Megadeth - Rust In Peace review



Reviewer:
10

2644 users:
9.19
Band: Megadeth
Album: Rust In Peace
Release date: September 1990


01. Holy Wars... The Punishment Due
02. Hangar 18
03. Take No Prisoners
04. Five Magics
05. Poison Was The Cure
06. Lucretia
07. Tornado Of Souls
08. Dawn Patrol
09. Rust In Peace... Polaris
10. My Creation [2004 re-released bonus]
11. Rust In Peace...Polaris [demo][2004 re-released bonus]
12. Holy Wars...The Punishment Due [demo][2004 re-released bonus]
13. Take No Prisoners [demo][2004 re-released bonus]


1990 is a year to be remembered in the history of heavy metal. And it has to be said that the US Megadeth have made a lot for it with the launch of their cataclysmic opus, Rust In Peace. After three albums of good quality the four guys decided to release a (nuclear) bomb that has become a landmark in the metal world.
Dave Mustaine publicly reveals his genius, accompanied by his old mate Dave Ellefson. For this album, Mustaine has hired a new guitarist, Marty Friedman, and a drummer, Nick Menza. The first impression when you hear this album, is its pure, almost uncontrolled strength, that changes every riff into an earthquake.The guitars are omnipresent, they rhythm, without any moment of weakness, the lyrics, resolutely anti military and full of nuclear apocalypse. In this point of view, the excellent ?Holy wars? is a titanic opening. This track can be considered as a symbol of all the rage and determination that the album contains, as it combines heavy repeating riffs and guitar flights. This only track can justify the purchase of this album. Because it's a boost that allows the other tracks to be linked together with a great fluidity.
?Hangar 18?, another cult track, makes us catch a glimpse of Marty Friedman's virtuosity, with a final solo that leaves you breathless and a rhythm that is simply orgasmic... And the following songs, ?Tornado of souls?, ?Take no prisoners? or ?Five magics? are once again fast, powerful and shaking tracks that confirm the skill and the inventiveness of MegaDave in quest for the perfect riff and for the harmony between men and instruments. Also Marty Friedman can's stop being impressive because of his technical ease and his original and magnificent phrasing.

Moreover, this album, far from being perpetually savage, shows off some moments of ?calm before the storm?, with the intro of ?Poison was the cure? and the very unhealthy ?Dawn patrol?. This last one is the prelude to the title-track ?Rust in peace...Polaris?, that definitely finishes you off with its infernal rhythm and its shooting chorus, strengthened by the extent of Mustaine's voice who makes a real vocal feat during the whole album. To sum up, this album is a pearl of homogeneity and technical inventiveness. The sound of every instrument is nearly perfect, and that creates an equilibrium that had maybe never been reached by a heavy metal band. The faults (which faults?) are so insignificant that they are not even worth being discussed.
Stop it all, the mass is over, get your handkerchieves out.
It shall be Rust in Peace or nothing, probably the best heavy metal album of all time. Just cult...

Written by Gorey | 22.09.2003


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Arian Totalis
Rating:
9.5
The year is 1990, and the 80's thrash scene will soon fade into the backdrop. There seems to be no hope for this genre beyond but a few bands, but only one of these bands was needed; Megadeth. Since the last album, Dave have ousted Chuck Behler and Jeff Young, and replaced them with Nick Menza and Guitar Giant Marty Friedman. With Political and Societal themes ready to launch, Megadeth was ready to make their fans Rust in Peace.

Read more ››
published 17.01.2009 | Comments (19)


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 52   Visited by: 396 users
19.06.2009 - 19:28
BitterCOld
Gringo
Long time megadeth fan, this is the last of their albums i liked (well, before i stopped buying them after Youthanasia)... i think the score is a bit high.

some of the songs are amazing, Hangar 18 is one of my favorites by the band and of the genre. Tornado of Souls and Poison Was The Cure are also high on my really, really like list. And i have always felt, from first listen back in 1990 until now that the switch in "Holy Wars/Punishment Due" just sounds odd.

ultimately, to me, this album falls short of Peace Sells because while it has the speed and the technicality to match up, it just seems to lack some of the balls and the bite that are found on Peace Sells. i think most of that can be found in the guitar tone itself. just doesn't seem as crunchy.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
19.06.2009 - 22:18
Bobby_Loggins
Account deleted
Written by BitterCOld on 19.06.2009 at 19:28

Long time megadeth fan, this is the last of their albums i liked (well, before i stopped buying them after Youthanasia)... i think the score is a bit high.

some of the songs are amazing, Hangar 18 is one of my favorites by the band and of the genre. Tornado of Souls and Poison Was The Cure are also high on my really, really like list. And i have always felt, from first listen back in 1990 until now that the switch in "Holy Wars/Punishment Due" just sounds odd.

ultimately, to me, this album falls short of Peace Sells because while it has the speed and the technicality to match up, it just seems to lack some of the balls and the bite that are found on Peace Sells. i think most of that can be found in the guitar tone itself. just doesn't seem as crunchy.


Exactly, well said! This album just lacks balls and bite. Stuff which previous albums had in abundance! Couldn't agree more with Holy Wars too The dueling solos section is so unnecessary, same goes for Hangar 18. Those 2 songs had so much potential, I can hardly listen to them anymore they bore the hell out of me.
Loading...
29.07.2009 - 16:01
Panterica
This album is definetly their best - exploding tempos, killer riffs and falshy solos, blasting drumms and bass lines which can set your head off. The only weak spot in this epic album is Dawn Patrol which doesn't seem related at all.
----
Li'ed - Prog-Metal from Jerusalem
https://www.facebook.com/LiedBandMusic
http://lied-band.bandcamp.com/
Loading...
28.09.2009 - 09:19
Ellrohir
Heaven Knight
Listened to it carefully, but found nothing to enjoy...there is something about thrash i am still not getting...
----
So behold the flight of the sapphire dragon
soaring through the skies once again


Loading...
18.10.2009 - 15:03
Hermann Langke
Brahmastra Corps
Written by Bitch Boy on 14.03.2007 at 03:55

This is album has very good sound but only the first songs are really great stuff, then it turns a little bit boring. You're review is well written, but the rating is too high.

this isn't boring okay.:wall::suicide::thumbdown:
Loading...
18.10.2009 - 15:05
Hermann Langke
Brahmastra Corps
Written by Guest on 09.04.2007 at 03:25

Definetly the best Megadeth album and one of the best Thrash albums of all time.

Every song in there rules but i always thought the songs were arranged in a bad order, e.g. I really think the first song of the album should've been Hanger 18 cause of it's cool begining.

Hangar 18 is like an album within an album.:necro::banger2:
Loading...
18.11.2009 - 06:17
SatyriconChick
My favorite Megadeth album from my favorite Megadeth lineup! Definitely a 10.
Loading...
27.11.2009 - 04:15
tommyboy666
Man I have too say it is there best but Endgame Is badass too... I do think it up there with one of the best metal alumbs of all time..
Loading...
17.01.2010 - 19:20
Deadmeat
Necrobutcher
Written by Desecrator on 03.11.2007 at 09:29

Written by Bitch Boy on 14.03.2007 at 03:55

This is album has very good sound but only the first songs are really great stuff, then it turns a little bit boring. You're review is well written, but the rating is too high.

You're a tool, this is a defining album of the thrash metal genre, along with Master of Puppets. Idiot.

hahahahahahahahahahaha!!!! this album is just close to thrash metal! ever the writer of the review called it heavy metal...
----
Υou've sold your human essence to the cold world of dead and empty things... You're SOLD!
Loading...
19.01.2010 - 02:40
thewall30
My favorite album period. It has everything a metalhead could ask for!
----
Loading...
25.02.2010 - 19:33
Panterica
Great album, not a 9.9 but very good. The best Megadeth's line up so far (and it'll probably stay that way). One of the major things that caught me up in this record is the prog-influences which is always welcome .
----
Li'ed - Prog-Metal from Jerusalem
https://www.facebook.com/LiedBandMusic
http://lied-band.bandcamp.com/
Loading...
11.04.2010 - 07:45
JohnWayneGacy666
Great Album One of the best of All Time enough said
Loading...
11.04.2010 - 17:54
soadbyob
Account deleted
BEST. MEGADETH ALBUM. EVER.
Loading...
06.07.2010 - 06:43
INÆRIS
Poison Was The Cure is my favorite Megadeth song EVER.
----
Still Life, Still Death
Loading...
18.08.2010 - 01:07
BlankFile
This album is perfect from start to finish. One of the best metal albums ever! Maybe the best!
Loading...
09.10.2010 - 05:17
thewall30
Fucking best album ever peroid, great review
----
Loading...
16.10.2010 - 15:20
PeaTearGriffin4
Written by iMorphball on 02.09.2008 at 06:38

Probably the best thrash metal album of all time. Nothing beats Poison Was The Cure, Rust In Peace, Take No Prisoners... Come to think of it, I cant think of anything better. That's right, not even Master of Puppets. I still think it'd be a kickass idea if Megadeth covered Battery though!

10/10, #1 Thrash Metal Album of all time.

I found a megadeth cover of battery. It's got that undeniable megadeth sound intertwined in with more harmony, taking things their own speed (unfortunately a tad slower than Metallica's), but it almost sounds like Dave is making fun of a good song in the way he sings. He took it his own route in the vocals, but almost is satirical. If you find it tell me what you think
----
Hey Mr. Lucifer, do you have my pay?
Loading...
25.10.2010 - 17:50
ErnilEnNaur
Account deleted
Would have been the perfect thrash/speed album if it weren't for Dawn Patrol. WTF was that on this album for? It's almost like a joke, as if they were saying: "What? You thought it was going to be perfect?" Such a "song" would have been unforgivable on a lesser album.
Loading...
25.10.2010 - 21:42
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Written by Guest on 25.10.2010 at 17:50

Would have been the perfect thrash/speed album if it weren't for Dawn Patrol. WTF was that on this album for? It's almost like a joke, as if they were saying: "What? You thought it was going to be perfect?" Such a "song" would have been unforgivable on a lesser album.

I think it was meant to be more of an interlude, hence why it was only 1:52, while the majority of the other songs clock in at over 5 minutes.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
26.10.2010 - 03:57
ErnilEnNaur
Account deleted
Written by Doc Godin on 25.10.2010 at 21:42

I think it was meant to be more of an interlude, hence why it was only 1:52, while the majority of the other songs clock in at over 5 minutes.


That's how I think of it as well, as an interlude or an intro to the final song, but it is still weird. I am used to interludes on concept albums, but RIP isn't an actual concept album, despite the militaristic themes in most songs. Funny thing is, Dawn Patrol might have the best lyrics of any song on the album.
Loading...
26.10.2010 - 04:04
Angelic Storm
Melodious
Written by PeaTearGriffin4 on 16.10.2010 at 15:20
I found a megadeth cover of battery. It's got that undeniable megadeth sound intertwined in with more harmony, taking things their own speed (unfortunately a tad slower than Metallica's), but it almost sounds like Dave is making fun of a good song in the way he sings. He took it his own route in the vocals, but almost is satirical. If you find it tell me what you think


No you haven't. That has long been known to be a hoax. Megadeth never covered Battery.
Loading...
26.03.2017 - 05:23
Winter Heathen
Rust in Peace = Best Megadeth album!
----
Power metal incarnate.
Loading...

Hits total: 15564 | This month: 39