Rapture - Silent Stage review



Reviewer:
9.0

122 users:
8.51
Band: Rapture
Album: Silent Stage
Release date: March 2005


01. Misery 24/7
02. The Past Nightmares
03. I Am Complete
04. For The Ghosts Of Our Time
05. Silent Chrysalis Stage
06. Dreaming Of Oblivion
07. The Times We Bled
08. Cold On My Side
09. Completion


This is turning to be one of the best years for Metal, one great release after another and Rapture is no exception, this is an absolutely killer album. But first let me tell you a little about the band in case you haven't heard about them. This is the third album of these Finns, previous album 2002's "Songs For The Withering" was praised by press worldwide, they were compared with Paradise Lost and Katatonia ("Brave Murder Day" era), comparisons not far from the truth.

The band relies in catchy melodies countered by gloomy passages, clear vocals versus guttural vocals. The whole Cd is a duel between relaxed, melodic parts and slow melancholic sections. Think it as Melodic Death Metal meets Doom.

The album starts shredding apart your ears with "Misery 24/7" a powerful track with great vocals (only guttural on this one), the main lead of the song is really catchy, whether is fast or slow paced… depending on the moment. Next is "The Past Nightmares" a killer song, here is where you'll hear the clean vocals for the first time, and they're totally amazing, the song starts fast and aggressive and then becomes really paused and melancholic and then again speeds things up, a beautiful contrast.

"I Am Complete" is the most accessible song for general audiences, (I'm not using the term "commercial") is a great song and there's a big chance that your non-Metal friends will like it. "For The Ghosts Of Our Time" is an instrumental track, while "Silent Chrysalis Stage" is a Melodeath song with some gloomy clear passages, "Dreaming Of Oblivion" is a song with many tempo changes and again great vocals (both harsh and clean).
"The Times We Bleed" and "Cold On My Side" follow the same line that previous songs, while closer "Completion" is truly a Doom song, pounding slow rhythms grant a perfect ending for this masterpiece.

Definitively this album will please Metalheads from all genres, if you like Death Metal, you'll like this, if you like Doom, get this! even if you like Gothic Metal try this one. Rapture has created truly something for everyone here, hope this album marks the beginning of Rapture's career, because after 3 albums is time to get out of the shadows

Written by Undercraft | 09.03.2005


 


Comments

Comments: 9   Visited by: 158 users
04.01.2008 - 17:03
Infurnace
I was really impressed by this album. It is really melancholic, yet heavy. The clean vocals here are very beautiful.
Loading...
12.12.2008 - 01:43
Vitriolic Hate
Chaos Reaper
Very good album, melancholic clean vocals & awesome brutal vocals!
Loading...
01.02.2009 - 18:25
Deadmeat
Necrobutcher
I read the review and heard some songs on their myspace and i'm sure that this album deserves a try!!!
----
Υou've sold your human essence to the cold world of dead and empty things... You're SOLD!
Loading...
06.10.2009 - 22:29
Deadmeat
Necrobutcher
So after this try, i have to say that this album is excellent!!
----
Υou've sold your human essence to the cold world of dead and empty things... You're SOLD!
Loading...
07.10.2009 - 09:45
Jason W.
Razorbliss
Written by Deadmeat on 06.10.2009 at 22:29

So after this try, i have to say that this album is excellent!!

Ahh, great to hear someone else enjoys this album too

I'm still entranced by some of the lyrics on this album, now 4 years later. As one of the lines in "Silent Chrysalis Stage" says: "Will you embrace this apathy? Would you cherish the melody when silence is golden?" I think the best thing about Rapture is their ability to remain warm and fragile, yet cold and silent at once.
----
"After silence that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music." - Aldous Huxley
Loading...
07.10.2009 - 19:24
Deadmeat
Necrobutcher
Written by Jason W. on 07.10.2009 at 09:45

Written by Deadmeat on 06.10.2009 at 22:29

So after this try, i have to say that this album is excellent!!

Ahh, great to hear someone else enjoys this album too

I'm still entranced by some of the lyrics on this album, now 4 years later. As one of the lines in "Silent Chrysalis Stage" says: "Will you embrace this apathy? Would you cherish the melody when silence is golden?" I think the best thing about Rapture is their ability to remain warm and fragile, yet cold and silent at once.

that's true. the lyrics of this album are awesome!
----
Υou've sold your human essence to the cold world of dead and empty things... You're SOLD!
Loading...
08.10.2009 - 21:23
InnerSelf
proofread free
This is their best
great clean vocals and great growls
the lyrics also are something very good
a good album overall
----
He who is not bold enough
to be stared at from across the abyss
is not bold enough
to stare into it himself.
Loading...
06.05.2010 - 14:32
Justicelust
Greatest melancholic album ever.
The clean vocal is awesome, I havent heared any clean vocal talented like this one. Can someone please tell me whether he sings for any other band or not.
Loading...
20.09.2010 - 12:21
lord artan
Very beautiful album...And the vocals are pleasant...and is strong allophone...i love this melancholic album
Loading...

Hits total: 6862 | This month: 26