Rating:
9.0
Helloween - Keeper Of The Seven Keys Part II
1988


Disc I
01. Invitation
02. Eagle Fly Free
03. You Always Walk Alone
04. Rise And Fall
05. Dr. Stein
06. We Got The Right
07. March Of Time
08. I Want Out
09. Keeper Of The Seven Keys
10. Save Us

Disc II [2006 expanded edition]
01. Savage
02. Livin Ain't No Crime
03. Don't Run For Cover
04. Dr. Stein [2002 remix version]
05. Keeper Of The Seven Keys [2002 remix version]


So after the worldwide success of Keeper Of The Seven Keys Part I in 1987, Part II was released the following year, and the combination of the two (the band's first wish was to release a double album) gave the band its legend status.

On this album you'll find some of the most known songs of the band, such as Eagle Fly Free, Dr Stein, I want out, and of course Keeper Of The Seven Keys. But all the other tracks are good and have some interest, with great riffs & solos, as well as catchy choruses to sing along. Try March Of Time for example, there's actually no musical reason for such a track to be less famous than I Want Out, it's just that the latter was made a single for the album, like Dr Stein. Oh yeah, there are some funny stuff too, like in Rise And Fall.

The production is a little above Part I, even though some of the youngest listeners might find it a little bit to "80s sounding", but at least we can clearly hear the harmonies between guitars, the perfect bass job by Markus, and this incredible voice of Kiske. Drums are also good, and sometimes there are some keyboards and choirs that really goes with the music.

A special word for the Keeper Of The Seven Keys 13 minutes song, that has the only acoustic parts in the album, and which is really attractive from the beginning to the end, this song has some effects on me, especially the lyrics. The album doesn't need such a track to be great, but this one makes it wonderful.

If you were to pick only one album of all Helloween's releases, this would be Keeper Of The Seven Keys Part II for sure!


Band profile: Helloween
Album: Keeper Of The Seven Keys Part II


 


written by wrathchild | 01.12.2003



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 19  
Users visited: 153  
Search this topic:  


Dowi - 09.11.2007 at 21:05  
When I listen to "keeper of the seven keys pt.II" these words come to my mind "it's not a good album", except for the happy "eagle fly free", the funny ·dr. Stein" and the rocker "I want out", the album is quite unfocused and uninspired, sorry, it's not better than "The time of the oath" for an example. 7.0
Baz Anderson - 09.11.2007 at 21:09  
uninspired???? HAHAHAHA!!!!!
back in 1988 this was highly original!!
one of the great albums of all time that influenced so many bands in so many different ways
Marcel Hubregtse - 09.11.2007 at 21:30  
Written by Baz Anderson on 09.11.2007 at 21:09

uninspired???? HAHAHAHA!!!!!
back in 1988 this was highly original!!
one of the great albums of all time that influenced so many bands in so many different ways


Compared to part 1 you could maybe call it uninspired. But hell, this is classic stuff. Even when it was released thios got highest possible marks (smae for part 1 btw)
EvilThrasherella - 16.11.2007 at 17:12  
Personally i like it uhu
Kib Thanyarath - 31.12.2007 at 14:51  
i pretty much enjoy this album

all tracks are very good except We Got The Righ - kinda boring IMO
Eagle Fly Free, I Want Out and Keeper Of The Seven Keys are superb!
Dark_Age - 29.01.2008 at 15:20  
For me..it's the best Album of All Time...they r just greaaat ...Keeper Of The Seven Keys this song is perfect...
Inlé - 29.01.2008 at 19:46  
They've never topped this album and Master of the rings IMO. Dark Ride came close though.
LeChron James - 30.01.2008 at 06:37  
what do you think woulda happened if Keeper 1 and 2 had been released as one album?
Paradox0 - 25.02.2008 at 21:24  
I have mixed feelings for this album. The first 6 tracks where pretty bland and uninspiring, but everything after that is incredible (even the bonus tracks). As crude as this may sound, I held in quite a load just to listen through all of the title track the 1st time (quite a testament of a song, no?)
Powerslavex - 07.10.2008 at 23:45  
the best helloween album Keeper Of The Seven Keys great song a 9 for me
Elio - 08.10.2008 at 22:30  
Best power metal album ever IMO.
Mountain King - 04.02.2009 at 02:42  
Amazing piece of art! Ingo is there on drums, in Eagle Fly Free he leaves a lifetime mark on all future drummers and Kiske is here too. I think every Metal fan should own this album! Every single one...
Mountain King - 06.02.2009 at 21:43  
Written by Paradox0 on 25.02.2008 at 21:24

I have mixed feelings for this album. The first 6 tracks where pretty bland and uninspiring, but everything after that is incredible (even the bonus tracks). As crude as this may sound, I held in quite a load just to listen through all of the title track the 1st time (quite a testament of a song, no?)


Are u sure Eagle Fly Free is not inspiring??? well as far as i know it inspired my brother to play drums
Giok99 - 12.02.2009 at 12:28  
I read the other day, "Epicness began with Eagle Fly Free, everything after is a copycat"

This song is amazing. The drums are legendary. The chorus is ... well catchy. Guitars, Bass, Vocals.....
Koen Smits - 12.02.2009 at 17:21  
This was one of the first records I had and I played it very much through the years.
It' s a classsic and I don't think it's uninspired at all allthough Walls Of Jericho is better stuff IMO.
bayern - 24.04.2009 at 17:16  
I like more this album than Keeper I , it's one of the greatest power metal albums.
Nyoink - 02.05.2010 at 23:29  
Simply A.MA.Z.I.N.G!!! When i first listened to this album, i said ''Such old and crappy sound...Dark ride is ten times better than this'' But i was COMPLETELY WRONG. All the tracks here are written and sung amazingly!
This is how helloween should truly be! singing happy and vivid power metal all the time~~~
I consider this a must for any power metal fan ^_^
Deadmeat - 15.05.2011 at 12:46  
Great album. i like helloween a lot. they were one of my first heavy metal bands. "I want out" is one of my first metal songs and i can't stop loving it. it is the best of the album along with march of time (as the reviewer said) but i dont like that much the 13min song. on keeper1 i liked a lot more the long song but not this time...
Haiwaan Das - 01.12.2011 at 14:45  
I will definitely buy both Part I and Part II. Good Review. Great Band. \Helloween/

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Helloween - Keeper Of The Seven Keys Part I 11.5 21.04.2007 by Doc Godin
Albums Helloween - Keeper Of The Seven Keys Part I 10.5 25.11.2011 by JÄY
Albums Helloween - Keeper Of The Seven Keys Part II 10.5 28.01.2010 by JÄY
Reviews Helloween - Keeper Of The Seven Keys - The Legacy 10 13.07.2006 by Baz Anderson
Reviews Helloween - Keeper Of The Seven Keys - The Legacy World Tour 2005/2006 - Live In Sao Paulo 10 18.02.2007 by GT



Hits total: 7041 | This month: 64