I can't say that any of them was particularly positive. Despite this evidence to the contrary, Manowar is one of my favorite bands. The original Kings Of Metal is one of the oldest metal albums in my collection. But they do this to us, time and time again - honestly, what in the fast-taking, world-fighting, warriors-of-the-world-uniting hell is this supposed to prove?

Eric Adams, without a doubt, sings unbelievably well for a 61-year-old, and I respect his voice an awful lot. But no one - not Dio, not Lemmy, not Rob Halford - sings as well at 61 as they did at 36. He can still pack a punch, but placing his current self in direct comparison with his younger self does nothing but highlight the deleterious effects of the years. Meanwhile, the absence of Ross the Boss and the late, great Scott Columbus are all too conspicuous. This album is a mere imitation of Manowar; nothing more.

I'm in shock. I never thought that the original "Sting Of The Bumblebee" would sound good, or even listenable, compared to something else… I also never thought that I would call "The Warrior's Prayer" the highlight of anything. Never mind that between Orson Welles, Sir Christopher Lee, and now Brian Blessed, Manowar have impeccable taste in narrators (I expect Jim Dale for the inevitable Triumph Of Steel MMXVII). Forget about that, because I'm wondering why the acoustic guitars sound just as flaky, wavering, and poorly-produced as they did on Manowar's 1981 demo, and what these horrific things in place of Ross's solos are supposed to be. In fact, the production is pretty terrible all-around, even for a Manowar album; perhaps not as bad as The Lord Of Steel, but bad enough.

In its best (though still mediocre) moments, such as the surprisingly passable "Hail And Kill," Kings Of Metal MMXIV is merely a duller and superfluous carbon copy of the original album. Most of the time, however, it manages to thoroughly kill the spirit and energy contained in the original songs - so close to the original that you wonder why they bothered, but still noticeably inferior. This is stiff, rheumatic, and never improves on the music; it is always either the same or worse. This "update," "rehashing," "royalty consolidation scheme" - whatever you want to call it - is a disgrace, and a fine example of everything we should despise about 21st-century Manowar.

Performance: 5
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 4
Production: 5


Band profile: Manowar
Album: Kings Of Metal MMXIV


 



Written on 02.03.2014 by
ScreamingSteelUS
I'm only in this for the money, fame, glory, power, and personal satisfaction.

In my spare time, I fight dragon-pig-C.H.U.D.s in space.

I feel obligated to use up all of my allotted space, so... nah, I'm out of stuff to say.
More reviews by ScreamingSteelUS ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 20  
Users visited: 426  
Search this topic:  


R Lewis - 02.03.2014 at 15:30  
Wow. I thought you were already satiated of hate, after the SLoT
Mattybu - 02.03.2014 at 19:39  
Written by R Lewis on 02.03.2014 at 15:30

Wow. I thought you were already satiated of hate, after the SLoT


Maybe all of that hatred stewed inside him and got unleashed on Manowar?

Deservingly though cause this sounds like mega trash.
R Lewis - 02.03.2014 at 19:56  
Written by Mattybu on 02.03.2014 at 19:39

Deservingly though cause this sounds like mega trash.

Honestly I haven't even listened to it, since I always hated Manowar with all my heart I find also the original Kings Of Metal to be 90% crap
Mattybu - 02.03.2014 at 20:05  
Written by R Lewis on 02.03.2014 at 19:56

Honestly I haven't even listened to it, since I always hated Manowar with all my heart I find also the original Kings Of Metal to be 90% crap


There is something very charming about the original Kings of Metal and some Manowar stuff. It's probably some of the most confident music I know of. Kings of Metal is decent, Sting of the Bumblebee is a classic in my opinion

Very easy to see why you and others can hate Manowar though... certainly a polarizing band.
Rulatore - 02.03.2014 at 20:18  
I wasn't expecting a rate this high
ScreamingSteelUS - 03.03.2014 at 00:32  
Written by Mattybu on 02.03.2014 at 19:39

Written by R Lewis on 02.03.2014 at 15:30

Wow. I thought you were already satiated of hate, after the SLoT


Maybe all of that hatred stewed inside him and got unleashed on Manowar?

Deservingly though cause this sounds like mega trash.

"Mega trash" is a pretty accurate assessment.

I had been waiting for seven months to tear the guts out of this thing, and I hadn't written a really scathing review in a while... I seized my chance.
Hatebeard - 03.03.2014 at 03:27  
I think these clowns have always sucked...obviously they are even worse now.
NikolaFranquelli - 03.03.2014 at 13:13  
Well, 3,4 is a bit too low, but I agree that it is a failure.
HumanSpirit - 03.03.2014 at 21:10  
"This album is a mere imitation of Manowar; nothing more."


It all comes down to that single sentence, folks.
Super_Greg - 04.03.2014 at 02:07  
Do we even need to review Manowar albums? Isn't it obvious anything they put out is going to be shit? ;p
Daniell - 04.03.2014 at 09:29  
Written by Super_Greg on 04.03.2014 at 02:07

Do we even need to review Manowar albums? Isn't it obvious anything they put out is going to be shit? ;p


Can we assume that anything you say is going to be shit?
See my point?
Super_Greg - 05.03.2014 at 02:55  
Written by Daniell on 04.03.2014 at 09:29

Written by Super_Greg on 04.03.2014 at 02:07

Do we even need to review Manowar albums? Isn't it obvious anything they put out is going to be shit? ;p


Can we assume that anything you say is going to be shit?
See my point?


Nope.
Super_Greg - 05.03.2014 at 03:03  
See that little guy sticking the tongue out of his mouth? Most people on the INTRANET see this as JUST JOKING ;p
Daniell - 05.03.2014 at 07:46  
Written by Super_Greg on 05.03.2014 at 03:03

See that little guy sticking the tongue out of his mouth? Most people on the INTRANET see this as JUST JOKING ;p


Why do you assume I wasn't?
Super_Greg - 06.03.2014 at 05:04  
Im sorry sir, I was just joking around. I didnt mean to get out of hand. No need for the snark sir.
KainRich - 06.03.2014 at 06:32  
I enjoyed it.
Daniell - 06.03.2014 at 15:13  
Written by Super_Greg on 06.03.2014 at 05:04

Im sorry sir, I was just joking around. I didnt mean to get out of hand. No need for the snark sir.


No worries
Enemy of Reality - 06.03.2014 at 19:19  


hmmmmm....
ScreamingSteelUS - 06.03.2014 at 20:19  
Written by Enemy of Reality on 06.03.2014 at 19:19



hmmmmm....

Hm?
DJ Cos - 08.03.2014 at 05:32  
Manowar = Justin Biebers asshole - of heavy metal.....
not very flattering...

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Manowar - Kings Of Metal 7 25.10.2009 by Ellrohir
Reviews Manowar - The Lord Of Steel 6 06.10.2013 by Teravolt_Danny
Albums Manowar - Kings Of Metal 6 01.04.2010 by ManOwaR King
Reviews Manowar - Louder Than Hell 6 25.02.2013 by Ellrohir
Albums Manowar - Kings Of Metal MMXIV 6 06.10.2013 by qlacs



Hits total: 5764 | This month: 169