Ministry - ΚΕΦΑΛΗΞΘ review



Reviewer:
10

187 users:
8.42
Band: Ministry
Album: ΚΕΦΑΛΗΞΘ
Release date: July 1992


01. N.W.O
02. Just One Fix
03. TV II
04. Hero
05. Jesus Built My Hotrod
06. Scare Crow
07. Psalm 69
08. Corrosion
09. Grace


Just a decade ago, Ministry broke out from its 80's synth-dance music with a pretty little album called Psalm 69. With repetitive, snarling guitars, hellish vocals, weird screams and pounding drums; Ministry became sort of the antagonist band to all that was available in the music market at that time.

The album kicks off with the great 'N.W.O', a track that uses one of George Bush's speeches, giving a sort of aggressive political twist to the song. This track gives just a little taste to what will the rest of the album will be. Next is 'Just One Fix', a song with weird screams, repetitive guitars. Just brutal, raw industrial metal. 'Hero' and 'TV II' are just as aggressive and intriguing as the last two. 'Jesus Built My Hotrod' is probably the best song of the entire CD. With the collaboration of the Butthole Surfers? singer, Gibby Haines and its unbelievably silly lyrics, this is one of the most tuneful track ever made by Ministry. After this, the album moves into a much slower pace. I mean, 75 minutes of pure ear-pounding industrial would be quite annoying for anyone. 'Scarecrow' is a slow, calm track that uses a guitar riff similar to 'When The Levee Breaks', definitely a refreshing song. The last two tracks are a bunch of nightmarish yells and noise. The first track is appropriately named 'Corrosion' and the last one has the ironic title of 'Grace'.

For a common person, Psalm 69 is just mere noise but for those who love this genre, it is metal mixed with originality and some sort of grace to it.

Written by Izzys Swan | 03.10.2003


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments

Comments: 8   Visited by: 93 users
14.07.2006 - 23:29
Basso
Account deleted
The name alone makes up for having it in the rack
Loading...
24.08.2007 - 04:46
Joey Jo Jo
Piece of shit
"Ministry broke out from its 80's synth-dance music with a pretty little album called Psalm 69."
damn, this was their 3rd non-Synth pop album. Ministry has only made 1 synth pop album, With Sympathy. Land of Rape and Honey was really aggressive electronics. Goodthing Izzys Swan isn't here anymore. I think would have killed him for that line
----
"If there hadn't been women we'd still be squatting in a cave eating raw meat, because we made civilization in order to impress our girl friends. And they tolerated it and let us go ahead and play with our toys."
- Orson Welles
Loading...
27.10.2007 - 02:45
iaberis
Advice Troll
WTF?! That's more like Industrial Punk than metal. It sucks major ass, probably the worst album I've heard. Highly overrated.
----
Bitch! Please
Loading...
27.06.2009 - 20:39
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
Great album. Best from Ministry to me.

''Jesus Built My Hotrod'' is addictive.
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
02.07.2009 - 16:03
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Uirapuru on 27.06.2009 at 20:39

Great album. Best from Ministry to me.

''Jesus Built My Hotrod'' is addictive.


Agree... if you don't move your head and feets when the song kicks in after the intro... You can just die now.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
02.01.2012 - 04:47
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Dig a ding dang a dang a long ling long digidey do doooowwww.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
13.02.2012 - 00:54
Lit.
Account deleted
Written by iaberis on 27.10.2007 at 02:45

WTF?! That's more like Industrial Punk than metal. It sucks major ass, probably the worst album I've heard. Highly overrated.



Off with your head!
Loading...
03.04.2012 - 21:47
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Guest on 13.02.2012 at 00:54

Written by iaberis on 27.10.2007 at 02:45

WTF?! That's more like Industrial Punk than metal. It sucks major ass, probably the worst album I've heard. Highly overrated.



Off with your head!

^This.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...

Hits total: 4678 | This month: 9