Rating:
N/A
Blut Aus Nord - 777 - Sect(s)
18 April 2011


01. Epitome I
02. Epitome II
03. Epitome III
04. Epitome IV
05. Epitome V
06. Epitome VI


Whilst Blut Aus Nord have never quite garnered the anticipation that French contemporaries Deathspell Omega have, there has been a palpable sense of wanting for this particular release ever since the numbers "777" were uttered feck-knows how long ago after being touted as an industrialised follow up of sorts to The Work Which Transforms God and that really long, nonsensical named EP. After a lengthy wait further promises were made confirming these notions, as well as quashing any ideas that 777 would be a spin off band rather than merely another side to BaN, the final product, 777 Sect(s), has brought with it both familiarity and surprises.

To be frank this is a mixture of practically every BaN record since TWWTG: the brutality of Liber I and TWWTG; the strange electronic dub from Thematic (at the end of "Epitome 1"); a few keyboard atmospherics from MVII and a whole barrel load of the snaking dissonance seen in MoRT. The production is far punchier, the drums brought forward into the mix and the drum machine itself are complimentary to the sterile tones the band is known for whilst still making room for the rich atonal barrages of the rest of the music. I actually feel sorry for the guitars used to record this. I can only assume Vindsval must have bent and stretched and contorted the strings within an inch of their short little lives to get the dissonance present here. It is not for the faint of heart.

"Epitome 2" serves as the record's "Procession Of The Dead Clowns" and is largely successful in recapturing what made that song so magical: the deathly epic, winding guitar groans conveying total finality, even if it is misplaced within the track listing. The record's finisher, "Epitome 6", a superbly confident and trawling industrial number, should have been in its place whilst "2" should have ended the record. In between these two tracks is the slow (for the most part) bludgeoning 12-minuter "Epitome 4" whilst the rest of the "Epitomes" comprise the absurdly technical and discordant meat of 777 Sect(s), with God-knows what else crammed in with it.

It's just missing a certain something, but not in the traditional way you might expect. Everything that's here is stellar, it covers more ground than most bands do in a whole career, but smashing it into 45 minutes was a mistake and it's in need of extensions (at least 15 minutes' worth) and transitional segues to smooth the progressions between the styles. I can even tell you exactly what those segues should consist of and that's the ambient/industrial aspects smattered throughout TWWTG and the Systematic Illumination Of Stereotypical Complicity EP. To allow this rather gorgeous little brute to slow down and breathe would highlight and amplify the spastic technicality of the record as a whole, giving it substance and perspective and a feel of completeness. "Epitome 2" and "6" very nearly fulfill this need but I still feel are stretched thin by this requisite. Quite simply: more of The Work and Thematic next time please Vindsy.

Regardless of this particular minor niggle this is by far and away the most relevant piece of work the band have released since MoRT, a return of sorts to the boundary shirking hyper-dissonance and deep, dense sonic exploration they do best while both pushing forward and harking backwards. Go on you misfits; go get yourself some aural punishment.


Band profile: Blut Aus Nord
Album: 777 - Sect(s)


 


written by !J.O.O.E.! | 31.03.2011



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 26  
Users visited: 366  
Search this topic:  


InnerSelf - 31.03.2011 at 09:54  
Great review . and I just "discovered" TWwTG
when I read the part where you said that the album needed some ambient\industrial parts to cool down between the songs I immediately thought of the one who does this in the perfect way Alexander Von Meilenwald. I can't imagine any of his work without those short ambient segues. so I can definitely see where you're coming from
!J.O.O.E.! - 31.03.2011 at 13:08  
Written by InnerSelf on 31.03.2011 at 09:54

Great review . and I just "discovered" TWwTG
when I read the part where you said that the album needed some ambient\industrial parts to cool down between the songs I immediately thought of the one who does this in the perfect way Alexander Von Meilenwald. I can't imagine any of his work without those short ambient segues. so I can definitely see where you're coming from

Wow you only just got round to listening to TWwTG? I'm jealous, I'd love to listen to that album for the first time and be blown away all over again. And yeah, Meilenwald is a total genius. He and Vindsval are two of a kind in the music scene, but Vindsval definintely needed to take a breather on this record.

And cheers ;]
Mr. Doctor - 31.03.2011 at 13:33  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 31.03.2011 at 13:08

Wow you only just got round to listening to TWwTG? I'm jealous, I'd love to listen to that album for the first time and be blown away all over again


I have only checked out the procession of dead clowns and it was like... at least 6 months ago so I don't remember a thing about that album in particular. I'm still "going" to buy it but I always forget hahahaha.
!J.O.O.E.! - 31.03.2011 at 13:55  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 31.03.2011 at 13:33

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 31.03.2011 at 13:08

Wow you only just got round to listening to TWwTG? I'm jealous, I'd love to listen to that album for the first time and be blown away all over again


I have only checked out the procession of dead clowns and it was like... at least 6 months ago so I don't remember a thing about that album in particular. I'm still "going" to buy it but I always forget hahahaha.

Ah you should, it's a landmark album, even if it is a bit uneven in retrospect (the industrial/ambient bits are better than the black metal bits, actually it's mostly industrial so wrongly tagged as a black metal album by most.)
InnerSelf - 01.04.2011 at 14:27  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 31.03.2011 at 13:55

Written by Mr. Doctor on 31.03.2011 at 13:33

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 31.03.2011 at 13:08

Wow you only just got round to listening to TWwTG? I'm jealous, I'd love to listen to that album for the first time and be blown away all over again


I have only checked out the procession of dead clowns and it was like... at least 6 months ago so I don't remember a thing about that album in particular. I'm still "going" to buy it but I always forget hahahaha.

Ah you should, it's a landmark album, even if it is a bit uneven in retrospect (the industrial/ambient bits are better than the black metal bits, actually it's mostly industrial so wrongly tagged as a black metal album by most.)


I am truly overwhelmed at this point because it is utterly brilliant and Procession of Dead Clowns is the best closing track ever and thus will check this one out as soon as possible
Lucas - 02.04.2011 at 14:10  
Written by InnerSelf on 01.04.2011 at 14:27
I am truly overwhelmed at this point because it is utterly brilliant and Procession of Dead Clowns is the best closing track ever and thus will check this one out as soon as possible


Yeah, that's what I thought too. Then I discovered the other tracks aren't nearly as good.
!J.O.O.E.! - 02.04.2011 at 16:17  
Written by Lucas on 02.04.2011 at 14:10


Yeah, that's what I thought too. Then I discovered the other tracks aren't nearly as good.

Our Blessed Frozen Cells > Procession Of The Dead Clowns

I basically make a new tracklist when listening to that album, now which bascially consists of:

End
The Fall
Metamorphosis
Our Blessed Frozen Cells
Devilish Essence
Inner Mental Cage
Density (for the lulz)
Enter (the Transformed God Basement)
Level-1 (Nothing is)
Level-3 (Nothing Becomes)
Exit (Towards the Asylum)
Procession of the Dead Clowns

53 minutes of industrial metal/ambient bliss. I still really like the black metal tracks though.
tonyta - 03.04.2011 at 21:38  
Great review
!J.O.O.E.! - 04.04.2011 at 01:26  
Written by tonyta on 03.04.2011 at 21:38

Great review

Cheers very much.
InnerSelf - 04.08.2011 at 16:46  
Well I finally got around to listen to this.
I am going to be honest and say that I prefer this a bit over TWwTG , even though I agree that it needs some breather passages in between the songs but sometimes the songs' outros serve those parts. it seems focused and to the point ,the production is perfect and the vocals are great as always.
and Epitome 2 kills

EDIT: but it is definitely short
Mr. Doctor - 08.12.2011 at 23:54  
About the "need to breath" I'm pretty sure this little brute of an album will make a lot of more sense when the triology is complete... Just like Deathspell Omega's triology... I can't wait to get my hands on their third part and finally listen to everything in order.

Damn... I'm enjoying this stuff more than I remembered. Maybe I'm going to give it one point more...
InnerSelf - 09.12.2011 at 20:43  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 08.12.2011 at 23:54

About the "need to breath" I'm pretty sure this little brute of an album will make a lot of more sense when the triology is complete... Just like Deathspell Omega's triology... I can't wait to get my hands on their third part and finally listen to everything in order.


True. I have the same feeling about this
Oaken - 23.02.2012 at 23:42  
Written by InnerSelf on 04.08.2011 at 16:46

I am going to be honest and say that I prefer this a bit over TWwTG

Me too. But still, I like Memoria Vetusta 1 more than 777 than TWwTG.
TWwTG is definitely harder to digest than Sect(s).
InnerSelf - 24.02.2012 at 00:00  
Written by Oaken on 23.02.2012 at 23:42

Written by InnerSelf on 04.08.2011 at 16:46

I am going to be honest and say that I prefer this a bit over TWwTG

Me too. But still, I like Memoria Vetusta 1 more than 777 than TWwTG.
TWwTG is definitely harder to digest than Sect(s).


After so many listens this is what I think : The Desanctification = TWwTG > Sect(s)
Oaken - 24.02.2012 at 00:01  
Written by InnerSelf on 24.02.2012 at 00:00

Written by Oaken on 23.02.2012 at 23:42

Written by InnerSelf on 04.08.2011 at 16:46

I am going to be honest and say that I prefer this a bit over TWwTG

Me too. But still, I like Memoria Vetusta 1 more than 777 than TWwTG.
TWwTG is definitely harder to digest than Sect(s).


After so many listens this is what I think : The Desanctification = TWwTG > Sect(s)

I still have to listen to The Desanctification. Is it that good?
InnerSelf - 24.02.2012 at 00:08  
Written by Oaken on 24.02.2012 at 00:01

I still have to listen to The Desanctification. Is it that good?


Hell yeah ! If you like their industrial sound this would be great
Oaken - 24.02.2012 at 00:10  
Written by InnerSelf on 24.02.2012 at 00:08

Written by Oaken on 24.02.2012 at 00:01

I still have to listen to The Desanctification. Is it that good?


Hell yeah ! If you like their industrial sound this would be great

I still don't totally get TWwTG but I quite like Sects. Nowhere as near as Memoria Vetusta 1 though. Probably one of my all time favorites, up there with Agalloch's Ashes Against The Grain and Immortal's At The Heart Of Winter.
InnerSelf - 24.02.2012 at 00:19  
Written by Oaken on 24.02.2012 at 00:10

I still don't totally get TWwTG but I quite like Sects. Nowhere as near as Memoria Vetusta 1 though. Probably one of my all time favorites, up there with Agalloch's Ashes Against The Grain and Immortal's At The Heart Of Winter.


depends on what you want from music, I think that I'm the only one who appreciate both the old and the new stuff that BaN has done. I still like the experimental stuff like MoRT, The Desanctification and TWwTG more but I think almost everything they've done is great
Mr. Doctor - 24.02.2012 at 07:20  
The thing I find just baffling is that their traditional BM is nowhere near the classics of Immortal or similar scandinavian BM of the 90s... and for some reason most people buy into it. They are good and all, but to put them in the same spot as albums like At The Heart Of Winter kicks my wtf-reflex.
InnerSelf - 24.02.2012 at 10:15  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 24.02.2012 at 07:20

The thing I find just baffling is that their traditional BM is nowhere near the classics of Immortal or similar scandinavian BM of the 90s... and for some reason most people buy into it. They are good and all, but to put them in the same spot as albums like At The Heart Of Winter kicks my wtf-reflex.


I find their BM stuff okay to very good, I won't count them among the classics at all though. MV II was especially good with its spacey vibe and the rest are just solid.
Oaken - 24.02.2012 at 11:25  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 24.02.2012 at 07:20

nowhere near the classics of Immortal or similar scandinavian BM of the 90s...

I disagree about that. Memoria Vetusta 1 has the best black metal guitar tone ever.
Mr. Doctor - 24.02.2012 at 18:07  
Written by InnerSelf on 24.02.2012 at 10:15

Written by Mr. Doctor on 24.02.2012 at 07:20

The thing I find just baffling is that their traditional BM is nowhere near the classics of Immortal or similar scandinavian BM of the 90s... and for some reason most people buy into it. They are good and all, but to put them in the same spot as albums like At The Heart Of Winter kicks my wtf-reflex.


I find their BM stuff okay to very good, I won't count them among the classics at all though. MV II was especially good with its spacey vibe and the rest are just solid.


They are solid stuff indeed but I laugh every time someone puts them in the same place as bands stuff like Immortal, Darkthrone, Mayhem, you know... classic shizzle. I laugh because it's far more usual than I expected.
InnerSelf - 24.02.2012 at 19:53  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 24.02.2012 at 18:07

They are solid stuff indeed but I laugh every time someone puts them in the same place as bands stuff like Immortal, Darkthrone, Mayhem, you know... classic shizzle. I laugh because it's far more usual than I expected.


You mean stuff like Transilvanian Hunger, At the Heart of Winter and De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas ... ? definitely no where near those classics.
Oaken - 20.04.2012 at 02:10  
Written by InnerSelf on 31.03.2011 at 09:54

Alexander Von Meilenwald

He's the master of cramming albums with interludes. Just look at Unlock The Shrine. Between each two black metal tracks you get an interlude. Not counting the ambient passages that are parts of the BM songs themselves.
Some of the interludes kick ass. I especially like the mad feel of "Pawns Of Procession".
InnerSelf - 20.04.2012 at 10:56  
Written by Oaken on 20.04.2012 at 02:10

Written by InnerSelf on 31.03.2011 at 09:54

Alexander Von Meilenwald

He's the master of cramming albums with interludes. Just look at Unlock The Shrine. Between each two black metal tracks you get an interlude. Not counting the ambient passages that are parts of the BM songs themselves.
Some of the interludes kick ass. I especially like the mad feel of "Pawns Of Procession".

Agreed. The man is one of my BM idols
Apothecary - 25.09.2012 at 07:17  
Excellent review, you pretty much said exactly how I feel about it
This is honestly my least favorite of the 777 albums. Not because it's bad, but because, as you said, it just feels a bit incomplete. I'd give it a 7/10, maybe 7.5. The Desanctification and Cosmosophy are a lot more cohesive.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Blut Aus Nord - 777 - Sect(s) 9 01.03.2011 by Nocturno-Inculto
Reviews Blut Aus Nord - 777 - Cosmosophy 8.5 22.01.2013 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Blut Aus Nord - 777 - The Desanctification 8.5 16.02.2012 by The Galactican
Albums Blut Aus Nord - 777 - The Desanctification 7.5 01.09.2011 by a MasT
Albums Blut Aus Nord - 777 - Cosmosophy 7.5 08.12.2011 by Mr. Doctor



Hits total: 8125 | This month: 58