Rating:
8.0
WildeStarr - Arrival
1 August 2009


01. Rose in the Dark
02. Arrival
03. Touching God
04. Rise
05. Down of the Sun
06. In this World
07. Generation Next
08. Nevermore
09. Voice in the Silence
10. The Chain


Judas Priest, Helstar, Vicious Rumors and Wolf. Try to imagine whatever associations these names stir in you with a female vocalist. Unusual as it may sound at first, it's exactly what exceptional vocalist London Wilde and Dave Starr, wellknown for his bass-work in the aforementioned Vicious Rumors as well as Laaz Rockit, Destillery and Chastain, do.

Of course pure and uncontaminated US power metal is the name of the game and Mr. Starr knows how to play it. Riff after powerful riff is blown on to the listener while Wilde's shrieks soar overhead, overshadowing most male heavy metal singers in the process. For connoisseurs of the genre it soon becomes obvious that the duo has created a few really exceptional songs. There however also lies the rub. While some tracks are close to heavy metal masterpieces, a few others are completely forgettable altogether. To be blunt, the slightly balladesque moments of the album bore me and while there are many amazing riffs on it, a fair amount of filler-riffs have found their way on it as well.

All in all the album isn't a complete masterpiece, however it definitely holds its own against most of the new and young heavy metal bands, experience seems to pay off after all. Dave managed to live up to his legacy, while the extraordinary voice of London Wilde (although she might still want to work on her ballad singing-style) has been unleashed on to the greater metal audience.

Arrival is a rock-solid debut and it would be a crime for any US power metalhead not to pick up this disc.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 6
Production: 6


Band profile: WildeStarr
Album: Arrival


 


written by Bas | 28.09.2009



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 12  
Users visited: 42  
Search this topic:  


Bas - 02.10.2009 at 15:57  
Just noticed that this is my 100. review =D
hard_tom - 09.10.2009 at 21:03  
What a debut ! Ms. vocalist sounds like Ralf Scheepers and the guitars are heavy as hell. What want metalheads more? I love unoriginality like this. Ten points !
DayFly - 18.10.2009 at 18:24  
I've been thinking about picking this one up. I heard Wilde's vocals make the whole thing sound somewhat gothic and flowery, something I don't like too much, I'm afraid. Do "soaring shrieks" mean I can give it a shot?
Bas - 18.10.2009 at 18:50  
Written by DayFly on 18.10.2009 at 18:24

I heard Wilde's vocals make the whole thing sound somewhat gothic and flowery, something I don't like too much, I'm afraid.


Gothic and flowery? Not at all. Don't worry, you can pick it up
The Shape 1973 - 10.11.2009 at 17:22  
If Rob Halford wasn't... you know.... then if he married this vocalist the children would wail pure steel.
Marcel Hubregtse - 10.11.2009 at 17:43  
I find it funny that everyone keeps mentioning Dave Starr's basswork in Laaz Rockit when in fact he hasn't recorded a thing with them.
Let me guess... that about Laaz Rockit was in the accompanying bio?
Bas - 10.11.2009 at 18:21  
Written by The Shape 1973 on 10.11.2009 at 17:22

If Rob Halford wasn't... you know.... then if he married this vocalist the children would wail pure steel.

Lol, that made me laugh
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 10.11.2009 at 17:43

I find it funny that everyone keeps mentioning Dave Starr's basswork in Laaz Rockit when in fact he hasn't recorded a thing with them.
Let me guess... that about Laaz Rockit was in the accompanying bio?

Indeed, according to the bio he played on the Prelude To Death EP in 1983
Marcel Hubregtse - 10.11.2009 at 18:31  
Written by Bas on 10.11.2009 at 18:21

Indeed, according to the bio he played on the Prelude To Death EP in 1983


EP? Wow, that's hilarious calling a demo cassette an EP. What some artists try do to give themselves some sort of credibility. And well-known for his short stint with Laaz? mmmm, extremely debatable. Willy Langenhuizen/Lange will always be remembered as the defining bass player of Laaz Rockit.
But, damn I was wrong Dave Starr did record something with Laaz Rockit, but then again nothing of note.
Derwood - 10.11.2009 at 19:33  
Another review I seem to have overlooked. I had to check this band out after reading it, and the comments. I'm not normally a fan of female vocalists, but holy shit does this woman have some power. If "Rise" doesn't kick your ass, you must not have an ass to kick.

Written by The Shape 1973 on 10.11.2009 at 17:22

If Rob Halford wasn't... you know.... then if he married this vocalist the children would wail pure steel.


Perhaps a sperm donation could be arranged. Oh, and I'm making that my signature.
The Shape 1973 - 10.11.2009 at 20:55  
Written by Derwood on 10.11.2009 at 19:33

Another review I seem to have overlooked. I had to check this band out after reading it, and the comments. I'm not normally a fan of female vocalists, but holy shit does this woman have some power. If "Rise" doesn't kick your ass, you must not have an ass to kick.

Written by The Shape 1973 on 10.11.2009 at 17:22

If Rob Halford wasn't... you know.... then if he married this vocalist the children would wail pure steel.


Perhaps a sperm donation could be arranged. Oh, and I'm making that my signature.

Its all yours, enjoy.
She really does have a massive voice.
Dave Starr - 10.11.2009 at 21:16  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 10.11.2009 at 18:31

Written by Bas on 10.11.2009 at 18:21

Indeed, according to the bio he played on the Prelude To Death EP in 1983


EP? Wow, that's hilarious calling a demo cassette an EP. What some artists try do to give themselves some sort of credibility. And well-known for his short stint with Laaz? mmmm, extremely debatable. Willy Langenhuizen/Lange will always be remembered as the defining bass player of Laaz Rockit.
But, damn I was wrong Dave Starr did record something with Laaz Rockit, but then again nothing of note.



As I recall, we sold 500 of those cassette tapes. Not bad for an unsigned band back in the day. I added that to my BIO, since it is where I got my start and people do still ask me about it. IMO, that EP/Tape sucks anyway and I am sure the other guys would say the same thing if you asked them. I certainly don't need the LR referance for credibility since I went on the far bigger and better things in my career.

Thanks to everyone here for the kind words!!

GT - 13.11.2009 at 13:51  
I'll be checking this album out. Sounds interesting

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews No Remorse No Retreat - To Glory We Ride 3 20.12.2008 by Doc Godin
Reviews Post Traumatic Stress Disorder - Burepolom 3 03.02.2009 by Elio
Reviews 3x0 - Silver 3 11.06.2009 by Lily_Lazer
Reviews Kna'an - First Impressions 3 02.11.2009 by MeloDeathViking
Reviews Whyzdom - Daughter Of The Night 3 26.03.2008 by Lily_Lazer



Hits total: 4209 | This month: 39