Imperium Dekadenz - When We Are Forgotten review



Reviewer:
7.3

44 users:
7.91
Band: Imperium Dekadenz
Album: When We Are Forgotten
Release date: August 2019


01. When We Are Forgotten
02. Bis Ich Bin
03. My Solace I (Choirs Of Solitude)
04. Trauma
05. A Cave Called Wisdom
06. Transcendence
07. Seance
08. Absenz Elysium
09. My Solace II (Paths Of Perception)
10. Reverie
11. Frozen In Time
12. Behold The Flame Of Time [deluxe edition bonus]
13. Owl Of The Black Forest [deluxe edition bonus]


Is When We Are Forgotten forgettable?

Longtime fans of Imperium Dekadenz should know by now what to expect from this renowned German black metal duo, and that's exactly what keeps them coming back for more: no secrets, no surprises, and no subversion. It's been 15 years since the band's inception and so little has changed stylistically across their respectable six full-length albums. It divides people into groups of supporters who laud the consistency and of critics who point to derivative repetition, and while both opinions don't come without merit, both are face-value reviews that overlook the nuance and subtlety that separates each album. Mind you, it takes an extremely close examination at times to dig out even slight differences, but they do exist. Sort of.

First, a quick story. It's a fairly common story, particularly among black metal bands. A new outfit breaks out in the scene and releases their first full-length album, marred by low quality production and a vision that lacks cohesion. With each subsequent release, the musicianship improves, the songwriting matures, and the desired atmosphere finally comes into focus. Then everything comes together for the landmark album -- the one that launches them into the next tier of more successful bands. Both groups grow in numbers immensely seemingly overnight.

That was almost 10 years ago, and that album was called Procella Vadens.

What happened after that was far from a change in style or shift in focus, but things aren't quite the same as they once were. There's been a continuing, apparently purposeful trend of dialing back the iconic slow-paced buildups and unleashing spite-filled howls in favor of a steady mid-paced standard, and that's taken the identity factor away from what made their short-lived time among the elite so memorable. When We Are Forgotten suffers from the same formula, plodding and nodding along in its approach without any conclusive sendoffs for the listener. It's well-executed and warm and hypnotic in the way you've come to expect, but that's as far down the path of the past this album will take you. Instead it forcefully drags you along into the future Horaz and Vespasian are setting for themselves, one of ease and comfort. Even the interludes, usually a quick and simple acoustic or pleasant synth piece meant to provide a break from the emotionally draining experience, sound more like extensions of the songs as it all follows the same soft style.

With shoegaze-laden riffing and cushioned drums, one can easily slip back into reminiscing of the golden days, but that doesn't mean this album isn't worthwhile on its own. Songs like "Absenz Elysium" and the opening title track capture some of the magic of previous years but do manage to come across as their own entities. "Frozen In Time" is borderline Alcest material, for better or for worse. The clean chanting in the background randomly throughout -- mechanical and hollow -- gives off a somewhat gothic metal vibe when accompanied by the more ethereal, dreamy passages, but the ever-present mild dissonance helps with retaining some of its edge.

Overall, this is a good album. It strikes all the cords you want struck when listening to Imperium Dekadenz, but it doesn't do it quite as well as it used to. Gone are the times where you could really headbang, even if only briefly, and present are the times of gently swaying like a pendulum or maybe rocking back and forth like an asylum patient.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 5
Production: 9


 



Written on 25.09.2019 by Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.


Comments

Comments: 12   Visited by: 74 users
25.09.2019 - 09:51
Bad English
Masterchief
Troy, you are awesome ese, another good reviev about awesome band, soon you can be same as prom
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
25.09.2019 - 16:49
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Bad English on 25.09.2019 at 09:51

Troy, you are awesome ese, another good reviev about awesome band, soon you can be same as prom

Thanks my friend. I'm still on the lookout for some great black metal to review from this year but every album I come across just doesn't seem to hit the mark. I still have to check out Deathspell Omega, Falls of Rauros, Blut aus Nord, Wormwood, and Mispyrming, plus a bunch of random lesser known bands, but right now the best I've heard is Mgla's latest and it isn't close.

Still, not disappointed in most of what I've heard so far from this year.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
25.09.2019 - 17:05
Bad English
Masterchief
Fall, worm and mispy are awesome
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
25.09.2019 - 19:08
Metren
Donkey Hotte
Good review. Pretty good album, but nothing more.
----
I am not nor have I ever been a musician or a member of a one-man band, especially a band that has a name that starts with "D".
Loading...
25.09.2019 - 19:39
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by Metren on 25.09.2019 at 19:08

Good review. Pretty good album, but nothing more.

Its hard in a genre put out special album nowadays
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
25.09.2019 - 19:43
Metren
Donkey Hotte
Written by Bad English on 25.09.2019 at 19:39

Its hard in a genre put out special album nowadays


No arguments there. Atmoblack is one of the biggest dumpster genres out there far as I can tell. It's easy to make an atmoblack album in your own living room these days, so many are doing just that.
----
I am not nor have I ever been a musician or a member of a one-man band, especially a band that has a name that starts with "D".
Loading...
25.09.2019 - 20:39
nikarg
Old Nick
Your last paragraph sums the whole thing up nicely. Good album, I also thought of reviewing it but I'm pleased you did it
Loading...
25.09.2019 - 20:54
Batlord666
Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.09.2019 at 16:49

Written by Bad English on 25.09.2019 at 09:51

Troy, you are awesome ese, another good reviev about awesome band, soon you can be same as prom

Thanks my friend. I'm still on the lookout for some great black metal to review from this year but every album I come across just doesn't seem to hit the mark. I still have to check out Deathspell Omega, Falls of Rauros, Blut aus Nord, Wormwood, and Mispyrming, plus a bunch of random lesser known bands, but right now the best I've heard is Mgla's latest and it isn't close.

Still, not disappointed in most of what I've heard so far from this year.

Have you heard the new Azaghal record?
Loading...
26.09.2019 - 00:20
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Batlord666 on 25.09.2019 at 20:54

Have you heard the new Azaghal record?

I have not but I'll add it to the list, which at this point is growing at a rate I don't know if I can keep up with.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
26.09.2019 - 00:25
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Metren on 25.09.2019 at 19:43

No arguments there. Atmoblack is one of the biggest dumpster genres out there far as I can tell. It's easy to make an atmoblack album in your own living room these days, so many are doing just that.

I agree to an extent, but I think that's a problem across almost every style of music. There's only so much you can do within the traditional confines of conventional song structures. Some artists just manage to elevate their style to another level but in the case of Imperium Dekadenz and the majority of bands in this genre, that appears to be a one-time (or no-time) thing.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
26.09.2019 - 00:50
Metren
Donkey Hotte
Written by Troy Killjoy on 26.09.2019 at 00:25

I agree to an extent, but I think that's a problem across almost every style of music. There's only so much you can do within the traditional confines of conventional song structures. Some artists just manage to elevate their style to another level but in the case of Imperium Dekadenz and the majority of bands in this genre, that appears to be a one-time (or no-time) thing.


Yes and yes, but I'd still argue that making atmoblack is easier than making say a funk-jazz album, if for no other reason than because the author need not know anything about mixing and mastering with atmoblack. You can get away with a lot when it comes to black metal, some people even prefer it to be as raw and unmixed as possible. I guess what I am saying is that releasing an atmoblack album as one's first-ever attempt at making music is easier than releasing an album in almost any other genre and I speak from experience.

It's a double-edged sword I guess. On the one hand, more talented people are getting their music out there for all of us to enjoy, on the other, YT is full of channels uploading 3-4 new black metal albums a day, which makes it near impossible to find the great albums because it takes a shitton of time to go through all the stuff being constantly released.

Atmospheric black metal is still my favorite genre though, even though the market is supersaturated by it.
----
I am not nor have I ever been a musician or a member of a one-man band, especially a band that has a name that starts with "D".
Loading...
27.09.2019 - 09:29
No one
Pretty spot on review really
Loading...

Hits total: 822 | This month: 166