Warbringer - War Without End review



Reviewer:
8.0

188 users:
8.15
Band: Warbringer
Album: War Without End
Release date: February 2008


01. Total War
02. Systematic Genocide
03. Dread Command
04. Hell On Earth
05. At The Crack Of Doom
06. Beneath The Waves
07. Instruments Of Torture
08. Shoot To Kill
09. Born Of The Ruins
10. Combat Shock
11. A Dead Current
12. Onslaught [US vinyl edition bonus]


Warbringer's debut album is thrash metal at its best. With fast crunchy guitar riffs, awesome screaming vocals (kinda like Exodus'), amazing guitar solos, and great drumming. The whole war theme isn't too original, but what better to write music about? From playing Manowar covers in their garage, to touring the world; Warbringer brings new life to Thrash Metal.

With the sound of soldiers marching, then artillery firing, sirens going off, the war mood is greatly set with opener "Total War". It sounds like the audio of Empire Earth during a battle. This song is a great starter because the band is properly introduced. A mini drum solo in the beginning, the guitars then finally vocalist.

If your looking for something "experimental" then search somewhere else, cause these guys read the Thrash Metal rules, followed them, and made an awesome album. These guys have relentless guitar riffs, they remind me of Exodus alot (These guys remind me of Exodus alot). Their drums are there, but nothing special really. The vocals are amazing, though by the sound of it I doubt he'll have his vocals for very long. And the bass is almost indistinguishable from the thrashing carnage. This album has almost no slow parts, I can't say none at all but they are definitely rare. And when they do have slow parts, they make sure to follow that up with something that'll make you forget the slow part was even there! These guys are fresh out of the garage, they love Thrash Metal, so enjoy Thrashers! "PREPARE FOR COMBAT SHOCK!"... Love that line.

Recommended songs: Total War, Combat Shock, Shoot To Kill.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 6
Production: 9

Written by DoomGuard | 15.06.2008


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments

Comments: 7   Visited by: 129 users
22.06.2008 - 15:25
Syk
myspace/bonerama
I'd dock a couple points for performance and songwriting, possibly the production, and of course the overall rating. They certainly aren't like old Metallica in the way of thinking through the direction of their songs. I much prefer Dekapitator's release from last year, The Storm before the Calm. Way more memorable.

The material here is a bit sloppy so if you only like tight thrash, this is probably one to avoid.
----
death thrash death/doom/prog Hail Zoldon!

he's not the kind you have to wind up on Sundays
Loading...
22.06.2008 - 16:13
SlaytallicA
Lycanthropy
I've saw then live and they're ok! And the album is a good thrash one.
----
One Pound Of Flesh, No More No Less, No Cartilage, No Bones, But Only Flesh...
Loading...
13.08.2008 - 08:18
Demonmayonnaise
I enjoy this album alot actually. Its really good to see thrash making a comeback.
Loading...
28.10.2008 - 19:03
iaberis
Advice Troll
Not bad at all
----
Bitch! Please
Loading...
18.03.2009 - 18:44
Paradox0
Unasuming Madnes
Prettyy bland album. As generic of thrash as I could think of. I REALLY don't get the big deal about this album. Now Bonded by Blood's self titled debut (also released in 08) THATS a modern thrash masterpiece.
Loading...
07.08.2009 - 12:21
Daggon
Underpaid M.D.
Written by Paradox0 on 18.03.2009 at 18:44

Prettyy bland album. As generic of thrash as I could think of. I REALLY don't get the big deal about this album. Now Bonded by Blood's self titled debut (also released in 08) THATS a modern thrash masterpiece.


I think almost the same about Bonded By Blood, "War Without End" its not pretty bland as you said, but I think that "Feed The Beast" by BBB is better that the aforementioned album.
----
"Les vers savent qu'ils n'ont pas d'ailes, c'est pour cela qu'ils se cachent sous terre"

Loading...
07.08.2009 - 18:38
Paradox0
Unasuming Madnes
Written by Daggon on 07.08.2009 at 12:21

Written by Paradox0 on 18.03.2009 at 18:44

Prettyy bland album. As generic of thrash as I could think of. I REALLY don't get the big deal about this album. Now Bonded by Blood's self titled debut (also released in 08) THATS a modern thrash masterpiece.


I think almost the same about Bonded By Blood, "War Without End" its not pretty bland as you said, but I think that "Feed The Beast" by BBB is better that the aforementioned album.


Aactually I meant to say Feed the Beast. I really have no idea why I keep on thinking its a self titled album. Either way, yeah, FTB is one of my favourite releasers of 08.
Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 4690 | This month: 11