Rating:
9.4
Anacrusis - Screams And Whispers
1993


01. Sound The Alarm
02. Sense Of Will
03. Too Many Prophets
04. Release
05. Division
06. Tools Of Separation
07. Grateful
08. A Screaming Breath
09. My Soul's Affliction
10. Driven
11. Brotherhood?
12. Release [remixed version]


"Screams And Whispers" is the fourth and last album USA (St. Louis) based prog/thrash band Anacrusis released before their split up in 1993.

This release is much different from their early creation, the "Annihilation Complete" demo and the first full-length album "Suffering Hour." "Screams and Whispers" is most mature of all the Anacrusis albums; the raw speed and thrashiness of Suffering Hour has been replaced with really nice melodies and well thought out arrangements. There's no atmosphere to a usual thrash band, but this album has plenty of it - there's that glow around the music which brings up certain emotions to listeners. A lot of what's mentioned has been achieved with a new feature used on this album - orchestral hits (notice the huge influence of Celtic Frost's "In To the Pandemonium" album here, that has been stated by Ken Nardi himself in the band biography) and of course the unique vocals combined with brilliant twin guitar work.

There are slower songs on this album, to be more accurate songs with slower tempo outweighing parts with faster tempo. These two vary rather often in Anacrusis' works.

This album is again a step forward for this band (actually they have never stood in one place and repeated themselves). This is just one step in their progression, they are more mature on this album than ever. There is nothing more for us to do than to guess what would have been the next step for them if they hadn't split up. It's safe to say there was more where this came from, it just didn't get realized.

This album is very close to being perfect to someone who likes thrash and progressive metal combined.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 9


Band profile: Anacrusis
Album: Screams And Whispers


 


written by Markku | 13.06.2006


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
qlacs

Rating:
N/A
Even like 3 years after my first listening "session" with this piece, I can't really measure how much I really like it. Once I retrieve it from the magic box of mine I spend days only spinning these eleven songs, then it takes like half a year to even touch it again. I know many people have the same thing with certain music but for me it's only like 2-3 bands. What I can tell though right at the beginning of this is that it's one of the most important progressive thrash metal release ever since it hit the stores.

Read more ››
published 11.12.2012 | Comments (2)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 80  
Search this topic:  


Marcel Hubregtse - 13.06.2006 at 20:35  
Totally agree with this review, and I think the title of the album also sums up their sound.
Markku - 13.06.2006 at 21:07  
I never thought of it but it's true, well sayed.
EvilOstrich - 23.06.2006 at 16:37  
It's such a shame that an album of such high caliber like this didn't find it's place withing the metal community. But maybe that's also the joy of Anacrusis. They deserved so much more recognition, and unfortunately, it didn't come. This is an excellent review, and there isn't really anything else to be said other than the atmosphere surrounding this album make it one of the truly unique listens that someone could ever find.
Passenger - 24.08.2006 at 17:02  
Underrated Thrash maspterpiece. Very creative, "Tools Of Separation" is probably my favourite track.
Mihkel - 05.01.2007 at 16:44  
nice synth parts!!!
Dangerboner - 06.01.2007 at 02:00  
I prefer their first two albums, but this is still a pretty good cd. It shows matured songwriting abilities and features some surprises.
Vasil de Shumen - 16.02.2012 at 16:57  
This album is a true masterpiece !!!!!!!!

Emotionality - 10
Originality - 10
Performance - 10
Production - 9

The best album released in 1993. Absolutely !!!
tea[m]ster - 17.02.2012 at 00:53  
Ktulu recommended this to me, I said "I love Coroner" ... he said "Get this" ... I said "ok"
tea[m]ster - 17.02.2012 at 00:54  
Written by Vasil de Shumen on 16.02.2012 at 16:57

The best album released in 1993. Absolutely !!!


Ewww....STRONGLY disagree!

Coroner - Grin
Voivod - The Outer Limits
Vasil de Shumen - 17.02.2012 at 01:32  
I love Grin ... but this is better.
Marcel Hubregtse - 17.02.2012 at 11:38  
Written by tea[m]ster on 17.02.2012 at 00:54

Written by Vasil de Shumen on 16.02.2012 at 16:57

The best album released in 1993. Absolutely !!!


Ewww....STRONGLY disagree!

Coroner - Grin
Voivod - The Outer Limits


Strongly disagree with you
Grin is okay but not too great imo
And Voivod I found actually weak that year
tea[m]ster - 17.02.2012 at 20:04  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 17.02.2012 at 11:38

Written by tea[m]ster on 17.02.2012 at 00:54

Written by Vasil de Shumen on 16.02.2012 at 16:57

The best album released in 1993. Absolutely !!!


Ewww....STRONGLY disagree!

Coroner - Grin
Voivod - The Outer Limits


Strongly disagree with you
Grin is okay but not too great imo
And Voivod I found actually weak that year


Please tell me Marcel, on The Outer Limits , you like the mighty "Jack Luminous" ?
Marcel Hubregtse - 18.02.2012 at 11:21  
Written by tea[m]ster on 17.02.2012 at 20:04


Please tell me Marcel, on The Outer Limits , you like the mighty "Jack Luminous" ?


I, actually, don't like a single song on The Outer Limits. Give me my Killing Technology and Dimension hatross
tea[m]ster - 18.02.2012 at 16:19  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 18.02.2012 at 11:21

I, actually, don't like a single song on The Outer Limits. Give me my Killing Technology and Dimension hatross


I like both of those, but please give The Outer Limits one more try!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Anacrusis - Screams And Whispers 8.5 11.12.2012 by Kulu
Albums Anacrusis - Screams And Whispers 7.5 19.09.2013 by Vasil de Shumen
Reviews Anacrusis - Manic Impressions 6.5 23.09.2006 by Marcel Hubregtse
Reviews Anacrusis - Suffering Hour 6 03.09.2006 by Markku
News Hellfest Open Air - News And Whispers From Hell 3 23.06.2011 by arj



Hits total: 3915 | This month: 50