Rating:
4.5
Airbourne - Runnin' Wild
23 June 2007


Disc I
01. Stand Up for Rock 'n' Roll
02. Runnin' Wild
03. Too Much, Too Young, Too Fast
04. Diamond In The Rough
05. Fat City
06. Blackjack
07. What's Eatin' You
08. Girls in Black
09. Cheap Wine & Cheaper Women
10. Heartbreaker

Bonus tracks:
11. Hellfire [American, Australian & New Zealand bonus]
12. Let's Ride [Japanese, Australian & New Zealand bonus]
13. Dirty Angel [Japanese bonus]
14. Heads Are Gonna Roll
15. Hotter Than Hell
16. Red Dress Woman
17. Stand and Deliver

Disc II [Limited Edition bonus DVD]
Wacken Open Air 2008:
01. Hellfire
02. Fat City
03. What's Eatin' You
04. Girls in Black
05. Cheap Wine and Cheaper Women
06. Heartbreaker
07. Blackjack
08. Runnin' Wild

Music Videos:
09. Runnin' Wild
10. Too Much, Too Young, Too Fast
11. Diamond in the Rough


AC/DC is one of those iconic bands that so many aspiring musicians want to be, spawning many generic knock-off acts, but I have yet to come across one so devoid of any originality or personality as Airbourne. Angus Young is going to sue somebody.

Ok, so this album isn't 100% terrible. The production is really well done, with great mixing. The musicians seem actually very capable with plenty of skill, possibly even better than their obvious heroes. The vocals are quite impressive as well, despite the fact it's a very small range of "Angry Brian Johnson" to "Party-time Brian Johnson". Even though giving this album your undivided attention is absolute murder, I can see how it might fit well as generic background music for a party - which I can imagine would make this band a very fun live experience, but unfortunately nothing more.

The bad side of the album is quite obvious. Not only is the overall sound completely unoriginal, but the riffs themselves have been cut-and-paste boogie blues rock, almost note for note from various songs already written by Angus Young. The lyrics are just as horribly cloned as every other aspect of the album, songs like 'What's Eatin' You', 'Blackjack', and 'Diamond In The Rough', are all the regular predictable puns for various sexual exploits, as well as that phony rock n roll sentimentality that got stale by "Ballbreaker".

I guess it's not that this album is unlistenable, but rather that there is absolutely no reason to listen to this album, seeing as most people already own an AC/DC album anyways. The previously mentioned ridiculous rock n roll sentimentality that once sounded genuine is completely put to death by this plastic atrocity of an album, to the point where it almost comes across as hypocritical. Would I recommend this album? Certainly not, it's a complete waste of talent, money, shelf space, and the materials it was made out of.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 2
Originality: 2
Production: 8


Band profile: Airbourne
Album: Runnin' Wild


 


written by Doc Godin | 15.03.2009


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 12  
Users visited: 119  
Search this topic:  


Valentin B - 16.03.2009 at 09:35  
Lol this review wasn't pointless, at least you made me put on "For Those About to Rock"
deadhead - 22.04.2009 at 16:38  
Spot on review and my sentiments exactly. Not unlistenable but why needed?
wrath_hearth - 04.06.2009 at 13:51  
You set song writing at the minimum.in my feeling that is not the weak and disappointing ... that was very easy song that brain take the riffe and melody so easy.
this meanning art.very easy song.just like 1980.& just like
09. Cheap Wine & Cheaper Women
Doc Godin - 28.10.2009 at 12:10  
Written by wrath_hearth on 04.06.2009 at 13:51

You set song writing at the minimum.in my feeling that is not the weak and disappointing ... that was very easy song that brain take the riffe and melody so easy.
this meanning art.very easy song.just like 1980.& just like
09. Cheap Wine & Cheaper Women

Art is creative expression, there is absolutely nothing creative about this album, nothing at all.
Dominus - 05.03.2010 at 16:38  
100% AC/DC sound!
0% Originality
0% Personality
ja-vi - 28.12.2010 at 18:37  
I absolutely love this album. Every time I hear it my hand starts looking for a beer

In my opinion this definitely beats the living shit out of AC/DC.
JohnDoe - 28.12.2010 at 18:50  
What do you know, an AC/DC clone.

listened a little bit on myspace.

This does not beat the shit out of nothing and especially not AC/DC.

listen to Powerage or Let there be rock... and open a bottle of beer with it.
Marcel Hubregtse - 30.12.2010 at 17:49  
Written by JohnDoe on 28.12.2010 at 18:50

What do you know, an AC/DC clone.

listened a little bit on myspace.

This does not beat the shit out of nothing and especially not AC/DC.

listen to Powerage or Let there be rock... and open a bottle of beer with it.


It does beat the shit out of anything after AC/DC's Back In Black easily.
JohnDoe - 30.12.2010 at 17:53  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 30.12.2010 at 17:49

Written by JohnDoe on 28.12.2010 at 18:50

What do you know, an AC/DC clone.

listened a little bit on myspace.

This does not beat the shit out of nothing and especially not AC/DC.

listen to Powerage or Let there be rock... and open a bottle of beer with it.


It does beat the shit out of anything after AC/DC's Back In Black easily.


the lack of originality is frustrating so the way I see it it's not even worth listening to them.
Marcel Hubregtse - 30.12.2010 at 17:54  
Written by JohnDoe on 30.12.2010 at 17:53

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 30.12.2010 at 17:49

Written by JohnDoe on 28.12.2010 at 18:50

What do you know, an AC/DC clone.

listened a little bit on myspace.

This does not beat the shit out of nothing and especially not AC/DC.

listen to Powerage or Let there be rock... and open a bottle of beer with it.


It does beat the shit out of anything after AC/DC's Back In Black easily.


the lack of originality is frustrating so the way I see it it's not even worth listening to them.



well, imo it is cause current AC/DC isn't worth listening to. But to be honest I prefer going to AC/DC's old albums instead, of course.
JohnDoe - 30.12.2010 at 17:58  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 30.12.2010 at 17:54

Written by JohnDoe on 30.12.2010 at 17:53

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 30.12.2010 at 17:49

Written by JohnDoe on 28.12.2010 at 18:50

What do you know, an AC/DC clone.

listened a little bit on myspace.

This does not beat the shit out of nothing and especially not AC/DC.

listen to Powerage or Let there be rock... and open a bottle of beer with it.


It does beat the shit out of anything after AC/DC's Back In Black easily.


the lack of originality is frustrating so the way I see it it's not even worth listening to them.



well, imo it is cause current AC/DC isn't worth listening to. But to be honest I prefer going to AC/DC's old albums instead, of course.


The last AC/DC albums lacked bite, but listening to a band like Airbourne is not the solution, so I agree, I listen to their old albums as well.
Marcel Hubregtse - 30.12.2010 at 18:06  
Written by JohnDoe on 30.12.2010 at 17:58

The last AC/DC albums lacked bite, but listening to a band like Airbourne is not the solution, so I agree, I listen to their old albums as well.


Actually, Airbourne is a band you don't want to listen to on album but want to see live.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Airbourne - Runnin' Wild 6 02.04.2010 by Chris Steele
Albums Airbourne - Black Dog Barking 3 10.06.2013 by NocturnalStalker
Reviews DragonForce - Inhuman Rampage 3 17.01.2008 by Paradox0
Reviews Tygers Of Pan Tang - Spellbound 3 17.03.2009 by DayFly
News Airbourne - Spanish Shows Postponed Due To Frontman's Illness 3 26.02.2010 by Lit.



Hits total: 3538 | This month: 43