Rating:
7.5
Sinergy - Suicide By My Side
2002


01. I Spit On Your Grave
02. The Sin Trade
03. Violated
04. Me, Myself, My Enemy
05. Written In Stone
06. Nowhere For No One
07. Passage To The Fourth World
08. Shadow Island
09. Suicide By My Side
10. Remembrance
11. The Number Of The Beast [Iron Maiden cover] [Japanese bonus]
12. Rock You Like A Hurricane [Scorpions cover] [US-import bonus]
13. Gimme, Gimme, Gimme [Abba cover] [US-import bonus]


Here it is - the first 2002 CD that got into my hands... I don't know what you expected from Sinergy's new album, but I knew for sure what it would sound like. The only surprise on this CD is 'Shadow Island', which feautures some 'black' vocals (don't worry - it's not Kimberly), which make the song sound like something from Children Of Bodom. By the way, for those who still don't know, these two bands share the same guitarist - Alexi Laiho. He's also responsable for Sinergy being quite a decent band and not falling into the 'power metal clones' category The rest of the album is typical Sinergy - even 'The Fourth World' is here again (hmm... it's already a trilogy now . Even listening to the CD for the 10th time it's hard to say which song you're listening to, except already mentioned 'Shadow Island' and two other songs - nice ballad 'Written In Stone' and the short piano outro 'Remembrance'.

However, despite a lack of variety it's not a bad album at all - outstanding guitar work, Kimberly Goss vocals (don't trust those who say she can't sing!), the production - everything's of very high quality. The most disappointing thing about this album is its length - only 36 min! Though I'm not sure if additional 10 min. of the same stuff would've help, so it's probably exactly the right length for an album like this.


Band profile: Sinergy
Album: Suicide By My Side


 


written by Ivan | 22.09.2003



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 90  
Search this topic:  


Spyroid - 04.11.2006 at 20:25  
The vocals ruin everything. The music is a bit boring, even if there's a lot of influences, the result is not very exciting. But I just can't stand Kimberly. Most expensive album I've ever bought (19 £) and also the worst.
Doc Godin - 11.06.2007 at 08:37  
I aswell have a problem with the vocals, I like the music and the vocals are ok at first, but by the end of the album you just want to chop Kimberly Goss' testicles off.
Sunioj - 29.09.2007 at 13:06  
I haven't listened to this album in fricking ages. It definetly is recommended for melodic/extreme metal fans.

Written by Doc Godin on 11.06.2007 at 08:37

I aswell have a problem with the vocals, I like the music and the vocals are ok at first, but by the end of the album you just want to chop Kimberly Goss' testicles off.


Hah, I feel the same way as you. I really don't mind her vocals, but after awhile it does get a bit old.
Uirapuru - 26.08.2008 at 11:45  
best Sinergy album... i dont really care about her voice, it kinda fits well...
the band is competent, but has an amazing lack of inovation, if we put in the same playlist songs from their three albuns, it is hard to indentify from wich album comes every song;.. they're good musicians, but common.
the solos kicks ass thou
Paradox0 - 12.09.2008 at 21:45  
Starts out good, but as many people have stated, gets a bit boring after awile. On a side note this is probably some of Alexi's Best guitar work. 7.5/10
juanopereira - 17.09.2008 at 05:30  
I liked the album. For me, a 7.5 is too low, I'd give it an 8.5 great album.
MétalNoir - 21.08.2010 at 21:54  
Written by Doc Godin on 11.06.2007 at 08:37

I aswell have a problem with the vocals, I like the music and the vocals are ok at first, but by the end of the album you just want to chop Kimberly Goss' testicles off.

lolll just lolll
Milena - 14.02.2011 at 10:47  
The vocals are amazing, don't know what you guys are talking about really.
The only point in this review that is not true to me is that I exactly knew which song I was listening to on my second listen
dying2live - 15.08.2011 at 05:39  
Some of the best melodic guitar work I have ever heard is on this album. And her vocals are better than ...dare I say it ...Bruce Dickinson's.
M C Vice - 13.01.2012 at 10:19  
2nd farorite album from my favorite band with my favotite singer.
Anyone notice that the most positive song on the album is called Violated?
Troy Killjoy - 13.01.2012 at 10:45  
Written by M C Vice on 13.01.2012 at 10:19
Anyone notice that the most positive song on the album is called Violated?

Perhaps a reflection of one of the musician's fetishes?
M C Vice - 13.01.2012 at 12:51  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 13.01.2012 at 10:45

Written by M C Vice on 13.01.2012 at 10:19
Anyone notice that the most positive song on the album is called Violated?

Perhaps a reflection of one of the musician's fetishes?

I'm sure she didn't violate her now-ex-husband THAT much.
Susan - 13.01.2012 at 15:34  
Written by M C Vice on 13.01.2012 at 10:19

2nd farorite album from my favorite band with my favotite singer.


Which is your first? This is/was my favourite band for a long time and it was always my favorite album of theirs, a huge progression from the previous two. Much darker

I agree with Ivan's review in many ways except I don't feel the songs bleed together that badly. They're very distinct for me, with individual moods, melodies, performances, etc. After a few listens it was easy to start telling the different. My favorite song on here is definitely Passage to the Fourth World, with The Sin Trade as a very close send. Such a strong album all around.
M C Vice - 13.01.2012 at 15:46  
Written by Susan on 13.01.2012 at 15:34

Written by M C Vice on 13.01.2012 at 10:19

2nd farorite album from my favorite band with my favotite singer.


Which is your first? This is/was my favourite band for a long time and it was always my favorite album of theirs, a huge progression from the previous two. Much darker


To Hell And Back. But this one is only just behind.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews To/Die/For - Epilogue 3 12.12.2008 by Vitriolic Hate
News Sinergy - Album Update 3 26.03.2007 by
Reviews Suicide Silence - You Can't Stop Me 2.5 11.08.2014 by Ilham
Reviews Korn - See You On The Other Side 2.5 09.10.2009 by BenWasHere
Reviews Aura - A Different View From The Same Side 2.5 19.02.2009 by Dane Train



Hits total: 4668 | This month: 57