Rating:
8.8
Enslaved - Ruun
8 May 2006


01. Entroper
02. Path To Vanir
03. Fusion Of Sense And Earth
04. Ruun
05. Tides Of Chaos
06. Essence
07. Api-vat
08. Heir To The Cosmic Seed


Behold! Enslaved from Bergen, Norway is a legend in the making. After masterpieces such as 2001's "Monumension", 2003's "Below the Lights" and 2004's "Isa" the progressive Black outfit came back stalwartly with "Ruun" in 2006. If you're wondering if their latest is better than "Isa", the answer is no. However, it is the same quality in a different album and makes a perfect companion album to "Isa".

For newcomers like me, Enslaved sounds like a balanced mix between classy Black Metal and dark progressive music a la Opeth or Novembre with Pink Floyd influences. A common measure between those four bands is the amount of creativity crafted into their albums. Far from BM clichés (Cradle of Filth anyone?), the troop led by Ivar Bjornson Peersen (guitars, keys, vocals) and Grutle Kjellson (vocals, bass) has been revolutionizing the genre with trademark songs, and this album is no exception to the rule. By adding clean vocals, lingering atmospheres and solid riffing, Enslaved is expanding boundaries of a genre too often boxed in its own rules.

Each song is noteworthy in its own way and despite the album barely clocking at 45 minutes, Enslaved managed to make the most of all of them. It would take me weeks to come up with descriptions of any of those songs, so let's move on.

I knew little about Enslaved a few weeks ago but after listening to "Ruun", I did some fruitful research. This is easily the biggest discovery of 2006 for me. This album has so much diversity, power, melody and creativity to top any Metal fan play list for a long, long time.

If you're into any of the aforementioned bands - add Vintersorg to that list - Enslaved is a definite pick for you. Not afraid to use clean vocals on most tracks, this band totally delivers one of the most entertaining kinds of Metal in today's scene. And hey, this album is our Black Metal Staff Pick for 2006. That alone, is enough said.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 9


Band profile: Enslaved
Album: Ruun


 


written by Demonic Tutor | 30.06.2007



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 186  
Search this topic:  


ylside - 30.06.2007 at 22:39  
Good album.
Katatronik - 30.06.2007 at 22:42  
Good album, not my favourite Enslaved album though... ISA is so much better in every single note IMO
Darkside Momo - 01.07.2007 at 01:43  
Written by Katatronik on 30.06.2007 at 22:42

Good album, not my favourite Enslaved album though... ISA is so much better in every single note IMO

I agree, Isa is even better than Ruun.
BUT, the best Enslaved song ever for me is on this album, and it's called Path To Vanir.
dancingdecember - 01.07.2007 at 03:39  
enslaved has been just so fuckin great and proggressive towards years, i respect and like their music very much
jupitreas - 02.07.2007 at 03:01  
I still prefer the old, epic Enslaved of yore with albums such as Frost, Eld and Blodhemn; however, "Below The Lights" was to me a brilliant venture into uncharted territories for Enslaved. "Isa" was in comparison too much a progressive album, with poitnless meanderings and quite a bit of pretentious songwriting. "RUUN" is even worse than "Isa" in this respect. I think the band is a little lost right now.
ylside - 02.07.2007 at 23:28  
Written by Darkside Momo on 01.07.2007 at 01:43

BUT, the best Enslaved song ever for me is on this album, and it's called Path To Vanir.

Agreed
Infurnace - 03.07.2007 at 15:24  
This is one of the best albums ever made. And Path To Vanir is certainly one of the best songs by Enslaved.
+GLOBOSITOR+ - 06.07.2007 at 23:31  
Enslaved are great because: Old albums are so fckin blac!! Medium era is so fckin epic and so goooood!! And now, its so fcking progresive!! RUUN is good album, not better than ISA, but very very good. The best song isnt path to vanir , i tjink RUUN is so good i like it and Api vat is good to.
BlueMobius - 25.07.2007 at 07:00  
This album rocks, perfect blend of progressive and black metal. A lot of people don't like this one, but I think its very good.
AnGina-- - 25.07.2007 at 10:22  
I think it's a great album, and I haven't been exactly a hardcore fan of Enslaved! I'd give it a 9.
Deadsoulman - 16.11.2007 at 12:10  
The more I'm listening to this album, the more I absolutely love it. Somehow ISA never convinced me - except for the title track, Bounded By Allegiance and Return To Yggdrasil - so this one is a big step in the good direction for me. It sounds slightly less progressive and a bit more "rock'n'roll' than the previous album. I love the production
Oh, and two of my favourite Enslaved songs are on this album: Path To Vanir and Ruun.
charless - 19.01.2008 at 22:05  
this is the album that got me into enslaved. also i cant believe no one has mentioned the tracks "Tides of Chaos" or "Essence"...amazing songs
BestMetalstormer - 27.11.2008 at 16:47  
Damn, I enjoy more the song Essence in this album. Very good video making for that song.
Uirapuru - 06.12.2009 at 01:23  
Amazing album. Much more catchy and easy to get into. One of the best in their discography.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Kauan - Pirut 4.5 29.12.2013 by Apothecary
Reviews Novembers Doom - The Novella Reservoir 4.5 01.03.2007 by blackthor
Reviews Dream Theater - Systematic Chaos 4.5 08.07.2007 by
Reviews Turisas - The Varangian Way 4.5 08.09.2007 by hard_tom
Reviews Opeth - Heritage 4.5 20.09.2011 by Lit.



Hits total: 5071 | This month: 40