Alcest - Souvenirs D'un Autre Monde review



Reviewer:
8.5

492 users:
8.55
Band: Alcest
Album: Souvenirs D'un Autre Monde
Release date: August 2007


01. Printemps Emeraude
02. Souvenirs D'un Autre Monde
03. Les Iris
04. Ciel Errant
05. Sur L'autre Rive Je T'attendrai
06. Tir Nan Og


Alcest has never released any real full length album but the French band is already cult. After a split and a demo, Neige (the main man of the combo and… only musician) found a deal with the famous German label Prophecy to release his first album, "Souvenirs D'un Autre Monde". The album will be out in August and you can be sure of one thing, we will remember it!

The funny thing here is that Neige used to play (and still plays with other bands by the way) Black Metal with Alcest. Here don't even expect anything like that, "Souvenirs D'un Autre Monde" is an album of melancholic Metal (and even Pop like on the track "Ciel Errant") but God, this is extremely good and intelligent. If you like the last Antimatter (also released on Prophecy) or the last Anathema, be sure that you'll check this release which is, in my opinion, one of the best releases in the category this year. This is fresh, extremely "sweet" like a candy and really emotive (no, that's not something for you if you only want to listen to "troo" or "krieg" Metal). To sum up, with "Souvenirs D'un Autre Monde" we're just in front of a really beautiful album of atmospheric music, something hypnotic, something tender and extremely catchy too. This is this kind of album that you'll listen to again and again!

The music of "Souvenirs D'un Autre Monde" is special though. This is really calm and peaceful with real saturated guitars however and even if it's not Black or Pagan Metal it's obvious that these kind of music inspired Neige to compose this album because we can easily feel these influences, especially for the spirit in the six songs of the album. But you have to know that you'll have to be extremely open minded to enjoy this release because it's not pure Metal and flirts a lot with dark Pop but honestly I don't care… it's just good and we don't have to listen to overdriven guitars every time that we listen to a CD after all.

"Souvenirs D'un Autre Monde" is a beautiful album and I'm sure that all the ones who like "poetic" music will love this release. I highly recommend it to all the ones who like peaceful music, really this is a must. Alcest was already cult before that Neige release a first official album, but now that I listened to "Souvenirs D'un Autre Monde" I can tell you that this status is all but an usurpation.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 8

Written by Jeff | 24.07.2007


 


Comments page 4 / 4

Comments: 100   Visited by: 349 users
07.10.2011 - 21:26
Cryzpin
Written by Troy Killjoy on 07.10.2011 at 19:27

Okay, let's compromise and say the kittens are at least making out. Maybe a boob grab every now and again, but nothing beyond that.

Hahaha, hey you're good at this. To conclude the discussion, I would just repeat that the album being here is absolutely ok with me and I was just trolling. I appreciate how "vague" are the borders of metal on this portal. It's the best one I know anyway.
Loading...
08.10.2011 - 15:11
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Cryzpin on 07.10.2011 at 21:26
Hahaha, hey you're good at this. To conclude the discussion, I would just repeat that the album being here is absolutely ok with me and I was just trolling. I appreciate how "vague" are the borders of metal on this portal. It's the best one I know anyway.


Also... the second album has obviously black metal on it, same as the stuff before the debut. So featuring those albums and not featuring their debut is kind of... weird XP. Same to bands like Anathema for example.

Written by Troy Killjoy on 07.10.2011 at 19:27

Okay, let's compromise and say the kittens are at least making out. Maybe a boob grab every now and again, but nothing beyond that.


Oh man I got the weirdest boner right now.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
08.10.2011 - 19:50
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Mr. Doctor on 08.10.2011 at 15:11
Oh man I got the weirdest boner right now.

Mine was raging just typing that.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
08.10.2011 - 22:09
Slayer666
Written by Troy Killjoy on 07.10.2011 at 19:27

Okay, let's compromise and say the kittens are at least making out. Maybe a boob grab every now and again, but nothing beyond that.


You make me sick, you perverted bastard. >:[

(Btw, do you know any sites where I can find kitten porn? You know, so I can masturbate hate on the videos)
Loading...
08.10.2011 - 22:43
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Slayer666 on 08.10.2011 at 22:09
(Btw, do you know any sites where I can find kitten porn? You know, so I can masturbate hate on the videos)

EXTREMELY NSFW KITTEN ORGY!
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
08.10.2011 - 22:50
Slayer666
Written by Troy Killjoy on 08.10.2011 at 22:43

EXTREMELY NSFW KITTEN ORGY!


8=======3

Just so this post isn't complete spam:
Great album this, although I greatly prefer the follow-up. And I don't really understand people saying the album is all that up-lifting, sounds pretty melancholic to me.
Loading...
08.10.2011 - 22:58
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Slayer666 on 08.10.2011 at 22:50
Great album this, although I greatly prefer the follow-up.

To be honest I don't care much for this album at all. Probably a low 7 or so...whereas I think the Lune is outstanding. There's just something about this release I can't get past, and I can't place it which is frustrating. I just listen to it and then it's over and I'm like...huh. It's just not memorable for me.

But I can hum along to the guitars on the Lune from beginning to end.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
09.10.2011 - 13:13
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Slayer666 on 08.10.2011 at 22:50

And I don't really understand people saying the album is all that up-lifting, sounds pretty melancholic to me.


Ciel Errant and Tir Nan Og are up-lifting from the beginning to the end. The rest do have some pretty melancholic moments though but the "happy feeling" is still around the corner in many moments of all the songs.

Written by Troy Killjoy on 08.10.2011 at 22:58

I just listen to it and then it's over and I'm like...huh. It's just not memorable for me.
But I can hum along to the guitars on the Lune from beginning to end.

Shame, I think this album has just as many memorable moments as Lune. I rated both albums the same. The climax on Ciel Errant is friggin brilliant imo. I like to hum to that tune a lot.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
09.10.2011 - 19:24
InnerSelf
proofread free
Quote:
Written by Mr. Doctor on 09.10.2011 at 13:13

I just listen to it and then it's over and I'm like...huh. It's just not memorable for me.
But I can hum along to the guitars on the Lune from beginning to end.

Shame, I think this album has just as many memorable moments as Lune. I rated both albums the same. The climax on Ciel Errant is friggin brilliant imo. I like to hum to that tune a lot.


Yeah and Les Iris's climax is also great
----
He who is not bold enough
to be stared at from across the abyss
is not bold enough
to stare into it himself.
Loading...
29.01.2012 - 11:42
INÆRIS
This album speaks to me, and I'm thankful for that.
----
Still Life, Still Death
Loading...

Hits total: 13426 | This month: 29