Bloody Panda - Pheromone review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
7.8

9 users:
6.78
Band: Bloody Panda
Album: Pheromone
Release date: April 2007


01. Untitled
02. Coma
03. Fever
04. Ice


Ok, welcome boys and girls, to today's lesson of "Cooking with Nervel". Please form half a circle around me, so we can begin today's class. We're going to cook a very special dish this time: Bloody Panda. If you all pay close attention it won't be too hard to get it right. The base ingredients are as follows: Thergothon's low-fi bowelcrushing bassridden sound, Skepticism's lifeless drums and their eschaton evoking organ. Pour them slowly together and stir them until they boil, then let them stew for a while. To make this dish as rich of taste as possible, we're going to add quite few contrasting flavours. The overall special ingredient we're going to use is "Yoshiko Ohara", a very strong yet sometimes ethereal sounding ingredient, also known to burst into hysterical ecstasy when overdosed. As for topping, push some dying, screaming people through your extensive bass shredder and sprinkle it on top. A bit of flute won't do wrong either, here and there. Remember kids, this dish leaves room for a lot of your imagination, so don't feel restricted!

- The baking begins.. -

Alright, let's see what monsters you've created. You there, "Pheromone", let me taste what you've done. Ok.. Promising first bite.. Confronting and tasteful.. Oh.. You lack a bit here.. What a shame.. Could have done with a stronger body.. Ok, I'm sorry son, but I'm a bit disappointed. Don't get me wrong, you've nailed the special ingredients, which makes this a very interesting piece of work, but you've forgotten about the body, the base of your dish. You see, only the special ingredients will not take you that far. Ingredients need to add to each other, to push each other to new heights. Right now, your dominating Yoshiko Ohara just spoils the entire taste, and cannot satisfy on its own. I'm giving you a lot of points for trying out, and I definitely recognize your potential, but please keep my advice in mind.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 9
Production: 8


 



Written on 20.01.2008 by If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.


Comments

Comments: 17   Visited by: 107 users
20.01.2008 - 21:48
Damnated
Churchburner
really amazing album. nice review.
----
Blessed is he that murders Christ in himself and in his fellow men.



Written by TheBigRossowski on 10.02.2009 at 16:01

if my wife and I can't conceive, I want a medical shipment of your sperm so our baby will be just like you.
Loading...
20.01.2008 - 21:52
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Written by Damnated on 20.01.2008 at 21:48

really amazing album. nice review.


Thanks. I disagree that it is amazing though. The band has potential to create a fucking awesome really amazing album, but this one didn't do it yet for me.
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
20.01.2008 - 21:57
Damnated
Churchburner
Written by Lucas on 20.01.2008 at 21:52

Written by Damnated on 20.01.2008 at 21:48

really amazing album. nice review.


Thanks. I disagree that it is amazing though. The band has potential to create a fucking awesome really amazing album, but this one didn't do it yet for me.

well, amazing might be a bit strong, i agree, but i was definitely blown away by the first listens. later on the magic kinda dispersed, but overall it is still a very good album. maybe i like it so much for the vocals. i'm a sucker for deep female voices.
----
Blessed is he that murders Christ in himself and in his fellow men.



Written by TheBigRossowski on 10.02.2009 at 16:01

if my wife and I can't conceive, I want a medical shipment of your sperm so our baby will be just like you.
Loading...
20.01.2008 - 22:02
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Written by Damnated on 20.01.2008 at 21:57

Written by Lucas on 20.01.2008 at 21:52

Written by Damnated on 20.01.2008 at 21:48

really amazing album. nice review.


Thanks. I disagree that it is amazing though. The band has potential to create a fucking awesome really amazing album, but this one didn't do it yet for me.

well, amazing might be a bit strong, i agree, but i was definitely blown away by the first listens. later on the magic kinda dispersed, but overall it is still a very good album. maybe i like it so much for the vocals. i'm a sucker for deep female voices.


Yup. At first I was also blown away, but a couple of listens later, it slowly faded. And I want to marry that vocalist. I want her to sing me to sleep every night like that.
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
20.01.2008 - 22:12
Damnated
Churchburner
Written by Lucas on 20.01.2008 at 22:02

Yup. At first I was also blown away, but a couple of listens later, it slowly faded. And I want to marry that vocalist. I want her to sing me to sleep every night like that.

ever heard the 3rd and the mortal? Ann-Mari Edvardsen has the most amazing vocals.. ever. listen to In This Room if you haven't heard it. it has a lot of resemblance to Bloody Panda btw. the whole feeling of the music. dark, moody with a hint of psychedelia. that album is truly amazing.
----
Blessed is he that murders Christ in himself and in his fellow men.



Written by TheBigRossowski on 10.02.2009 at 16:01

if my wife and I can't conceive, I want a medical shipment of your sperm so our baby will be just like you.
Loading...
21.01.2008 - 02:41
Dangerboner
:D
This is music I'd listen to while cleaning my gun, putting a corpse in the trunk of my car, bathing my poodle, or while undergoing any other brutal activity. Your review made me hungry, Nervel. Now I want a Bloody Panda sandwich.
Loading...
21.01.2008 - 07:36
Kap'N Korrupt
Account deleted
What a strange name for a band...that reminds me when I was in a band called Wounded Cat...
Loading...
22.01.2008 - 00:48
Spyroid
Rosetta Stoned
Okay, I feel like I didn't got enoungh information from the review - what kind of genre is this, what does Bloody Panda sound like? Because when a band with a name like that gets that positive response in comment I want to know more
Loading...
22.01.2008 - 01:57
Martinikuss
Written by Guest on 21.01.2008 at 07:36

What a strange name for a band...that reminds me when I was in a band called Wounded Cat...

Yeap, hunters and their victims appear from forests
Loading...
22.01.2008 - 06:06
Kap'N Korrupt
Account deleted
Written by Martinikuss on 22.01.2008 at 01:57

Written by Guest on 21.01.2008 at 07:36

What a strange name for a band...that reminds me when I was in a band called Wounded Cat...

Yeap, hunters and their victims appear from forests

That would be a great concept album for them
Loading...
22.01.2008 - 19:13
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Written by Spyroid on 22.01.2008 at 00:48

Okay, I feel like I didn't got enoungh information from the review - what kind of genre is this, what does Bloody Panda sound like? Because when a band with a name like that gets that positive response in comment I want to know more


As I said, a mix of Thergothon & Skepticism musicalwise (in other words: funeral/sludge doom). And the vocals.. well. The vocals can be described as a woman, with a bit of a deep voice, singing weird stuff, sometimes painfully screaming. I really wouldn't know how to describe it in a way that you'll know what it sounds like, better listen to it yourself.
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
22.01.2008 - 20:19
destroyah
supercharger
Kudos on the review!

Don't know if I'll check it out though, you didn't seem too impressed...
----
About me:

"The best out of all the people ever" - Washington Post

"We abandoned Christ for Destroyah's love!" - The Watchtower

"Simply amazing!" - Rolling Stone
Loading...
22.01.2008 - 20:31
Spyroid
Rosetta Stoned
Written by Lucas on 22.01.2008 at 19:13

Written by Spyroid on 22.01.2008 at 00:48

Okay, I feel like I didn't got enoungh information from the review - what kind of genre is this, what does Bloody Panda sound like? Because when a band with a name like that gets that positive response in comment I want to know more


As I said, a mix of Thergothon & Skepticism musicalwise (in other words: funeral/sludge doom). And the vocals.. well. The vocals can be described as a woman, with a bit of a deep voice, singing weird stuff, sometimes painfully screaming. I really wouldn't know how to describe it in a way that you'll know what it sounds like, better listen to it yourself.


I haven't heard Thergothon or Skepticism, but I'll check it out!
Loading...
22.01.2008 - 21:33
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Written by destroyah on 22.01.2008 at 20:19

Kudos on the review!

Don't know if I'll check it out though, you didn't seem too impressed...


I'd still recommend to do so, or at least, keep an eye on them.
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
22.01.2008 - 21:50
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Nice original review. Especially that you keep the cooking metaphor going for the entire length of the review.

I think I will check them out especially since the first bite is really promising.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
23.01.2008 - 16:10
Fucked Upstairs.
Account deleted
Fantastic album, this band has the potential to get an underground kult status in the next 10 years.
Loading...
05.07.2013 - 11:42
mz
One of the most interesting reviews I've ever read. Please come back Lucas no one can fill your spot
----
Giving my ears a rest from music.
Loading...

Hits total: 4324 | This month: 28