Rating:
7.5
Vader - Necropolis
21 August 2009


01. Devilizer
02. Rise Of The Undead
03. Never Say My Name [Feat. Marek Paj¹k]
04. Blast
05. The Seal
06. Dark Heart
07. Impure
08. Summoning The Futura
09. Anger [Feat. Marek Paj¹k]
10. We Are Horde
11. When The Sun Drowns In Dark [Feat. Marek Paj¹k]
12. Black Metal [Venom cover] [Feat. Bart Krysiuk] [digipack bonus]
13. Fight Fire With Fire [Metallica cover] [Feat. Maciej Taff] [digipack bonus]

Bonus DVD
01. Crucified Ones
02. Black To The Blind
03. The Epitaph
04. Carnal
05. Wings
06. This Is The War
07. Lead Us


Vader, that stick in the mud of death metal. Necropolis is the title given to the latest gathering of recordings sent our way from Poland, and is the first album with the completely new line-up hired by Peter to do his bidding. This is full-length album number nine, Peter is certainly no stranger to what it takes to create a great death metal album and so you would expect this offering to be no different.

And that is just what it is. The new band have exactly the same Vader-sound as all those past records, Peter is himself once more, and the album is yet another crushing block of rampaging death as we would come to expect from something with the Vader name on it.

Necropolis is a short album, clocking in just over half an hour, and the songs seem shorter than usual too. This isn't a problem however as long as jabs like the one minute-fifty seconds "Blast" continue to do what they say on the tin. "Never Say My Name" is also an awesomely good two-minute track with an inexplicably evil edge that Vader has never shown before.

In general Necropolis has the usual chugging fast pace of some evil war machine engine doing its work, although "Impure" does drag the pace of the album down somewhat, as does the blatant filler tracks "The Seal" and "Summoning The Futura". On the whole though, the majority of this album is great material with plenty of the usual trademark Vader blastbeats, guitar work and dry vocals.

Truth is, everyone already knows Vader, and that means everyone will already know this album. Necropolis provides nothing new to the listener at all, but then again did we really expect it to? Or better yet, did we want it to? This is Peter, or Vader, doing its thing in his traditional solid way, and no one can argue against that. Necropolis gives us no surprises, but we didn't want it to now, did we.

-

Death metal
Nuclear Blast
Poland
Length: 33:27

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 6
Production: 8


Band profile: Vader
Album: Necropolis


 



Written on 27.08.2009 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 15  
Users visited: 260  
Search this topic:  


Biedrik - 27.08.2009 at 18:44  
Good review. I generally agree with you. Vader really doesn't provide anything that's new when it comes to style. The only real shift in Vader's sound over the years has been the tone of Peter's growl.
terrorist - 27.08.2009 at 22:47  
Yeah you;re right something is missing on this album.It is standard Vader sound and everything but originality is way down comparing this album to Immpresion in Blood or the Beast.
danielllewis - 28.08.2009 at 03:27  
Wow, metalstorm has a review of this before metal-archives.

Anyways, I never knew that they had a completely new line-up aside from Peter. After hearing that, and this review in general, I don't think I'll be getting this album.
Daggon - 28.08.2009 at 05:48  
At first listen I thought "Why Vader, why?", sincerely I found it disappointing, but after listening to the album with my total attention I found it good, not outstanding, just good. "Impressions In Blood" was a killer album, it blew up my mind, I loved the way Daray abused the use of blast beats and how they managed to pull those killer riffs and guitar soli in a way they never did before (at least IMO). That said, I just can say that even if this album has some cool songs, it lacks of "something", don't get me wrong, Vader is Vader, and that means IMO quality in Death Metal.
BTW I love the Venom cover, Peter's voice fills perfectly.
Elio - 28.08.2009 at 13:57  
Same thing as Behemoth's new album, generic uninspired ear-raping, yawn.
whitepawel - 28.08.2009 at 16:48  
Written by Elio on 28.08.2009 at 13:57

Same thing as Behemoth's new album, generic uninspired ear-raping, yawn.


It's sad but I must agree...
(I'm polish)
enumaelis - 28.08.2009 at 17:33  
Written by whitepawel on 28.08.2009 at 16:48

Written by Elio on 28.08.2009 at 13:57

Same thing as Behemoth's new album, generic uninspired ear-raping, yawn.


It's sad but I must agree...
(I'm polish)

+1
Sunioj - 28.08.2009 at 18:06  
No way, this album is not nearly as epic as Behemoth's Evangelion! It just sounds like filler from their old albums.
SlaytallicA - 02.09.2009 at 14:36  
This is a typical Vader album and I like it that way! 8.5...
In Bone Factory - 03.09.2009 at 13:29  
I like itn e way.its cool dudes.
BudDa - 11.09.2009 at 15:31  
Written by Daggon on 28.08.2009 at 05:48

At first listen I thought "Why Vader, why?", sincerely I found it disappointing, but after listening to the album with my total attention I found it good, not outstanding, just good. "Impressions In Blood" was a killer album, it blew up my mind, I loved the way Daray abused the use of blast beats and how they managed to pull those killer riffs and guitar soli in a way they never did before (at least IMO). That said, I just can say that even if this album has some cool songs, it lacks of "something", don't get me wrong, Vader is Vader, and that means IMO quality in Death Metal.
BTW I love the Venom cover, Peter's voice fills perfectly.



I do agree with you esp with Daray. I loved the way he varied his drumming in Art of War and Impressions in Blood. His blast beats were superb. I thot he was a keeper. I also thot he was a natural replacement for Doc(RIP). Anyway, hes not in here and to me..something on Necropolis just doesn't click. I give it an 8 though
Uirapuru - 16.11.2009 at 07:42  
Quote:
Vader, that stick in the mud of death metal.


Baz, it looked like you would start a poem with that sentence.

Sounding the same old Vader of always. Fine by me, its just the way I like.

''When The Sun Drowns In Dark'' was a nice 7minutes surprise (actually 4 minutes, but whatever...) Too bad the album is too short. If it wasnt for the cover songs, it would only be 11 songs in 30 minutes.
Dangerboner - 16.11.2009 at 08:08  
Good review. It's sad when the best songs are covers
Deadmeat - 04.12.2010 at 17:19  
Good review but i think that you could compare this album with the previous for example when Vader is "the same Vader" as you say but Impressions In Blood is much MUCH better. this one is a bit boring. i really (i mean a lot) like only 1 song, Never Say My Name. and rise of the undead is a motherfucking COPY-PASTE of Black To The Blind. i am unhappy and disappointed from Vader after this one. they could do a lot better.
no energy here...
DavidSESilva - 20.04.2011 at 16:33  
I sugest you guys that feel disapointed give it a few more spins.
I felt the same way but somehow i can't stop listening to it and find it to be more memorable than Impressions and the Beast. It has a distinct Evil Thrash Old School feel that the others lacked I think.
Vader Kills... Once again

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Lock Up - Necropolis Transparent 6 12.06.2011 by Deadmeat
Reviews Splattered Mermaids - Stench Of Flesh 4.5 09.04.2009 by Xnoybis
Reviews Children Of Bodom - Skeletons In The Closet 4.5 14.10.2009 by
Reviews Communic - Payment Of Existence 4.5 02.06.2008 by White Winter Sun
Reviews Inimical - Lambs To The Slaughter 4.5 31.08.2007 by



Hits total: 7318 | This month: 48