Avantasia - The Scarecrow review



Reviewer:
8.5

585 users:
8.06
Band: Avantasia
Album: The Scarecrow
Release date: January 2008


Disc I [CD]
01. Twisted Mind
02. The Scarecrow
03. Shelter From The Rain
04. Carry Me Over
05. What Kind Of Love
06. Another Angel Down
07. The Toy Master
08. Devil In The Belfry
09. Cry Just A Little
10. I Don't Believe In Your Love
11. Lost In Space

Disc II [DVD]
+ Interview - Song By Song
+ Carry Me Over [video]
+ Making Of "Carry Me Over"
+ Lost In Space - Electronic Press Kit
+ Making Of "Lost In Space"
01. Don't Believe In Your Love [Alternative version] [audio]
02. The Toy Master [Alternative version] [audio]


No life was to be found in Tobias Sammet's Avantasia for years after the release of second the "Metal Opera" back in 2002 until last year and the "Lost In Space" single and EPs, which certainly provoked mixed feelings about the new full-length album "The Scarecrow" which finally makes its long-awaited release.

As "Lost In Space" may have given away, Avantasia is a different entity than the collection of musicians that brought us the two "Metal Opera" albums. Years have passed and Tobias has matured in his sense of music. "The Scarecrow" is not a typical power metal album laced with wailing singers and double bass fury, the album hits you from a different angle even though the power metal has not completely escaped by any means. The album is more diverse than Avantasia has been before, different elements are played around with and overall "The Scarecrow" is a brave and adventurous effort from one of power metal's most popular frontmen. Maturity is the theme of the album, although still power metal in its tendencies it has more of a hard rock lean to it as well as more of a commercial and radio-friendly feel.

Avantasia is still big with guests, this time featuring such stars as Alice Cooper, Rudolf Schenker, power metal icons Michael Kiske and Kai Hansen as well as bluesy idol Jørn Lande and many more that all bring something different to the overall taste of the album.

For the die-hard power metallers we have stompers "Shelter From The Rain" that could easily fit unnoticed on an Edguy album with the addition of Michael Kiske, "Another Angel Down" that Jørn Lande stamps his authority all over and "Devil In The Belfry" with the crazy highs that any good power metal favourite should have. Other highlights include the twisted "The Toy Master" where Alice Cooper is used in his element to nightmarish results in a methodically paced song that really comes alive towards the end. The beautiful "What Kind Of Love" also has life breathed into it by female pop-rock singer Amanda Somerville to majestic effects and title track "The Scarecrow" is a great eleven-minute opus representative of the direction Avantasia has turned and the album as a whole.

On the whole "The Scarecrow" is only with a couple of forgettable tracks and boring moments. Being a long album, it nicely manages to make every track on the album something different and interesting. It may however be an idea to come into this with an open mind and no expectations, as the album is not a clone of the previous two full-lengths which may understandably put a percentage of the original Avantasia fans off, but with this direction there is no doubt it will pick up countless more that had never even given Avantasia a chance before. Whichever way to chose to form your opinion of the album, "The Scarecrow" certainly shows the emergence of a more mature Tobias Sammet in glorious form.


 



Written on 24.01.2008 by Member of Staff since 2006.


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 43   Visited by: 459 users
22.06.2008 - 22:02
juanopereira
I think this album is great!!! it's just different. It has songs for every taste, ballads, pop, rock and good power metal songs like another angel down, shelter from the rain and devil in the belfry.
Always the fans are disappointed when a band releases a new album that is a little bit different from the previous one. i hate that way of thinking! the bands can't keep making exactly the same music for eternity, they have to progress.
Look at Manowar, they are still making the same music than 30 years ago, they are now a boring band with an horrible last album.
Loading...
03.07.2008 - 16:30
Infurnace
It's not as enjoyable as the first two albums, which are perfect IMO, but I still think that this is a pretty good one. It's a shame that it's not as power metalish as the first two, but there are some pretty good songs on this album.
Loading...
12.11.2008 - 09:13
Eeric
Account deleted
I think this album is better than metal opera I&II.
Loading...
12.11.2008 - 09:24
Eeric
Account deleted
Written by Vinnie R. on 24.01.2008 at 22:29

Sorry my ignorance about understand english of the lyrics, but...What's the story in this new album? Or there's no story?


It's love story. Sammet explains it on dvd
Loading...
12.11.2008 - 11:13
DanielViking
This album really rocks. great songs, great singing guests, a feeling of 80's and progressive music all around and some kick ass moments combined with sweet ballads make this come back a great come back for Avantasia. less power metal tough... 8.5!
Loading...
20.12.2008 - 01:59
Fat & Sassy!
Nomcat
Is it me, or does Carry Me Over and Lost In Space sound like Savage Garden songs?.. Ack!
----
"Information is not knowledge
Knowledge is not wisdom
Wisdom is not truth
Truth is not beauty
Beauty is not love
Love is not music
Music is THE BEST..." ____Frank Zappa
Loading...
13.04.2009 - 09:27
Lord_Regnier
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 20.12.2008 at 01:59

Is it me, or does Carry Me Over and Lost In Space sound like Savage Garden songs?.. Ack!


They sound like bad Bon Jovi wannabes.
----
"Why would we fear death, when life is so much more frightening?"
Loading...
13.04.2009 - 21:45
Fat & Sassy!
Nomcat
Written by Lord_Regnier on 13.04.2009 at 09:27

Written by Fat & Sassy! on 20.12.2008 at 01:59

Is it me, or does Carry Me Over and Lost In Space sound like Savage Garden songs?.. Ack!


They sound like bad Bon Jovi wannabes.


Oh yeah... and Bon Jovi is awful enough...
----
"Information is not knowledge
Knowledge is not wisdom
Wisdom is not truth
Truth is not beauty
Beauty is not love
Love is not music
Music is THE BEST..." ____Frank Zappa
Loading...
06.08.2009 - 03:35
bcapo3
I love this album. My favourite tracks are The Scarecrow, Another Angel Down (THE BEST!), Shelter From The Rain... It has many different kind of songs and that's what makes it the best album of Avantasia for me!
Loading...
19.01.2010 - 09:06
Jason W.
Razorbliss
I found the album decent originally, but lately I've been revisiting some of my collection, and noticed I hadn't listened to it since I got the album... And while I think it's competent music, it's really just average for me, and oddly impersonal. A few tracks are good, like "Lost In Space" and the lengthy one, "The Scarecrow," but I can't give it more than nudge above average now.
----
"After silence that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music." - Aldous Huxley
Loading...
07.04.2010 - 17:24
BlankFile
This album has its moments, altough it isn´t the successor to the Metal Ópera saga that we all were expecting. Twisted Mind, The Scarecrow, Shelter From the Rain, What Kind of Love and the Toy Master are for me the highlights of this CD. Its a good CD, but not as good as the Metal Ópera Part I and II. Its a different release!
Loading...
22.11.2010 - 19:44
Sword_Chant
Had this album for a long time, I still really like it and it's enjoyable, I know it's quite a commercial release but that didn't change what I thought about it. Funny thing for me is that it was one of those CD's that just appeared randomly in front of me and just happened to buy it totally out of interest (when I had the time to do that). I still listen to this album now and again and i've never found it boring
Loading...
16.12.2012 - 00:46
Ellrohir
Heaven Knight
There are days i cant stop listening to "The Scarecrow" song...love Jorn's voice in here
----
So behold the flight of the sapphire dragon
soaring through the skies once again


Loading...

Hits total: 18566 | This month: 50