Rating:
9.4
Nile - Annihilation Of The Wicked
23 May 2005


01. Dusk Falls Upon The Temple Of The Serpent On The Mount Of Sunrise
02. Cast Down The Heretic
03. Sacrifice Unto Sebek
04. User-Maat-Re
05. The Burning Pits Of The Duat
06. Chapter Of Obeisance Before Giving Breath To The Inert One In The Presence Of The Crescent-Shaped Horns
07. Lashed To The Slave Stick
08. Spawn Of Uamenti
09. Annihilation Of The Wicked
10. Von Unaussprechlichen Kulten
11. Sss Haa Set Yoth [Japanese bonus]


What else can be said about Nile? They are far greater than the average death metal band with how they manage to successfully combine raw brutality and technicality with melodic and doomy elements, all topped off with an Egyptian theme. Annihilation Of The Wicked is no exception. If for some reason you haven't heard Nile before, you're in for a treat. With Annihilation Of The Wicked, Nile has taken what they had done before, and improved upon it in every way.

With this album, the band has taken a big step forward as far as production goes. It is a lot clearer than their older albums, yet not overproduced. It keeps that raw brutality that was present in Nile's previous work, and also enhances the melodic aspects. The musicianship is also excellent. George Kollias is an exceptionally talented drummer with feet like Gatling guns, pumping those pedals 100 miles and hour, while maintaining incredible precision and not missing a beat. The guitar work of Dallas Toler-Wade and Karl Sanders is great as far as composition and writing riffs goes, but a lot of the solos are, as always, lacking substance. (If you've seen their "Betcha Can't Play This" videos, you'll know what I mean.) However their vocals are phenomenal. Dallas has a very distinctive vocal style, being able to spit out rapid-fire lyrics while maintaining an extremely low, guttural growl.

The songwriting incorporates the Egyptian theme more than ever. The lyrical content focuses on the mythology and culture of ancient Egypt while mixing in gore by describing torture and violent situations in great detail. Karl Sanders has an extensive knowledge of Egyptian mythology and sets an aura of wisdom upon this album with the lyrics. The acoustic and doomy intros have a very atmospheric feel to them. The first one of these, "Dusk Falls Upon The Temple Of The Serpent On The Mount Of Sunrise" sets the tone for the album, while leading into a brutal assault known as "Cast Down The Heretic". A few songs on this album are rather long, which is unusual for death metal. However they are very epic and powerful, and won't leave you bored, or waiting for them to end and move on.

If you're a death metal fan looking for something different, by all means check out this album. It and all of Nile's other work is very unique and original, and is definitely something different. In 15-20 years, I can see this album being recognized as a piece of classic death metal like Death's Scream Bloody Gore, or Morbid Angel's Altars Of Madness are presently. Overall, this album is one of my favorites and I highly recommend it.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 9


Band profile: Nile
Album: Annihilation Of The Wicked


 


written by danielllewis | 29.05.2009


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Passenger

Rating:
9.0
In such an over explored style like Death Metal it takes a really original and virtuous band to achieve success and project their name to the top of the fans' list of favourites right on their first album. But you just started to read a review about Nile, so you already know that they are unmatchable and dominate all their instruments with the most perfect chaotic precision; to expect the best is never a mistake. "Annihilation Of The Wicked" is their fourth strike, the follow up for the masterpiece "In Their Darkened Shrines", and, well, if there was a lot to be said about the past works there's probably even more to say about this one.

Read more ››
published 03.07.2005 | Comments (24)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 117  
Search this topic:  


Clint W. - 29.05.2009 at 02:52  
Being a fan, I'd say the rating is reasonable, though I probably would have rated it at a 9, but it's all subjective. You nailed it pretty well though. I though really enjoy the leads on this album. Not to mention, while overlooked, I think Karl's vocals are great and were lacking on their 2007 release. Good review.
Dangerboner - 29.05.2009 at 05:07  
Awesome album and nice review. But, I do disagree with the author saying that this album incorporates the Egyptian theme more than ever - I think the previous releases did more of that and this was as close as they got at that time to making a straight up death metal album.
Deadmeat - 29.05.2009 at 09:37  
Nice review for a great album. But i am not sure if this one is going to stay in history... nile have been innovative also in the past..
Vikingocalypse; - 30.05.2009 at 23:53  
I haven't heard this album (or I might have heard a few songs), but this review is really good, perfectly written. I'm curious why it's put up as a guest review. If a staff memebr is reading this comment right now I wish you can reply because I am curious of what makes a guest review a "guest review".
Deadmeat - 31.05.2009 at 00:07  
Written by Guest on 30.05.2009 at 23:53

I haven't heard this album (or I might have heard a few songs), but this review is really good, perfectly written. I'm curious why it's put up as a guest review. If a staff memebr is reading this comment right now I wish you can reply because I am curious of what makes a guest review a "guest review".

a guest review is a review writen by a non staff person.
Vikingocalypse; - 03.06.2009 at 00:00  
Written by Deadmeat on 31.05.2009 at 00:07

Written by Guest on 30.05.2009 at 23:53

I haven't heard this album (or I might have heard a few songs), but this review is really good, perfectly written. I'm curious why it's put up as a guest review. If a staff memebr is reading this comment right now I wish you can reply because I am curious of what makes a guest review a "guest review".

a guest review is a review writen by a non staff person.



oh...ok. One of my reviews didn't have it.
Deadmeat - 03.06.2009 at 00:32  
Written by Guest on 03.06.2009 at 00:00

Written by Deadmeat on 31.05.2009 at 00:07

Written by Guest on 30.05.2009 at 23:53

I haven't heard this album (or I might have heard a few songs), but this review is really good, perfectly written. I'm curious why it's put up as a guest review. If a staff memebr is reading this comment right now I wish you can reply because I am curious of what makes a guest review a "guest review".

a guest review is a review writen by a non staff person.



oh...ok. One of my reviews didn't have it.

yeah i've seen it and i guess it happens cause this is not an album but a documentary...
Vikingocalypse; - 03.06.2009 at 23:08  
Written by Deadmeat on 03.06.2009 at 00:32

Written by Guest on 03.06.2009 at 00:00

Written by Deadmeat on 31.05.2009 at 00:07

Written by Guest on 30.05.2009 at 23:53

I haven't heard this album (or I might have heard a few songs), but this review is really good, perfectly written. I'm curious why it's put up as a guest review. If a staff memebr is reading this comment right now I wish you can reply because I am curious of what makes a guest review a "guest review".

a guest review is a review writen by a non staff person.



oh...ok. One of my reviews didn't have it.

yeah i've seen it and i guess it happens cause this is not an album but a documentary...


you know I could swear that I have seen reviews written by non-staff members that were not classified as guest reviews

Whatever it doesn't matter, let's focus on this review and not go off topic. That gets frustrating to the writters.

Yeah it was a good review, congradulations Daniel. "thumb up"
Vikingocalypse; - 03.06.2009 at 23:08  
Written by Deadmeat on 03.06.2009 at 00:32

Written by Guest on 03.06.2009 at 00:00

Written by Deadmeat on 31.05.2009 at 00:07

Written by Guest on 30.05.2009 at 23:53

I haven't heard this album (or I might have heard a few songs), but this review is really good, perfectly written. I'm curious why it's put up as a guest review. If a staff memebr is reading this comment right now I wish you can reply because I am curious of what makes a guest review a "guest review".

a guest review is a review writen by a non staff person.



oh...ok. One of my reviews didn't have it.

yeah i've seen it and i guess it happens cause this is not an album but a documentary...


you know I could swear that I have seen reviews written by non-staff members that were not classified as guest reviews

Whatever it doesn't matter, let's focus on this review and not go off topic. That gets frustrating to the writters.

Yeah it was a good review, congradulations Daniel. "thumb up"
Uirapuru - 06.06.2009 at 21:59  
Quote:
A few songs on this album are rather long, which is unusual for death metal. However they are very epic and powerful, and won't leave you bored, or waiting for them to end and move on.


That is right. User-Maat-Re was the only song that bored me a little. But the other long songs are excellent. ''Von Unaussprechlichen Kulten'' rules
Deadmeat - 08.06.2009 at 18:22  
Written by Uirapuru on 06.06.2009 at 21:59

Quote:
A few songs on this album are rather long, which is unusual for death metal. However they are very epic and powerful, and won't leave you bored, or waiting for them to end and move on.


That is right. User-Maat-Re was the only song that bored me a little. But the other long songs are excellent. ''Von Unaussprechlichen Kulten'' rules

i agree about User-Maat-Re... it is a bit boring...
Ellrohir - 30.09.2009 at 10:59  
I started with this one...and it really got me into Nile...
INÆRIS - 22.10.2009 at 04:06  
So brutal! I love this album!!! And I also love how Karl Sanders is such an Egyptian history buff
MechanisT - 24.10.2010 at 16:43  
The video for "Sacrifice Unto Sebek" was how I was first introduced to the band...the first time I saw it, the feeling was like "Man, this shit is so brutal!". Times passed, things changed, but Sacrifice Unto Sebek is still my all-time favourite Death metal song ever.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Nile - Annihilation Of The Wicked 8.5 01.06.2006 by Stigmatized
Albums Nile - Annihilation Of The Wicked 7.5 13.07.2010 by derplo
Reviews Karnivore - In The Halls Of The Wicked 4 22.07.2014 by Lit.
Events FRA, Toulouse - Nile: Those Whom The Gods Detest European Tour 3 08.09.2009 by Ilham
Events USA, San Antonio - Nile: At The Gate Of Sethu North American Tour - Part III 3 12.05.2014 by Opethian



Hits total: 4133 | This month: 35