Sinergy - Suicide By My Side review



Reviewer:
7.5

138 users:
7.89
Band: Sinergy
Album: Suicide By My Side
Release date: 2002


01. I Spit On Your Grave
02. The Sin Trade
03. Violated
04. Me, Myself, My Enemy
05. Written In Stone
06. Nowhere For No One
07. Passage To The Fourth World
08. Shadow Island
09. Suicide By My Side
10. Remembrance
11. The Number Of The Beast [Iron Maiden cover] [Japanese bonus]
12. Rock You Like A Hurricane [Scorpions cover] [US-import bonus]
13. Gimme, Gimme, Gimme [Abba cover] [US-import bonus]


Here it is - the first 2002 CD that got into my hands... I don't know what you expected from Sinergy's new album, but I knew for sure what it would sound like. The only surprise on this CD is 'Shadow Island', which feautures some 'black' vocals (don't worry - it's not Kimberly), which make the song sound like something from Children Of Bodom. By the way, for those who still don't know, these two bands share the same guitarist - Alexi Laiho. He's also responsable for Sinergy being quite a decent band and not falling into the 'power metal clones' category The rest of the album is typical Sinergy - even 'The Fourth World' is here again (hmm... it's already a trilogy now . Even listening to the CD for the 10th time it's hard to say which song you're listening to, except already mentioned 'Shadow Island' and two other songs - nice ballad 'Written In Stone' and the short piano outro 'Remembrance'.

However, despite a lack of variety it's not a bad album at all - outstanding guitar work, Kimberly Goss vocals (don't trust those who say she can't sing!), the production - everything's of very high quality. The most disappointing thing about this album is its length - only 36 min! Though I'm not sure if additional 10 min. of the same stuff would've help, so it's probably exactly the right length for an album like this.

Written by Ivan | 22.09.2003


 


Comments

Comments: 14   Visited by: 99 users
04.11.2006 - 20:25
Spyroid
Rosetta Stoned
The vocals ruin everything. The music is a bit boring, even if there's a lot of influences, the result is not very exciting. But I just can't stand Kimberly. Most expensive album I've ever bought (19 £) and also the worst.
Loading...
11.06.2007 - 08:37
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
I aswell have a problem with the vocals, I like the music and the vocals are ok at first, but by the end of the album you just want to chop Kimberly Goss' testicles off.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
29.09.2007 - 13:06
Sunioj
I haven't listened to this album in fricking ages. It definetly is recommended for melodic/extreme metal fans.

Written by Doc Godin on 11.06.2007 at 08:37

I aswell have a problem with the vocals, I like the music and the vocals are ok at first, but by the end of the album you just want to chop Kimberly Goss' testicles off.


Hah, I feel the same way as you. I really don't mind her vocals, but after awhile it does get a bit old.
Loading...
26.08.2008 - 11:45
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
best Sinergy album... i dont really care about her voice, it kinda fits well...
the band is competent, but has an amazing lack of inovation, if we put in the same playlist songs from their three albuns, it is hard to indentify from wich album comes every song;.. they're good musicians, but common.
the solos kicks ass thou
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
12.09.2008 - 21:45
Paradox0
Unasuming Madnes
Starts out good, but as many people have stated, gets a bit boring after awile. On a side note this is probably some of Alexi's Best guitar work. 7.5/10
Loading...
17.09.2008 - 05:30
juanopereira
I liked the album. For me, a 7.5 is too low, I'd give it an 8.5 great album.
Loading...
21.08.2010 - 21:54
MétalNoir
Fils du Lys
Written by Doc Godin on 11.06.2007 at 08:37

I aswell have a problem with the vocals, I like the music and the vocals are ok at first, but by the end of the album you just want to chop Kimberly Goss' testicles off.

lolll just lolll
----
Notre destinée n'est pas encore tracée....
Loading...
14.02.2011 - 10:47
Milena
Learning To "X"
The vocals are amazing, don't know what you guys are talking about really.
The only point in this review that is not true to me is that I exactly knew which song I was listening to on my second listen
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
15.08.2011 - 05:39
dying2live
Some of the best melodic guitar work I have ever heard is on this album. And her vocals are better than ...dare I say it ...Bruce Dickinson's.
Loading...
13.01.2012 - 10:19
M C Vice
Ex-polydactyl
2nd farorite album from my favorite band with my favotite singer.
Anyone notice that the most positive song on the album is called Violated?
----
Mum - 21/10/1955 - 19/6/2015. R.I.P.

"I'll fight you on one condition. That you lower your nipples."
"I'll put whatever I want in your mouth!"
Sharks 2016 Premiers
Loading...
13.01.2012 - 10:45
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by M C Vice on 13.01.2012 at 10:19
Anyone notice that the most positive song on the album is called Violated?

Perhaps a reflection of one of the musician's fetishes?
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
13.01.2012 - 12:51
M C Vice
Ex-polydactyl
Written by Troy Killjoy on 13.01.2012 at 10:45

Written by M C Vice on 13.01.2012 at 10:19
Anyone notice that the most positive song on the album is called Violated?

Perhaps a reflection of one of the musician's fetishes?

I'm sure she didn't violate her now-ex-husband THAT much.
----
Mum - 21/10/1955 - 19/6/2015. R.I.P.

"I'll fight you on one condition. That you lower your nipples."
"I'll put whatever I want in your mouth!"
Sharks 2016 Premiers
Loading...
13.01.2012 - 15:34
Susan
Smeghead
Written by M C Vice on 13.01.2012 at 10:19

2nd farorite album from my favorite band with my favotite singer.


Which is your first? This is/was my favourite band for a long time and it was always my favorite album of theirs, a huge progression from the previous two. Much darker

I agree with Ivan's review in many ways except I don't feel the songs bleed together that badly. They're very distinct for me, with individual moods, melodies, performances, etc. After a few listens it was easy to start telling the different. My favorite song on here is definitely Passage to the Fourth World, with The Sin Trade as a very close send. Such a strong album all around.
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
13.01.2012 - 15:46
M C Vice
Ex-polydactyl
Written by Susan on 13.01.2012 at 15:34

Written by M C Vice on 13.01.2012 at 10:19

2nd farorite album from my favorite band with my favotite singer.


Which is your first? This is/was my favourite band for a long time and it was always my favorite album of theirs, a huge progression from the previous two. Much darker


To Hell And Back. But this one is only just behind.
----
Mum - 21/10/1955 - 19/6/2015. R.I.P.

"I'll fight you on one condition. That you lower your nipples."
"I'll put whatever I want in your mouth!"
Sharks 2016 Premiers
Loading...

Hits total: 5536 | This month: 12