Rating:
9.0
Bonded By Blood - Feed The Beast
12 May 2008


01. Immortal Life
02. Feed The Beast
03. Psychotic Pulse
04. Necropsy
05. Mind Pollution
06. Another Disease
07. The Evil Within
08. Tormenting Voices
09. Civil Servant
10. Self Immolation
11. Vengeance
12. Theme From Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

[limited edition bonus CD]
01. Severe Violation
02. Unusual Punishment


As many people know, 2008 was a year which showed a strong Thrash revival. From critically acclaimed projects by big bands, to band reunions as well as an overall a surge of well received fresh meat, '08 could have been called "The Year of Thrash". While many of the better known break-through acts more or less regurgitated what their idols had done, this rather obscure quintuplet from California released a beast so ferocious it would rival even their own influences.

Feed the Beast can best be described as a crossover-thrash album (thrash and punk), but don't let the punk influence fool you into thinking that they play some kind of watered down, done-to-death Anthrax/Exodus tribute. Rather, they play thrash with one of the best balances between speed, heaviness and outright energy. If there was a way to describe them by comparing them to other bands, imagine the heaviness of Testament, the speed, aggression and uninhibited mindset of Slayer and perhaps similar vocal work to Anthrax, or Municipal Waste.

Eschewing acoustic passages or anything else thrash metal bands tend to use to make themselves more "sophisticated", Bonded by Blood go right for the jugular. All of the songs seem to hold a similar amount of high energy without ever taking a breather. Although this might seem like it would get boring after four or five tracks, it surprisingly doesn't, which is what makes this album so special. Each track just seems to utilize the formula from a different direction and consistently breathe new. Although songs like "Psychotic Pulse", "Self-Immolation" and "Necropsy" stand out above other songs; they only serve as a strong pulse to what is already a fast paced foray.

Needless to say, Feed the Beast does not go without its flaws. Perhaps going hand in hand with such an uninhibited approach to thrash, the lyrics are actually rather uninspired and unoriginal. The other negative about Feed the Beast is despite the awesome riffing, the solos are lacking and can barely be qualified as wankery.

Despite these flaws, Feed the Beast is still something of an "idiot-savant" as far as thrash goes. Although lacking the finesse of some of their predecessors and peers; it does what very few bands have managed to do. Although now rather obscure, word will surely spread of this young and explosive band due to what they've offered in this album.


Band profile: Bonded By Blood
Album: Feed The Beast


 


written by Paradox0 | 07.08.2009


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 7  
Users visited: 82  
Search this topic:  


Dangerboner - 10.08.2009 at 08:45  
This album kicks the shit out of Warbringer and Hirax. Nice review!
Daggon - 24.08.2009 at 07:27  
One of my favorite thrash albums from 2008, really good, so much energy for such a new band, their music is awesome, and I totally agree with the review, I like this one more than Warbringer's debut. I'm sure that the next album will be one of the biggest surprises in thrash metal if they keep this energy flowing.
Novas - 26.02.2010 at 01:30  
This is crossover thrash, like Municipal Waste. Warbringer is modern speed thrash, like Lazarus AD...ya cant really compare the two. Although a great debut, i dont care much for these type of thrash singers, too craggy. Id rather go for Warbringer's debut, even though the production sucks.
Paradox0 - 26.02.2010 at 02:37  
Written by Novas on 26.02.2010 at 01:30

This is crossover thrash, like Municipal Waste. Warbringer is modern speed thrash, like Lazarus AD...ya cant really compare the two. Although a great debut, i dont care much for these type of thrash singers, too craggy. Id rather go for Warbringer's debut, even though the production sucks.


Personally I find this album more energetic and entertaining than anything municipal or warbringer have done. Although Municipal's "Hazardous Mutation" was fun, it just didn't have enough distinctly good songs (aside from intro/deathripper). As for Warbringer, I've never really gotten into them. Although their latest is a step in the right direction, I've never really felt anything from them in the solo or rhythm department. Kind of disappointing, because their really hasn't been a great Thrash album in 2009 (as there was also Evile's "Enter the Grave" in 07). I've personally heard good things about Overkill's new album, so their might be hope for 2010 in thrash.
Novas - 26.02.2010 at 08:34  
Written by Paradox0 on 26.02.2010 at 02:37

Written by Novas on 26.02.2010 at 01:30

This is crossover thrash, like Municipal Waste. Warbringer is modern speed thrash, like Lazarus AD...ya cant really compare the two. Although a great debut, i dont care much for these type of thrash singers, too craggy. Id rather go for Warbringer's debut, even though the production sucks.


Personally I find this album more energetic and entertaining than anything municipal or warbringer have done. Although Municipal's "Hazardous Mutation" was fun, it just didn't have enough distinctly good songs (aside from intro/deathripper). As for Warbringer, I've never really gotten into them. Although their latest is a step in the right direction, I've never really felt anything from them in the solo or rhythm department. Kind of disappointing, because their really hasn't been a great Thrash album in 2009 (as there was also Evile's "Enter the Grave" in 07). I've personally heard good things about Overkill's new album, so their might be hope for 2010 in thrash.



Warbringer is now one of my favorite thrash bands. Ive heard their "One By One, the Wicked Fall" EP & '01 "Born of the Ruins" demo, i think the demo is the best they got, besides their second album "Waking Into Nightmares". Im picky when it comes to how a singer sings. Crossover thrash just doesnt cut it for, its why i dont listen to Municipal Waste, Hirax, Fueled By Fire...Bonded By Blood is pushing it, but at least they sound good & Fueled By Fire is alright, they need another album though
Holy Man - 24.08.2010 at 00:17  
Written by Novas on 26.02.2010 at 08:34

Written by Paradox0 on 26.02.2010 at 02:37

Written by Novas on 26.02.2010 at 01:30

This is crossover thrash, like Municipal Waste. Warbringer is modern speed thrash, like Lazarus AD...ya cant really compare the two. Although a great debut, i dont care much for these type of thrash singers, too craggy. Id rather go for Warbringer's debut, even though the production sucks.


Personally I find this album more energetic and entertaining than anything municipal or warbringer have done. Although Municipal's "Hazardous Mutation" was fun, it just didn't have enough distinctly good songs (aside from intro/deathripper). As for Warbringer, I've never really gotten into them. Although their latest is a step in the right direction, I've never really felt anything from them in the solo or rhythm department. Kind of disappointing, because their really hasn't been a great Thrash album in 2009 (as there was also Evile's "Enter the Grave" in 07). I've personally heard good things about Overkill's new album, so their might be hope for 2010 in thrash.



Warbringer is now one of my favorite thrash bands. Ive heard their "One By One, the Wicked Fall" EP & '01 "Born of the Ruins" demo, i think the demo is the best they got, besides their second album "Waking Into Nightmares". Im picky when it comes to how a singer sings. Crossover thrash just doesnt cut it for, its why i dont listen to Municipal Waste, Hirax, Fueled By Fire...Bonded By Blood is pushing it, but at least they sound good & Fueled By Fire is alright, they need another album though


Yes definitely. Fueled by Fire's next album is done from what I can tell... just not released yet... which is fuckin gay... I love ALL this shit. Warbringer, BBB, FBF, Municipal Waste... all great thrash bands. I think this album definitely kicks some serious ass, as does their second album.
Apothecary - 26.07.2011 at 01:16  
How is BBB crossover thrash? Perhaps I'm missing something here, but I hear little to no punk influence in their music.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Bonded By Blood - Feed The Beast 9 06.04.2010 by Growing
Reviews Bonded By Blood - The Aftermath 7 03.10.2012 by Apothecary
News Bonded By Blood - To Enter The Studio 6 06.02.2012 by Cynic Metalhead
Albums Bonded By Blood - The Aftermath 6 30.06.2012 by S.K.Ø.M
News Bonded By Blood - New Video Online 4.5 25.08.2010 by Arian Totalis



Hits total: 3541 | This month: 2