Rating:
9.0
Lifelover - Pulver
24 July 2006


01. Nackskott
02. M/S Salmonella
03. Mitt Öppna Öga
04. Kärlek - Becksvart Melankoli
05. Vardagsnytt
06. Avbrott Sex
07. Stockholm
08. Söndag
09. Herrens Hand
10. Medicinmannen
11. Nästa Gryning
12. En Sång Om Dig


Movie-makers all know it: one of the best ways to scare the living daylight out of people is to take something very sweet and innocent, and add something so horribly sickening, for optimal results. Little girls, clowns, dolls.. grant them the twisted mind of a psychopath and you'll have everyone hiding in the closet in no time.

The Swedish abominations that united in Lifelover must have thought the same thing. To release their mental horrid sickness they could not just do with Black Metal alone. Black Metal is no longer the shocking blasphemy that it was in its early days, they needed something more... repulsive.

So what did they do? They discovered the wisdom movie-makers have known long before and created "Pulver". This album can be best described as an assembly of Black Metal and The Cure. It contains the same type of horrid imaginaries, except much more evil and darker. Uplifting riffwork and disgusted sickening vocals, joyful soundsamples are drowned in the unlight of the horrendous atmosphere. Morals and values are reversed and nothing is what it seems to be.

The cover of the album pretty much sums it up: a naked girl lying on a bed of flowers in a sunny meadow, completely smeared with blood, yet relaxed and totally at ease. If you're in for something and are not afraid of an experiment, you'll discover sickness is more addictive than you could ever have imagined and will never think of rehabilitation again. Say goodbye to your family to forever embrace the darkness!

And until the day you die.. you will always be shit!

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 8


Band profile: Lifelover
Album: Pulver


 



Written on 04.02.2008 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 15  
Users visited: 142  
Search this topic:  


Warman - 11.07.2008 at 18:40  
Bought this today, it's really good so far! Just reading the title of the second song, "M/S Salmonella", made me pick up my wallet!
Lucas - 12.07.2008 at 03:58  
Written by Warman on 11.07.2008 at 18:40

Bought this today, it's really good so far! Just reading the title of the second song, "M/S Salmonella", made me pick up my wallet!


So what does it mean exactly? Salmonella is a disease, right?
Warman - 12.07.2008 at 13:28  
Written by Lucas on 12.07.2008 at 03:58

So what does it mean exactly? Salmonella is a disease, right?

Yeah it is. But the song's about M/S Amorella, the boat I always travel with to Finland. The lyrics of all the songs are really dark... "Mitt öppna öga" made me laugh so much I had to call a friend and read it to him. If you want you can send me a PM and I gladly translate songs for you.
Daniel - 19.02.2009 at 01:52  
Sick one Lucas, this album is amazing.
Mr. Doctor - 19.02.2009 at 20:44  
Amazing album... One of a kind tbh.

The vocals are out of this world and the piano and clean guitars give an even more hauting atmosphere.
Fat & Sassy! - 27.07.2009 at 23:51  
Wow, some of their songs on their MySpace sound awesome. I'm a huge post-punk fan and metal fan, so I'll def dig this! By chance, do you know of similar bands like this?
BloodTears - 31.08.2009 at 20:41  
I've been drawn to this album lately, who knows why. So, I'll just let it slip into my collection.
Fat & Sassy! - 01.09.2009 at 00:11  
Written by BloodTears on 31.08.2009 at 20:41

I've been drawn to this album lately, who knows why. So, I'll just let it slip into my collection.


It's solid. Warman translated the lyrics for me. I can relay the message with the translations to you, if you want. They lyrics really aren't anything that special though... Aside from being nasty as fuck.
BloodTears - 01.09.2009 at 00:38  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 01.09.2009 at 00:11

Written by BloodTears on 31.08.2009 at 20:41

I've been drawn to this album lately, who knows why. So, I'll just let it slip into my collection.


It's solid. Warman translated the lyrics for me. I can relay the message with the translations to you, if you want. They lyrics really aren't anything that special though... Aside from being nasty as fuck.


lol Yes, I would appreciate if you could share the translation.
Mr. Doctor - 01.09.2009 at 21:38  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 27.07.2009 at 23:51

Wow, some of their songs on their MySpace sound awesome. I'm a huge post-punk fan and metal fan, so I'll def dig this! By chance, do you know of similar bands like this?


Amesoeurs comes to my mind but it's not really THAT similar. Most of the people say they are average but I really really like them. Specially the female vocalist.

Written by BloodTears on 01.09.2009 at 00:38

lol Yes, I would appreciate if you could share the translation.


You should indeed get some translations... The lyrics are quite simple but very sick and disturbing, just like the music.
Elio - 01.09.2009 at 21:43  
Amesoeurs are gods compared to Lifelover
Fat & Sassy! - 01.09.2009 at 22:00  
Written by Elio on 01.09.2009 at 21:43

Amesoeurs are gods compared to Lifelover


I've never heard of them. I'll have to check them out.
Elio - 01.09.2009 at 22:03  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 01.09.2009 at 22:00

Written by Elio on 01.09.2009 at 21:43

Amesoeurs are gods compared to Lifelover


I've never heard of them. I'll have to check them out.


You should. Especially their first work, the ep, is really good. btw they're another project by the dude behind Alcest (if you know them)
ylside - 24.10.2009 at 01:24  
Excellent album.
Slayer666 - 26.01.2011 at 17:51  
A very, very interesting album, to be sure, but I can't really say this kind of... genre mixture is my thing.
I prefer the classic "necro kvlt grim frostbitten forests of eternal misery" approach to Black Metal

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Lifelover - Dekadens 6 03.11.2009 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Lifelover - Konkurs 6 21.11.2008 by Marcel Hubregtse
Albums Lifelover - Pulver 4.5 11.08.2012 by BlueMobius
Reviews Shining - VI - Klagopsalmer 3 26.07.2009 by Elio
Reviews Bergraven - Till Makabert Väsen 3 01.10.2009 by Doc Godin



Hits total: 8529 | This month: 61