Inculter - Fatal Visions review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
N/A

31 users:
8.06
Band: Inculter
Album: Fatal Visions
Release date: April 2019


01. Open The Tombs
02. Impending Doom
03. Shepherd Of Evil
04. Endtime Winds
05. Final Darkness
06. Towards The Unknown
07. Fatal Visions
08. Through Relic Gates


Damn, my neck hurts!

Norway has developed a very vivid thrash metal scene in the last few years with bands such as Deathhammer, Blood Tsunami, Nekromantheon, Condor, and Shakma, just to name a few. These Aura Noir-influenced bands go for the fast-paced, relentless and raw type of thrash, trying to recreate the sound and atmosphere that the style's great old ones -mainly Slayer, Sepultura and Kreator- unleashed in their early days.

My gripe with this continuous parade of groups (that do not necessarily come from Norway) is that, apart from being entirely unoriginal, their aim is to just sound as close to the aforementioned thrash giants as possible and this does get really tiring and boring to my aging ears. However, once in a blue moon comes a band that, while capturing this old-school sound, also puts out music that is totally gripping and really fun to listen to. This is the case with Inculter.

Their debut, Persisting Devolution, that came out in 2015 showcased a young and talented band trying to stand out from the pack with their fast and evil slab of thrash but the fact that the songs seemed to only have one gear and more or less sounded similar to each other left room for improvement. This improvement came with Fatal Visions.

What you get with Inculter's second album is pure blackened thrash metal boosted with proto-death metal steroids. Prepare to be swept away by a tornado of feral riffs, blistering guitar solos, Max Cavalera-type vocals and ferocious as well as impressive drumming, with a sound so filthy (courtesy of Herbrand Larsen) that you're going to need tons of soap to wash it off after every listen.

The band has added a few tricks to make things more interesting like the more doomy, slow parts in "Open The Tombs", "Shepherd Of Evil" and "Endtime Winds", but without falling short of heaviness of course. I mean, just listen to "Towards The Unknown" and the title track's bone-crushing, chugging riffs that are sandwiched between the furious metal thrashing madness. Another favourite of mine is "Final Darkness" with its uncontrollable speed enhanced by enthralling lead guitar work over what qualifies as an absolute drum orgy. "Through Relic Gates" is the undisputed highlight of the album, starting calmly but ominously and building toward the riff-storm that brings the record to an apt close with visceral speed and bestial aggression.

And it's all over in less than 35 minutes, which only makes you want to play it again because you simply haven't had enough.

I am not going to lie; Inculter's music has been thrown on the table before and there's no doubt about it. However, the songs of Fatal Visions are so compelling and so hard-hitting that, without a second of pause between them, they keep coming at you like a freight train in the dark of night to thrash you senseless. What more can you ask for?

"Accept the merciless reality
To be set free"


 



Written on 16.07.2019 by I was into this music when you were still in diapers.


Comments

Comments: 11   Visited by: 79 users
16.07.2019 - 11:05
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
;3
----
Take off those stupid glasses and kiss me
Loading...
16.07.2019 - 11:13
nikarg
Old Nick
Written by RaduP on 16.07.2019 at 11:05

;3

I have no idea what this means.

However, it gives me the chance to acknowledge publicly that we now have this review because you were the one that pointed out to me how good this album is.
Loading...
16.07.2019 - 11:16
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by nikarg on 16.07.2019 at 11:13

However, it gives me the chance to acknowledge publicly that we now have this review because you were the one that pointed out to me how good this album is.

Someone had to do it
----
Take off those stupid glasses and kiss me
Loading...
16.07.2019 - 11:29
Bad English
Masterchief
New kids never will understand that thrash, letter, chains, baning and violence in music was life style, not just music. This is pure old school sha8t
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
16.07.2019 - 16:22
nikarg
Old Nick
Written by Bad English on 16.07.2019 at 11:29

New kids never will understand that thrash, letter, chains, baning and violence in music was life style, not just music. This is pure old school sha8t

This is partly true because the genre was born nearly four decades ago, but this doesn't mean new kids can't appreciate it; it's new kids that made this album. The band members are really young.
Loading...
16.07.2019 - 16:40
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by nikarg on 16.07.2019 at 16:22

Written by Bad English on 16.07.2019 at 11:29

New kids never will understand that thrash, letter, chains, baning and violence in music was life style, not just music. This is pure old school sha8t

This is partly true because the genre was born nearly four decades ago, but this doesn't mean new kids can't appreciate it; it's new kids that made this album. The band members are really young.


well but its rare, those days we lived different live, todays kids like roadburn and post genres and dont drink hard enough as we did as teenagers. and many are vegans to
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
16.07.2019 - 17:17
nikarg
Old Nick
Written by Bad English on 16.07.2019 at 16:40

well but its rare, those days we lived different live, todays kids like roadburn and post genres and dont drink hard enough as we did as teenagers. and many are vegans to

There is nothing wrong with Roadburn, I'd probably like to go at some point (I even think Radu just invited me for next year or at least I'd like to think that he did). There is nothing wrong with post- stuff either, Morne's album last year was one of my favourites and Numenorean's Adore is currently in my top-3 for 2019. There is also nothing wrong with being vegan, everyone is free to eat what they want to. And I still drink as hard as I did as a teen. Some things change some don't.
Loading...
16.07.2019 - 17:42
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by nikarg on 16.07.2019 at 17:17

I'd like to think that he did

I confirm
----
Take off those stupid glasses and kiss me
Loading...
16.07.2019 - 22:58
Alex F
Slick Dick Rick
Written by Bad English on 16.07.2019 at 16:40

well but its rare, those days we lived different live, todays kids like roadburn and post genres and dont drink hard enough as we did as teenagers. and many are vegans to

Just for the record, alcohol consumption in most first world countries (including Sweden and Norway) has been pretty static over the past 50 years.....

On the topic of this album, it's pretty decent but the vocal performance in particular falls pretty short for me.
----


get that bag
Loading...
22.07.2019 - 21:18
Captain Obvious
Damn, this is good. Some of the best thrash I've heard in ages. The song Final Darkness just makes me want to start moshing in my own backyard.
----
Did you ever notice that the people who tell you to get a life are normally people who should be dead in the first place?
Loading...
28.07.2019 - 18:08
JoHn DoE
Written by Alex F on 16.07.2019 at 22:58

it's pretty decent but the vocal performance in particular falls pretty short for me.


I agree
Loading...

Hits total: 1333 | This month: 53