Rating:
N/A
Cryptopsy - The Unspoken King
23 May 2008


01. Worship Your Demons
02. The Headsmen
03. Silence The Tyrants
04. Bemoan The Martyr
05. Leach
06. The Plagued
07. Resurgence Of An Empire
08. Anoint The Dead
09. Contemplate Regicide
10. Bound Dead
11. (Exit) The Few


In what is likely to be the single most shocking event on the scene this year, longtime brutal death metal stalwarts Cryptopsy decided to reinvent themselves as crazy jacks-of-all-trades for their latest release, The Unspoken King. Nevertheless, this album shouldn't get buried by the chaos that will certainly ensue amongst old fans and other more orthodox death metal types. This is because it is just too good to be mired by ridiculous genre discussions.

Yes, what you heard is true - this album contains clean vocals, melodeath leads, funky bass lines, breakdowns augmented by brass instruments, jazzoid guitar solos, samples and keyboards (amongst other things). At the same time, the band doesn't abandon their brutal side at all. The difference is that within the more interesting and dynamic song structures that their expanded means allow for, Cryptopsy now doesn't dwell in brutality for its own sake. The enjoyment of this music doesn't come from the novelty of how ridiculously technical and violent it is. Instead, an appreciation of how these traits are incorporated into concise and impressive musical pieces comes to the fore and the Canadians clearly have the song writing chops to make it all work together in a memorable way. Bands like Protest The Hero or SikTh also make unpredictable ADD-metal that jumps all over the place stylistically; however, thanks to their musical pedigree and experience with chaotic song writing, Cryptopsy simply do it better and with more class.

The Unspoken King is unpredictable but flows well together. As songs like "Leach" and "The Plagued" demonstrate, the key to making this album work lies in memorable motives and the remarkably innovative ways of fusing them together. "The Plagued" is actually, as difficult as that is to believe, an extreme metal ballad. Of particular note is also the song "Bound Dead", which mixes death metal with vocal melodies recalling Alice In Chains with a finesse that can only be described as frightening.

Bands like Dillinger Escape Plan, Between The Buried And Me and Divine Heresy take notice: Cryptopsy is giving you a run for your money. Music should be evaluated based on how successful a band is at achieving the given aim of a collection of songs. The Unspoken King passes this with flying colors. One thing is for sure: this band sure does have balls.


Band profile: Cryptopsy
Album: The Unspoken King


 



Written on 17.04.2008 by
jupitreas
With Metal Storm since 2002, jupitreas has been subjecting the masses to his reviews for quite a while now. Privately not actually an asshole, he lives in Warsaw, Poland, where he runs his small graphic and web design business.
More reviews by jupitreas ››

Staff review by
Baz Anderson

Rating:
5.0
Cryptopsy are a household name when it comes to brutal death metal, and for five albums over the past fourteen years that is exactly what they delivered. Until now. Lord Worm is out of the band, replaced by metalcore vocalist Matt McGachy and for the first time in the band's history a keyboard player, Maggie Durand, is introduced to the ranks. Musically Cryptopsy are a completely different band, shedding their brutal death metal skins and wriggling towards the metalcore whilst still keeping some technical death metal ties.

Read more ››
published 22.04.2008 | Comments (16)



Comments page 3 of 3

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 2 [3]
Comments: 122  
Users visited: 458  
Search this topic:  


Moosh666 - 19.06.2012 at 15:15  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 19.06.2012 at 01:29

Written by Troy Killjoy on 19.06.2012 at 00:17

Written by Moosh666 on 18.06.2012 at 11:42
...you sounded like you pitied them? I guess that is fair enough, making music you probably don't like to gain cash can make you feel dirty. I respect your opinion sir.

Let me set the record straight and tell you that I have no reason to pity these guys. I haven't enjoyed a great deal of their material in the past few years, but this album is an absolute shit-fest. It's definitely considered a sell-out release and I have no problem with that description, being that they reduced their technicality to a minimum, gave up their brutality, and wrote some of the most banal deathcore put to CD.

The only problem I had with this thread is your ignorant response about "pop" and "scene" music regarding the album.

FIGHT! FIGHT! FIGHT!



Anyway, I heard the first track of this and quit.


Hahaha, that made my day man XD
Troy Killjoy - 19.06.2012 at 15:49  
Written by Moosh666 on 19.06.2012 at 15:15
Haha. Well Pop is short for 'Popular Music', Deathcore is one form of Popular music at the moment right? And majority of the musicians in this genre (not all I admit) look like scenekids.

Popular music is reserved for the likes of Lady Gaga, Katy Perry, Adele, Bruno Mars, Justin Bieber... not deathcore bands. Sure the genre itself is a bit popular compared to others, but honestly heavy metal and power metal both have much wider audiences, so it's unfair to call deathcore a scenekid's genre when in reality more people listen to the likes of Nightwish and Children of Bodom.
Moosh666 - 19.06.2012 at 16:18  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 19.06.2012 at 15:49

Written by Moosh666 on 19.06.2012 at 15:15
Haha. Well Pop is short for 'Popular Music', Deathcore is one form of Popular music at the moment right? And majority of the musicians in this genre (not all I admit) look like scenekids.

Popular music is reserved for the likes of Lady Gaga, Katy Perry, Adele, Bruno Mars, Justin Bieber... not deathcore bands. Sure the genre itself is a bit popular compared to others, but honestly heavy metal and power metal both have much wider audiences, so it's unfair to call deathcore a scenekid's genre when in reality more people listen to the likes of Nightwish and Children of Bodom.


I guess you're right there (the pop part), but I see you missed how I admitted they don't all look like scenekids? And I never said only scenekids listen to it, fuck no, I have mates who like that shit too. Ok all loose ends tied up here? Or are you still pissed at my 'ignorant' opinion?
Mr. Doctor - 19.06.2012 at 16:28  
Written by Moosh666 on 19.06.2012 at 15:15
I don't give a shit about offending people, music is a fucking objective art form.


Wtf does this mean? Every single art form is subjective, NOT objective.
Troy Killjoy - 19.06.2012 at 16:33  
Written by Moosh666 on 19.06.2012 at 16:18
I guess you're right there (the pop part), but I see you missed how I admitted they don't all look like scenekids? And I never said only scenekids listen to it, fuck no, I have mates who like that shit too. Ok all loose ends tied up here? Or are you still pissed at my 'ignorant' opinion?

I'm not pissed, and I do still think your opinion on deathcore is based on ignorance, but I suppose a lot of people hate on it just because the genre is gaining popularity and, as you pointed out, the majority of deathcore fans are scene kids.
Moosh666 - 19.06.2012 at 16:37  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.06.2012 at 16:28

Written by Moosh666 on 19.06.2012 at 15:15
I don't give a shit about offending people, music is a fucking objective art form.


Wtf does this mean? Every single art form is subjective, NOT objective.


Sorry, typo
Moosh666 - 19.06.2012 at 16:39  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 19.06.2012 at 16:33

Written by Moosh666 on 19.06.2012 at 16:18
I guess you're right there (the pop part), but I see you missed how I admitted they don't all look like scenekids? And I never said only scenekids listen to it, fuck no, I have mates who like that shit too. Ok all loose ends tied up here? Or are you still pissed at my 'ignorant' opinion?

I'm not pissed, and I do still think your opinion on deathcore is based on ignorance, but I suppose a lot of people hate on it just because the genre is gaining popularity and, as you pointed out, the majority of deathcore fans are scene kids.


What? No, I hate it because it sounds like fucking Pop Punk crap with whiny screaming and breakdowns added in, can't fucking stand it. I don't give a shit how popular something is, if I don't like it then I don't fucking like it.
Troy Killjoy - 19.06.2012 at 16:43  
Written by Moosh666 on 19.06.2012 at 16:39
What? No, I hate it because it sounds like fucking Pop Punk crap with whiny screaming and breakdowns added in, can't fucking stand it. I don't give a shit how popular something is, if I don't like it then I don't fucking like it.

Okay champ calm down, it's just a discussion. If you're hearing pop punk (Blink-182, Sum 41, Simple Plan) in deathcore then I'm sorry to say you have a very odd sense of hearing. Yes the screams can sometimes come off as whiny, even though the focus is on either pig squeals and/or death metal growls, and yes there are boatloads of breakdowns, but deathcore has no ties whatsoever to pop punk. It's hard to believe you don't like it based purely on what it sounds like being that you think it sounds like the three bands I mentioned above rather than disliking it due to its popularity and teenage scene kid appeal.
Moosh666 - 19.06.2012 at 16:53  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 19.06.2012 at 16:43

Written by Moosh666 on 19.06.2012 at 16:39
What? No, I hate it because it sounds like fucking Pop Punk crap with whiny screaming and breakdowns added in, can't fucking stand it. I don't give a shit how popular something is, if I don't like it then I don't fucking like it.

Okay champ calm down, it's just a discussion. If you're hearing pop punk (Blink-182, Sum 41, Simple Plan) in deathcore then I'm sorry to say you have a very odd sense of hearing. Yes the screams can sometimes come off as whiny, even though the focus is on either pig squeals and/or death metal growls, and yes there are boatloads of breakdowns, but deathcore has no ties whatsoever to pop punk. It's hard to believe you don't like it based purely on what it sounds like being that you think it sounds like the three bands I mentioned above rather than disliking it due to its popularity and teenage scene kid appeal.


Well it's mainly the clean vocals they put in that sound Pop Punk-ish, and sometimes the riffs sound kind of like it, although those riffs are used fuckload more in Metalcore. I rarely hear any growling in the bands I've encountered but when I do they bark some shit, then scream it, then cliche boy band singing comes in, then breakdown. But that's pretty much how I made the connection, yes sounds rather ignorant but I hear what I hear. Maybe I'm thinking more of Metalcore (in terms of the clean vocals)?
Troy Killjoy - 19.06.2012 at 17:00  
Written by Moosh666 on 19.06.2012 at 16:53
Well it's mainly the clean vocals they put in that sound Pop Punk-ish, and sometimes the riffs sound kind of like it, although those riffs are used fuckload more in Metalcore. I rarely hear any growling in the bands I've encountered but when I do they bark some shit, then scream it, then cliche boy band singing comes in, then breakdown. But that's pretty much how I made the connection, yes sounds rather ignorant but I hear what I hear. Maybe I'm thinking more of Metalcore (in terms of the clean vocals)?

I think you might be getting your genres mixed up, as you pointed out.

Here's an example of metalcore:



Here's an example of melodic metalcore:



And here's an example of deathcore:



Now here's an example of pop punk:

Mr. Doctor - 19.06.2012 at 17:11  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 19.06.2012 at 17:00
Killswitch Engage

Man, this is awful. But yey for Converge... All Shall Perish is not that bad at all. I specially enjoyed their latest which I wrote for the awards.
Troy Killjoy - 19.06.2012 at 17:15  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.06.2012 at 17:11
Man, this is awful. But yey for Converge... All Shall Perish is not that bad at all. I specially enjoyed their latest which I wrote for the awards.

A lot of melodic metalcore bands have given both metalcore and deathcore bad names, because people just lump it all together. Then they start thinking The Unspoken King is going to sound like a new Killswitch release, when the two are incredibly far apart in terms of sound.

As for All Shall Perish, I never really dug their sound, but it helps when you're one of the genre's pioneers... they were setting the trend at that point, not following it.
Mr. Doctor - 19.06.2012 at 17:19  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 19.06.2012 at 17:15

As for All Shall Perish, I never really dug their sound, but it helps when you're one of the genre's pioneers... they were setting the trend at that point, not following it.


Aye, I'm not really a fan or anything... Just enjoy their latest and some old songs since I'm yet to hear their discography anyway. My favorite Deathcore band is Ion Dissonance and that band is probably not even deathcore! xD Well, their deathcore sound in their last two albums are obvious but there's still some other shizzle going on.
Troy Killjoy - 19.06.2012 at 17:22  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.06.2012 at 17:19
My favorite Deathcore band is Ion Dissonance and that band is probably not even deathcore!

Well their death metal leaning is blatant, and they play technical metalcore. Their songs are composed with more thought and executed with a little more precision and effort than is traditional of metalcore - especially melodic metalcore and deathcore.
Mr. Doctor - 19.06.2012 at 17:26  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 19.06.2012 at 17:22

Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.06.2012 at 17:19
My favorite Deathcore band is Ion Dissonance and that band is probably not even deathcore!

Well their death metal leaning is blatant, and they play technical metalcore. Their songs are composed with more thought and executed with a little more precision and effort than is traditional of metalcore - especially melodic metalcore and deathcore.


To me this is plain deathcore... just more intelligent than other band:




Okay, not plain... but at least 70%
Moosh666 - 19.06.2012 at 18:06  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 19.06.2012 at 17:00

Written by Moosh666 on 19.06.2012 at 16:53
Well it's mainly the clean vocals they put in that sound Pop Punk-ish, and sometimes the riffs sound kind of like it, although those riffs are used fuckload more in Metalcore. I rarely hear any growling in the bands I've encountered but when I do they bark some shit, then scream it, then cliche boy band singing comes in, then breakdown. But that's pretty much how I made the connection, yes sounds rather ignorant but I hear what I hear. Maybe I'm thinking more of Metalcore (in terms of the clean vocals)?

I think you might be getting your genres mixed up, as you pointed out.

Here's an example of metalcore:



Here's an example of melodic metalcore:



And here's an example of deathcore:



Now here's an example of pop punk:




I've heard all these bands before, I've never cared especially for bands like All Shall Perish and The Black Dahlia Murder, bands that some mates of mine enjoy occasionally, Converge is also one of them. I still can't stand them, people seem to think just because the band is less known then let's say, Killswitch Engage, it means it's good. I've listened to all these bands you've mentioned with Mr. Doctor, and I personally can't stand any of it, I like what I like. Why can't anyone just stop shoving this shit down my throat?
Troy Killjoy - 19.06.2012 at 18:11  
Written by Moosh666 on 19.06.2012 at 18:06
I still can't stand them, people seem to think just because the band is less known then let's say, Killswitch Engage, it means it's good.

I've listened to all these bands you've mentioned with Mr. Doctor, and I personally can't stand any of it, I like what I like. Why can't anyone just stop shoving this shit down my throat?

Again, you seem to focus on the popularity of a band rather than the sound. The purpose of the videos was pointing out the differences in sound, not to "force shit down your throat". I don't even like any of those tracks myself, with the exception of Converge, but I was trying to illustrate a point. My apologies for trying to oppress you with knowledge. Carry on.
Moosh666 - 19.06.2012 at 18:16  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 19.06.2012 at 18:11

Written by Moosh666 on 19.06.2012 at 18:06
I still can't stand them, people seem to think just because the band is less known then let's say, Killswitch Engage, it means it's good.

I've listened to all these bands you've mentioned with Mr. Doctor, and I personally can't stand any of it, I like what I like. Why can't anyone just stop shoving this shit down my throat?

Again, you seem to focus on the popularity of a band rather than the sound. The purpose of the videos was pointing out the differences in sound, not to "force shit down your throat". I don't even like any of those tracks myself, with the exception of Converge, but I was trying to illustrate a point. My apologies for trying to oppress you with knowledge. Carry on.


Sorry I got kind of overwhelmed, I get bugged too much by some mates to listen to Black Dahlia, Converge, All Shall Perish, etc even though I've already heard them a million times before and told the pricks that I don't like them. Knowledge however is my favourite food
Boxcar Willy - 19.06.2012 at 19:07  
Really good deathcore = Despised Icon



That is all.
kesh - 23.06.2012 at 10:49  
Tend to download before i buy, wish i hadnt bothered. Bunch of french canadians gone mad. 2/10.

Theyve never even got close to there first album, None So Vile
Moosh666 - 03.11.2012 at 17:12  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 19.06.2012 at 19:07

Really good deathcore = Despised Icon



That is all.


Agreed, Despised Icon have their moments and are definitely a major cut above the rest.
Maco - 11.11.2013 at 23:34  
I'll try this.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 2 [3]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Cryptopsy - The Unspoken King 8.5 22.04.2008 by Clint W.
Albums Cryptopsy - The Unspoken King 7.5 10.02.2010 by elekctric
Reviews Ihsahn - The Adversary 4.5 29.05.2006 by Slaytanic1
Reviews The Legion - A Bliss To Suffer 4.5 05.05.2009 by silenius
Reviews Demons And Wizards - Touched By The Crimson King 4 27.04.2010 by Uirapuru



Hits total: 12470 | This month: 99