Rating:
9.5
Children Of Bodom - Follow The Reaper
30 October 2000


01. Follow The Reaper
02. Bodom After Midnight
03. Children Of Decadence
04. Everytime I Die
05. Mask Of Sanity
06. Taste Of My Scythe
07. Hate Me!
08. Northern Comfort
09. Kissing The Shadows
10. Hellion [W.A.S.P. cover] [bonus]
11. Shot In The Dark [Ozzy Osbourne cover] [Japanese bonus]
12. Don't Stop At The Top [Scorpions cover] [Finnish bonus]
13. Aces High [Iron Maiden cover] [Deluxe Edition bonus]
14. Hate Me! [Original Single version] [2008 re-release bonus]
+ Everytime I Die [video] [Deluxe Edition bonus]


Children of Bodom? It's hard to describe their music if you've never heard it before. It's a mix of power metal, speed metal and on the other side black/death metal for vocals! Let's say that it's just amazing. For their third album, Children of Bodom has taken the good things of their two previous ones and added some boosted melodies. As a result, Follow the Reaper is a brilliant cocktail of angry riffs and sweet but fast melodies.

The first song, "Follow the Reaper" perfectly introduces the tone of the album. Solos in all the songs - of course! - and ravenous vocals. The highlights of this album are "Everytime I Die" and "Hate Me!" [with a very deep chorus: 'I don't give a fuck of you hate me'!]. What to say about the rest? One of the best albums ever. "Mask of Sanity" and "Kissing the Shadows" kick ass as well. The alternative play of two real geniuses, Alexi 'Wildchild' Lahio on lead guitar [and vocals] and Janne Warman on keyboards, makes CoB's music wonderful. And once you've caught their melodies, you can't stop listening to Follow the Reaper. By the way, I've seen them on stage and I couldn't believe my eyes: Lahio is playing all guitar solos but also part of the rhythm in addition to vocals!

Always on the top in their own particular style, Children of Bodom play here an excellent power/speed/death metal, full of incredible solos, performed by Alexi 'Wildchild' Lahio and his "twin musician" Janne Warman. Follow the Reaper is a masterpiece that would establish the band as the leader of the Finnish metal army.


Band profile: Children Of Bodom
Album: Follow The Reaper


 


written by Demonic Tutor | 10.09.2003

Guest review by
Arian Totalis

Rating:
9.5
Death be not proud, though some have called thee mighty and dreadful, thou art not so.

The follow up album to Hatebreeder, this album too has a very good little speach to kick it off. The five peace melo-death/extreme power metallers are back and better than ever with this album. This album, like their previous work has infamous neo-classical passeges, legendary harmonies, and solid rhythm work. Ladies and gentlemen, I have followed the reaper and I have tasted his scythe, it was sweet.

Read more ››
published 31.07.2007 | Comments (21)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 32  
Users visited: 167  
Search this topic:  


Martinikuss - 24.09.2006 at 00:34  
that's awesome album, with more awesome songs, YEAH !!:devil:
matthioso - 10.10.2006 at 18:57  
fantastic album of a fantastic band
ThunderAxe1989 - 17.11.2006 at 05:02  
This is one of the best albums ever made! it is simply brilliant! The first Power Metal album I ever owned

It will always be one of my top favourites, when I was about 14 years old or so and I had a shitty day at school, I would always pop in this CD. Damn, Children Of Bodom will never release a better album!

The neo-classical riffing, the guitar and keyboard solo battles. WOW! simply mind blowing!
Stigmatized - 17.11.2006 at 13:55  
Their best effort, for sure. I don't really listen to anything after this album, but this one is truly great.
Talvi - 19.11.2006 at 00:44  
Amazing, but Hatebreed is a bit better overall. Even though, one hell of an album. Extremely recomended
northerfreak - 23.11.2006 at 05:49  
This is the extreme metal album to bear. When i first heard this i was blown away by the guitar works and the melody. To put it shortly if i was stranded on a desert island this is the album i would bring!!!!!
Bitch Boy - 29.03.2007 at 23:50  
This is my favorite CoB album without any doubt, the solos are amazing, and almost every song is amazing.
Martinikuss - 29.03.2007 at 23:56  
As someone said MASTERPIECE
Basso - 31.03.2007 at 21:54  
This is their best album no doubt. I dont listen to any other release from them nowadays.
Doc Godin - 29.04.2007 at 23:43  
Even though Hate Crew Death Roll is my favorite album opinion wise, objectively speaking this is there best album, quite a masterpiece.
Darktonny - 30.04.2007 at 00:53  
This is my favourite Children of Bodom album, yeh, great album.
BlueMobius - 28.07.2007 at 00:42  
This Children of Bodom album is quite good, perhaps not my favorite of their albums, but it has some of the best songs. Everytime I Die, Kissing The Shadows, Bodom After Midnight, and Hate Me are all great songs.
Dreamwar_86 - 13.10.2007 at 11:04  
After this album Cob went Downhill but this one is great i love every single track on it especially Kissing Thy Shadows
ThunderAxe1989 - 14.10.2007 at 03:16  
wait a minute, why the hell are there 2 reviews for this album on MS?
Astaroth_666 - 14.10.2007 at 19:16  
not theyr best work...but still ok...from this album on the went pretty low...pretty,pretty low...
Krzychu - 16.01.2008 at 17:30  
I think this is their best album. The first tree were really sepcial but I think this is what their have been searching for on something wild and hatebreeder.
Warman - 16.01.2008 at 19:56  
This was one of the albums which made me a Metalhead and it got me into growls. Do I need to say more?
+{Jonas}+ - 09.02.2008 at 04:31  
The 1st album I heard of COB. Deffinitely a masterpiece... I actually dedicated Hate Me! To my ex's dad
IronBlackZepp - 06.04.2008 at 05:43  
Good, but I hate the vocals, Very black metal. I do think that all of the instrumentals are great. Ill give it a 7/10.
Elio - 17.08.2008 at 20:37  
this album is great...hail CoB!!:banger2:
taha_69 - 13.02.2009 at 16:08  
This album and Hatebreeder are CoB's finest moments.
Paradox0 - 14.04.2009 at 18:25  
Great album. Perhaps not quite as technical or fast as Hatebreeder, but by far their best written (instrumentally). I love how every instrument plays its own distinct role but never in the way you end up expecting.The sound kind of got carried over into hatecrew but was more "linear" if you know what I mean.
Uirapuru - 20.04.2009 at 21:56  
THE most overrated Children Of Bodom work. This album lacks everything: memorable riffs, quality solos, melodies, catchy power, choruses... I usually don't care about lyrics, but this one sucks too.

A huge disappointment to me, after all the good things that was said about this album.

I found myself thanking god for the silence between the tracks (ok, now i'm exaggerating), but with the exception of ''Hate Me!'', every track sounded too much similar, lacking everything that I was expecting after listening to their other works.
Ellrohir - 02.09.2009 at 23:34  
Their best album
SatyriconChick - 26.11.2009 at 05:41  
I'm still a pretty new CoB fan, having only heard them for the first time 2 years ago. "Hate Me" was the first song I ever heard by them, and I instantly got hooked! I promptly bought this album afterward and really enjoy it.
DethByMetal - 27.11.2009 at 21:01  
Best COB album because after this one Alexi loses his good screaming (which sucks...) but this classic album surely makes Finland the heavy metal capital of the world.
Boxcar Willy - 27.11.2009 at 21:02  
Written by DethByMetal on 27.11.2009 at 21:01

Best COB album because after this one Alexi loses his good screaming (which sucks...) but this classic album surely makes Finland the heavy metal capital of the world.

I think all their albums are good
DethByMetal - 27.11.2009 at 21:04  
The Riffs and solos on the songs are far superior to other bands (example: All That Remains...... cough cough....) especially in the song Kissing The Shadows.
Lord_Regnier - 28.11.2009 at 14:48  
The last listenable album from this band. After that they went downhill and suck big time now.
Boxcar Willy - 30.11.2009 at 17:21  
Written by DethByMetal on 27.11.2009 at 21:01

Best COB album because after this one Alexi loses his good screaming (which sucks...) but this classic album surely makes Finland the heavy metal capital of the world.

not really look at all the bands from germany or the U.K there really is no metal Capital.
Întunecatul - 19.12.2009 at 23:28  
Awesome,just the best album,with my favorite song on it "Children of decadence".A rating of 9.1 from me.
Got Mayhem? - 15.03.2010 at 01:53  
I just listened to this album for the first time in a very long time and it blew me away, perhaps even more than ever! This is the album that got me into Extreme metal, that inspired me to play guitar, and essentially turned me into a metalhead.

10/10, without a doubt. Both objectively and subjectively this is one of my favorite albums of all time.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Children Of Bodom - Follow The Reaper 11 17.09.2006 by BurbotsRevenge
Reviews Children Of Bodom - Follow The Reaper 10 01.08.2007 by Katatronik
News Children Of Bodom - Follow The Reaper Deluxe Edition 9 04.08.2006 by ThunderAxe1989
Albums Children Of Bodom - Follow The Reaper 9 22.02.2010 by Deadmeat
Reviews Children Of Bodom - Skeletons In The Closet 7 14.10.2009 by



Hits total: 5377 | This month: 31