Rating:
9.5
Darkthrone - Transilvanian Hunger
1994


01. Transilvanian Hunger
02. Over Fjell Og Gjennom Torner
03. Skald Av Satans Sol
04. Slottet I Det Fjerne
05. Graven Takeheimens Saler
06. I En Hall Med Flesk Og Mjød
07. As Flittermice As Satans Spys
08. En Ås I Dype Skogen


A cutting guitar, a bass that sounds like a buzzing of a wasp swarm, a shrill and dying voice, drums beating like chaos-tumult and a filthy production. This is the definition of pure black metal, the one of the renewal at the beginning of the 90's.

This resurrection has a name: Darkthrone, whose Transylvanian Hunger is their fourth opus, an album even faster and malicious than the previous ones. This opus has everything to become a cult: the lyrics, written by Fenriz and Varg (Burzum), and the sentence on the back cover that has brought up so many debates vaguely hinting of "Aryan Norwegian Black Metal", of course, without forgetting the unlimited potential of insanity in this work. With this piece Darkthrone have created a nearly perfect blackmetal pattern (some will say that A Blaze in the Northern Sky is better...) and many bands will try to recreate this atmosphere, but with no chance to ever near it.

Satan himself has certainly shed a tear facing so much genius - the art of regression and of musical purification, which is the climax of the beauty of evil...


Band profile: Darkthrone
Album: Transilvanian Hunger


 


written by N K Monarch | 11.09.2003


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 12  
Users visited: 188  
Search this topic:  


Uirapuru - 19.04.2008 at 07:22  
Amen to this review my friend! Short and direct, and a fair rate for one of the best black metal works. You've said everything, that's the definition of pure black metal.
I have enjoyed a lot ''A Blaze In The Northern Sky'', but this one really blow my mind, truly pure.
Metalhead2 - 25.04.2008 at 18:01  
maybe the best english skiller on forum
Slayer666 - 05.03.2009 at 23:37  
A neet and sweet little review, that says it all with a few scentences. Well done!
And well done Darkthrone!
HATHOR - 30.08.2009 at 18:47  
Darkthrone at their finest
Ellrohir - 18.09.2009 at 11:12  
One of the best pieces in genre
Lokaeda - 04.12.2010 at 20:17  
I totally disagree, this is one of the shittiest black metal ever imo. just wanted to point it out here
RavenKing - 05.12.2010 at 00:39  
Written by Lokaeda on 04.12.2010 at 20:17

I totally disagree, this is one of the shittiest black metal ever imo. just wanted to point it out here


It has nothing technical. It's a minimalist album. But I think it's great in its own way.
Luneth - 17.01.2011 at 20:04  
I don't think it's all that, however that doesn't take from the fact that its a really good black metal album.
ForeverDarkWoods - 18.01.2011 at 23:20  
In my opinion, out of the Darkthrone black metal trilogy, this one is definitely the low point. A Blaze... is miles above this, and Under... is also quite a lot better.

I'd even go as far as to say that Panzerfaust beats this one.
RavenKing - 22.01.2011 at 22:12  
Written by ForeverDarkWoods on 18.01.2011 at 23:20

In my opinion, out of the Darkthrone black metal trilogy, this one is definitely the low point. A Blaze... is miles above this, and Under... is also quite a lot better.

I'd even go as far as to say that Panzerfaust beats this one.


I prefer ABITNS and UAFM to "Transylvanian Hunger" but surely not "Panzerfaust".
I don't like "Panzerfaust" at all. It marks the point at which Darkthrone started making those crappy Motorhead-esque songs I hate.
Night Sight - 16.10.2011 at 20:00  
Masterpiece
the only great album that is perfect by darkthrone
Oaken - 06.09.2012 at 03:11  
Written by Lokaeda on 04.12.2010 at 20:17

I totally disagree, this is one of the shittiest black metal ever imo. just wanted to point it out here

There are loads of albums better than it, but it paved the path for thousands of bands to come. What is your point exactly?

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Darkthrone - Transilvanian Hunger 6 09.06.2012 by ThunderAxe1989
Reviews Darkthrone - The Underground Resistance 4 03.03.2013 by !J.O.O.E.!
News Darkthrone - Enter The Studio In October 3 16.09.2009 by Mr. Doctor
News Darkthrone - New Album Information Released 3 13.12.2012 by Slyfang
Albums Darkthrone - Total Death 3 20.05.2011 by Nagrzer



Hits total: 5630 | This month: 52