Death Grips - Year Of The Snitch review



Reviewer:
N/A

24 users:
6.92
Band: Death Grips
Album: Year Of The Snitch
Release date: June 2018


01. Death Grips Is Online
02. Flies
03. Black Paint
04. Linda's In Custody
05. The Horn Section
06. Hahaha
07. Shitshow
08. Streaky
09. Dilemma
10. Little Richard
11. The Fear
12. Outro
13. Disappointed


For some, the addition of Sacramento rulebreakers Death Grips on this site was the Metal Storm equivalent of the Monica Lewinsky scandal: an impulsive move on the part of the powers that B that was only destined for failure. Yet was it really, when one stops to consider how the bizarre genre bending of Mr. Grips suits our quirky community, and the degree to which they've bridged the gap between the hip hop and metal audiences unlike any other group this decade? This reviewer thinks not.

Vividly recalling that moment in 2011 when Death Grips dropped their debut Exmilitary mixtape and floored just about every fan of darker, no-holds-barred hip hop, at the risk of sounding cliché allow me to say that they've come a long way from there. 2018's Year Of The Snitch continues Death Grips' prolific "one release per year" tendency, and seems to be nothing less than a grand encapsulation of everything they've yet done, while also hinting at things to come. While the group were never just about hip hop to begin with, from 2013's Government Plates on they seem to have been a lot more interested in exploring the electro/industrial and hardcore aspects of their sound, a path that continues with Year Of The Snitch. Aside from MC Ride's rapping (which is still quite unusual on its own), there's little to detect here in the way of "traditional" hip hop songwriting, the music being far more inclined to an almost metallic, synth driven experimentation than anything else.

The real seller on Year Of The Snitch is the number of different stylistic techniques it travels between while still appearing completely natural and not becoming too messy. Particularly, Death Grips display an incredibly strong ability to transition between heavier and lighter aspects of electronic and industrial music here. Tracks like "Death Grips Is Online," "Black Paint," and the almost grind-ish "Shitshow" are absolute bangers, far more in line with metal and hardcore music than with hip hop. While they really get the blood pumping, however, as one listens to the album more it becomes apparent that these types of tracks are always positioned either before or in between mellower, more relaxed ones like "Flies," "Hahaha," "Linda's In Custody," "Streaky," etc. This shows that over time Death Grips have really learned how to space out the various climaxes and decrescendos of their music, and on Year Of The Snitch their amazing talent for mood shifting is on display perhaps more than ever before.

Many times I find myself contemplating what the ultimate legacy of Death Grips is going to end up being in the long run. If they were to break up tomorrow (which they already fooled us with once), what would be left to reflect on? Unquestionably, it would be a powerful, multidimensional discography of a group unafraid to shatter artistic borders, to take the whole idea of merging hip hop with more extreme metal and industrial influences and running to Hell and back with it. While many never really "got it" with these guys and still probably won't be moved with this new album, there is little denying the extreme importance for musical evolution that Death Grips have demonstrated in the 2010s, and will hopefully continue to demonstrate into the future. Although they certainly didn't need any further proof of their relevancy, Year Of The Snitch merely reinforces it yet again, and only continues to build upon an already fearsome reputation.

The year is here.


 



Written on 28.06.2018 by Comforting the disturbed and disturbing the comfortable since 2013.


Comments

Comments: 15   Visited by: 125 users
28.06.2018 - 20:01
Alex F
Slick Dick Rick
Great review and excellent album. Definitely not an album to change the minds of those that don't already dig DG's style, but its diverse and fresh despite being their 6th or 7th full release. Zach and MC Ride are seriously genius
Loading...
28.06.2018 - 20:07
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Don't forget that "Black Paint" also features Justin Chancellor of Tool on bass.
----
Professor Isak Borg: And the punishment?
The Examiner: I don't know. The usual, I suppose.
Professor Isak Borg: The usual?
The Examiner: Loneliness.
Professor Isak Borg: Loneliness?
The Examiner: Precisely.
Professor Isak: Is there no mercy?
Loading...
28.06.2018 - 20:11
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by RaduP on 28.06.2018 at 20:07

Don't forget that "Black Paint" also features Justin Chancellor of Tool on bass.

Yep, and that's definitely not the first time they've collabed with other weirdos in the arts community either. Les Claypool, Bjork, Robert Pattinson, etc
----
This is the water, and this is the well
Drink full and descend
The horse is the white of the eyes, and dark within
Loading...
28.06.2018 - 20:13
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Alex F on 28.06.2018 at 20:01

Great review and excellent album. Definitely not an album to change the minds of those that don't already dig DG's style, but its diverse and fresh despite being their 6th or 7th full release. Zach and MC Ride are seriously genius

Yeah very few bands have such impressive, consistent discogs... definitely gonna be something to really sit back and marvel at when all is said and done with these guys. When the first couple singles were released for this album I was a little nervous because they didn't seem that impressive on their own, but together..... shit man, they did it again
----
This is the water, and this is the well
Drink full and descend
The horse is the white of the eyes, and dark within
Loading...
28.06.2018 - 20:24
Karlabos
Weirdo of MS
I am waiting for the fandom on the comments

Also this is the best song, kind of sounds like a Mr Bungle thing
----
2016
2017
2018
Loading...
28.06.2018 - 20:35
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Man I really want a sludge cover of "Black Paint", it's pretty much my fav song on the record
----
Professor Isak Borg: And the punishment?
The Examiner: I don't know. The usual, I suppose.
Professor Isak Borg: The usual?
The Examiner: Loneliness.
Professor Isak Borg: Loneliness?
The Examiner: Precisely.
Professor Isak: Is there no mercy?
Loading...
28.06.2018 - 20:50
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Karlabos on 28.06.2018 at 20:24

This is the best song, kind of sounds like a Mr Bungle thing

I really like that one too, but damn, it's always so hard for me to pick a single favorite off any Death Grips release honestly (except for the single track ones like Steroids and Interview 2016, I guess). It'd be easier if they were a group where all tracks sounded more or less the same, but that's hardly ever the case with them. Difficult to really nail one track down as your favorite when they just craft so many different sounds that are all just as powerful as the next
----
This is the water, and this is the well
Drink full and descend
The horse is the white of the eyes, and dark within
Loading...
28.06.2018 - 20:50
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Also the cover art looks like something from vagueposting or a thread in Death Grips Thrashposting in which people post "is this death grips" pictures
----
Professor Isak Borg: And the punishment?
The Examiner: I don't know. The usual, I suppose.
Professor Isak Borg: The usual?
The Examiner: Loneliness.
Professor Isak Borg: Loneliness?
The Examiner: Precisely.
Professor Isak: Is there no mercy?
Loading...
28.06.2018 - 20:55
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by RaduP on 28.06.2018 at 20:50

Also the cover art looks like something from vagueposting or a thread in Death Grips Thrashposting in which people post "is this death grips" pictures

I was browsing around the notes on Rap Genius the other day and someone suggested that it might be a subtle Rolling Stones reference (the mouth and the lips). Makes even more sense when you consider Black Paint as well, possibly a spin off on "Paint It Black"
----
This is the water, and this is the well
Drink full and descend
The horse is the white of the eyes, and dark within
Loading...
28.06.2018 - 21:39
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Quote:

04. Linda's In Custody
10. Little Richard

"Remember
430
Richard and Linda
Two birds with one stone
"
----
Professor Isak Borg: And the punishment?
The Examiner: I don't know. The usual, I suppose.
Professor Isak Borg: The usual?
The Examiner: Loneliness.
Professor Isak Borg: Loneliness?
The Examiner: Precisely.
Professor Isak: Is there no mercy?
Loading...
28.06.2018 - 21:47
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by RaduP on 28.06.2018 at 21:39

Quote:

04. Linda's In Custody
10. Little Richard

"Remember
430
Richard and Linda
Two birds with one stone
"

The owls are not what they seem, ma boi
----
This is the water, and this is the well
Drink full and descend
The horse is the white of the eyes, and dark within
Loading...
29.06.2018 - 23:21
Magic Rock!
Experimental hip-hop.. Where is the Heavy Metal?
Loading...
29.06.2018 - 23:45
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Magic Rock! on 29.06.2018 at 23:21

Experimental hip-hop.. Where is the Heavy Metal?

Track #3
----
Professor Isak Borg: And the punishment?
The Examiner: I don't know. The usual, I suppose.
Professor Isak Borg: The usual?
The Examiner: Loneliness.
Professor Isak Borg: Loneliness?
The Examiner: Precisely.
Professor Isak: Is there no mercy?
Loading...
30.06.2018 - 01:07
musclassia
Need to find some time to check this out. How's it compare to The Bottomless Pit? That's the album of their's that really made an impact on me, particularly Hothead
Loading...
30.06.2018 - 13:31
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by musclassia on 30.06.2018 at 01:07

Need to find some time to check this out. How's it compare to The Bottomless Pit? That's the album of their's that really made an impact on me, particularly Hothead

I'd say it's a bit more experimental and oddball than that, certain songs feel more live band-ish than digitally built and works better album-wise than track-wise
----
Professor Isak Borg: And the punishment?
The Examiner: I don't know. The usual, I suppose.
Professor Isak Borg: The usual?
The Examiner: Loneliness.
Professor Isak Borg: Loneliness?
The Examiner: Precisely.
Professor Isak: Is there no mercy?
Loading...

Hits total: 2034 | This month: 1275