Rating:
8.4
Agalloch - Pale Folklore
6 July 1999


01. She Painted Fire Across The Skyline I
02. She Painted Fire Across The Skyline II
03. She Painted Fire Across The Skyline III
04. The Misshapen Steed
05. Hallways Of Enchanted Ebony
06. Dead Winter Days
07. As Embers Dress The Sky
08. The Melancholy Spirit


In recent years, only a handful of bands surprised me as much as Agalloch from Portland, Oregon. With albums such as The Mantle and Ashes Against The Grain, they established themselves as one of the most talented US acts. I suddenly realized that I was missing out on one of their albums, 1999's Pale Folklore.

The first observation is that Agalloch's unique style - an atmospheric blend of folk, doom, death and much more - is already well defined on this album. While the production is understandably of poorer quality compared to their more recent releases, it is clear enough to enjoy the large amount of creativity showcased throughout the tracks.

'She Painted Fire Across The Skyline' is a typical Agalloch creation, divided into three distinct parts, which gives Pale Folklore a great base. Listeners who are already familiar with their discography, will recognize 'The Death Of Man' as the lead build-up of The Mantle album.

Without giving up too much information, 'Hallways OF Enchanted Ebony', 'Dead Winter Days' and especially 'As Embers Dress The Sky' constitute the essential heart of the album while 'The Melancholy Spirit' is a slower-beat outro with a fantastic piano conclusion.

Pale Folklore is an extremely interesting album, played by very convincing musicians and in a unique style that is sure to gather people with different musical background. It may be a notch under their grandiose The Mantle, but it's not far from it.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 8
Production: 6


Band profile: Agalloch
Album: Pale Folklore


 


written by Demonic Tutor | 04.11.2006



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 17  
Users visited: 226  
Search this topic:  


Katatronik - 04.11.2006 at 15:31  
Yeah I agree, a very good album with a poor production (compared with their last 2 amazing albums), but very enjoyable anyway. Agalloch: simply great and unequalled...
Good review!
lazarus - 15.11.2006 at 17:15  
I'd say the performance was outstanding but probably the greatest success of Pale Folklore was their originality.
AnarChrist - 28.02.2007 at 22:58  
Best album ever.This is all.Thank you.
Dandelion - 29.04.2007 at 10:55  
well every agalloch release is among the best albums ever
Slyfang - 08.05.2007 at 21:24  
by far their best in my opinion. it had a most hauntingly beautiful atmosphere, such that i didn't find in the later albums
Mirick - 03.07.2007 at 01:19  
First album I found by Agalloch. I can't remember when or where but it was ages ago and probably illegally. I looked everywhere for the CD but I could never find it. (And Sweden is supposed to be good at this metal stuff!) Eventually I did find it in a backwater store somewhere you never would have expected. I guess that's irony.

Easily my favorite album. Dead Winter Days makes me shiver every time I hear it.
avatarofdiscord - 04.07.2007 at 02:25  
I know people are going to disagree, but it would be amazing is Agalloch considered a rerecording on this album. This album really deserves it.
gerrard888 - 18.07.2008 at 12:09  
great album but the production was a bit poor 8.5/10
Powerslavex - 27.11.2008 at 14:26  
Great but poor production
Elio - 14.01.2009 at 21:44  
I don't give a shit about production, the only thing I know is that album is fucking great, period.
xVovax - 28.07.2009 at 19:25  
Best agalloch album!!!
Ellrohir - 28.07.2009 at 19:41  
For me a bit weaker one, but only because "Ashes Against The Grain" and "The Mantle" are so wonderful...
Uirapuru - 23.12.2009 at 09:52  
For me too. Worst of their albums. But that does not mean a bad album at all . The three part ''She Painted Fire Across The Skyline'' are not so good, but the album gets a lot better from there to on.
Dragzad - 01.02.2011 at 23:52  
For me, this is their best album.
@gent_-_orange - 16.09.2011 at 03:20  
Looking back I have to say that this is Agallochs best album. The production is not a bad thing on this album IMO as it helps feed the atmosphere, This album does not need to be rerecorded.
Grody2themax - 19.10.2011 at 23:41  
Good, album. Its sort of obvious listening to it that it's their first though as theyve progressed a lot imo. The only thing lacking in this album is that I can see the goddamn pixels on the album cover. (I bought the album) I know this was 1999 when it was released..but still that so cheap haha.
monur - 09.10.2012 at 13:55  
I listened to this album carefully and found no production issues at all. Sound is great so as the album. Such a beautiful debut album naturally led to a display of power and talent, which we saw in their following works throughout the years.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Agalloch - The Mantle 7.5 01.07.2007 by Dandelion
Albums Agalloch - Pale Folklore 6 29.05.2011 by strade
Reviews Manigance - Ange Ou Démon 4.5 31.01.2008 by +{Jonas}+
Reviews Ava Inferi - Blood Of Bacchus 4.5 06.06.2009 by annodomini
Reviews Arch Enemy - Rise Of The Tyrant 4.5 13.10.2007 by Piro



Hits total: 4960 | This month: 35