Rating:
8.0
Pantheist - Pantheist
8 April 2011


01. One Of These Funerals
02. Broken Statue
03. The Storm
04. Be Here
05. 4:59
06. Brighter Days
07. Live Through Me


I'm pretty sure you remember Pantheist, one of the most upcoming names in the world of funeral doom back in the 00s. The basics remained, but still, they had a personal approach on the sound of this very special scene. There was will for something different, but there were the boundaries of funeral doom keeping them chained. The big breakthrough came with Journey Through Lands Unknown and everything you knew concerning this band suddenly came to a different level. There were attachments to the past, but still, Pantheist were not the same. The only trademark you can rely on have to be Kostas' vocals and the piano/keyboard curtain.

Three years later, the time came for their self-titled work, the one expanding their sound territory even more, making their approach on music harder to categorize. Less is more, more is less and that's what the cover artwork propagandizes, a minimalistic approach on the cover, a title that depicts the band itself and as for the... more... it's all about music.

Imagine a generic doom approach in terms of composing but even more like a lurking sense, something like the spirit from the past that has been entombed deep within the sound chambers of this band. And then you lose yourself in the vast abyss of musical interpretation. The keyboards, the effects and the vocal lines play the most important role in this experimenting attempt. But still, you wouldn't consider the guitars and the rhythm section as secondary intruders, they're more like the king's relatives rather than his humble servants. There are enough times you will witness both the guitars and the drumming (even the bass) present a hallucinating part of immense beauty or creative intensity equally that you will start wondering what the hell is going on. And that's the fact, hell is going on and you're following unaware of what will come next. The keyboard ambiance brings forth memories of Amartia and not only, the vocals rely on their chanting or even clean singing aspect with few but to the point grunting moments, whereas the guitars in perfect combination with the rhythm section vary from time to time, according to where hell is going on. And remember, you're following.

Doom metal, ecclesiastic atmosphere, jazzy moments, 80s dark/new wave additions (The Cure mid-era musical background meets Bauhaus' Peter Murphy's aura), progressive rock injections from Pink Floyd and anything you might imagine (or not) is apparent from the very generic term "atmospheric". Proceed at your own risk, Pantheist (the album) refers to an audience whose identity cannot be identified, just like the band itself (nowadays), either you will like it or it will pass you by and there will be no hard feelings, it's one of those cases experimentation doesn't hurt. Either you "get it" or you just don't get it, as simple as that, as complex as the album and the band itself. Oh well.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 10
Production: 9


Band profile: Pantheist
Album: Pantheist


 



Written on 04.06.2011 by
DerRozzengarten
"It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."
More reviews by DerRozzengarten ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 48  
Users visited: 201  
Search this topic:  


R'Vannith - 04.06.2011 at 02:16  
Great review, if this album's anything to go by I'll definitely have to check out the band's previous albums. There's so many influences in the music it would be hard to account for them all.
DerRozzengarten - 04.06.2011 at 02:19  
If you liked this one, then you'll like their previous album, it's heavier though. The other releases are under the funeral doom spectrum, dunno if you're into this kind of music, if you do, you will love them, if not you might discover a new genre you might enjoy
Troy Killjoy - 04.06.2011 at 02:25  
Haven't heard this one yet...but I'd give everything they've done at least an 8/10, so I don't imagine I'll be disappointed.
R'Vannith - 04.06.2011 at 02:39  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 04.06.2011 at 02:19

If you liked this one, then you'll like their previous album, it's heavier though. The other releases are under the funeral doom spectrum, dunno if you're into this kind of music, if you do, you will love them, if not you might discover a new genre you might enjoy


I've always been drawn towards the traditional, heavy and 'epic' varieties of doom, generally because I preferred the cleaner vocals. I don't know anything about funeral doom, will have to explore
DerRozzengarten - 04.06.2011 at 02:47  
Written by R'Vannith on 04.06.2011 at 02:39

Written by DerRozzengarten on 04.06.2011 at 02:19

If you liked this one, then you'll like their previous album, it's heavier though. The other releases are under the funeral doom spectrum, dunno if you're into this kind of music, if you do, you will love them, if not you might discover a new genre you might enjoy


I've always been drawn towards the traditional, heavy and 'epic' varieties of doom, generally because I preferred the cleaner vocals. I don't know anything about funeral doom, will have to explore

Ultra slow form of music, heavy distortions, deep grunting vocals and emotions mainly leaning towards depression, melancholy etc. It needs some ear training but once you've gotten into it'll melt your brain
NocturnalStalker - 04.06.2011 at 06:09  
I've yet to listen to this album but I don't think it will disappoint me. I saw them perform Broken Statue live and I can say it's a great song so the others must be on par.
HateSpark - 04.06.2011 at 11:01  
So why you gave 8 instead of 9 ?
Pyramid God - 04.06.2011 at 12:26  
I'm very impressed with this new album, I'll have to check out the rest of their stuff.
Merchant of Doom - 04.06.2011 at 12:48  
What can I say? Although I don't dislike the album entirely, they've gone too commercial for my taste, simplifying Journey's formula. Don't get me wrong: some songs are great - see the The Storm - but this a failed attempt to create a commercial dark-rock album. The clean vocals throughout are just too much. They make the album sound the same, monotonous, without variety. When harsh vocals kick in - see again The Storm - they just lift the atmosphere. The prog passages are just heavier early Genesis and some VDGG for good measure. Love the short sax break in The Storm. And the mellotron is awesome. Shame Peter Gabriel or Peter Hammill are not in the band...

Low points: Be here. WTF? Ten minutes of pure melliflous cack. The chorus is really embarrassing.
Live Through Me - WTf? #2 I don't know what they were thinking, but this is one of the worst Pantheist's songs ever. The little solo in the middle of the track surely has been played on a Bontempi toy keyboard.

Since they dropped the "ï" in the name, they dropped a lot more... like ïnspïratïon. I don't really know what Kostas was trying to achieve with this, I really don't.

BTW, funeral doom doesn't have to be heavily distorted...
Mr. Doctor - 04.06.2011 at 14:07  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 04.06.2011 at 12:48

What can I say? Although I don't dislike the album entirely, they've gone too commercial for my taste


Hhahahahahahhahaha sorry but that's just funny, good joke bro.
Bands like this wanting to be commercial, wow

You might not like their new style and that's perfectly ok but I highly doubt this is something to get commercial, it's just silly.
Merchant of Doom - 04.06.2011 at 15:01  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 04.06.2011 at 14:07

Written by Merchant of Doom on 04.06.2011 at 12:48

What can I say? Although I don't dislike the album entirely, they've gone too commercial for my taste


Hhahahahahahhahaha sorry but that's just funny, good joke bro.
Bands like this wanting to be commercial, wow

You might not like their new style and that's perfectly ok but I highly doubt this is something to get commercial, it's just silly.


well, you know, "commercial" within the genre... easier to the ear... Not in the "commercial-let's make lots of money" sense. I do understand it's their choice and I don't dislike the album, but why put out highly melodic, melliflous stuff like that? It's clearly an album which is a lot more approachable and lighter than previous efforts. What's happening here? And why? Is Kostas getting old and mellowing with age? Or is it Slough? That's my only explanation...
R'Vannith - 04.06.2011 at 15:06  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 04.06.2011 at 15:01

Written by Mr. Doctor on 04.06.2011 at 14:07

Written by Merchant of Doom on 04.06.2011 at 12:48

What can I say? Although I don't dislike the album entirely, they've gone too commercial for my taste


Hhahahahahahhahaha sorry but that's just funny, good joke bro.
Bands like this wanting to be commercial, wow

You might not like their new style and that's perfectly ok but I highly doubt this is something to get commercial, it's just silly.


well, you know, "commercial" within the genre... easier to the ear... Not in the "commercial-let's make lots of money" sense. I do understand it's their choice and I don't dislike the album, but why put out highly melodic, melliflous stuff like that? It's clearly an album which is a lot more approachable and lighter than previous efforts. What's happening here? And why? Is Kostas getting old and mellowing with age? Or is it Slough? That's my only explanation...


Besides the "lets make lots of money" what else do you mean by commercial? Perhaps you meant more 'accessible', as in they are turning further away from their original 'Funeral Doom' sound to something softer?
DerRozzengarten - 04.06.2011 at 15:22  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 04.06.2011 at 12:48

BTW, funeral doom doesn't have to be heavily distorted...

I wouldn't sit down and write a whole description of the genre, just gave some general pointers
Merchant of Doom - 04.06.2011 at 15:26  
Written by R'Vannith on 04.06.2011 at 15:06


Besides the "lets make lots of money" what else do you mean by commercial? Perhaps you meant more 'accessible', as in they are turning further away from their original 'Funeral Doom' sound to something softer?


yes, I said it. More approachable and accessible, "within the genre". I didn't mind their funeral era and their prog era, and I don't dislike this one, but I was wondering why they are getting "softer"...
Merchant of Doom - 04.06.2011 at 15:27  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 04.06.2011 at 15:22

Written by Merchant of Doom on 04.06.2011 at 12:48

BTW, funeral doom doesn't have to be heavily distorted...

I wouldn't sit down and write a whole description of the genre, just gave some general pointers


just don't mislead people... you might put them off...
DerRozzengarten - 04.06.2011 at 15:31  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 04.06.2011 at 15:27

Written by DerRozzengarten on 04.06.2011 at 15:22

Written by Merchant of Doom on 04.06.2011 at 12:48

BTW, funeral doom doesn't have to be heavily distorted...

I wouldn't sit down and write a whole description of the genre, just gave some general pointers


just don't mislead people... you might put them off...

There was nothing misleading in some general pointers The rest lies in what they get to listen to or search on the net
R'Vannith - 04.06.2011 at 15:38  
...thought I might check out Ahab
DerRozzengarten - 04.06.2011 at 15:40  
Written by R'Vannith on 04.06.2011 at 15:38

...thought I might check out Ahab

Good choice to start checking the scene
Merchant of Doom - 04.06.2011 at 15:41  
No, and I was joking, really, maybe because I prefer the "non-distorted" variety... my brain must be melting...
Merchant of Doom - 04.06.2011 at 15:43  
Written by R'Vannith on 04.06.2011 at 15:38

...thought I might check out Ahab


bad start... lol... they are death/doom with funeral influences. But I don't really want to start this kind of debate, really.
Mr. Doctor - 04.06.2011 at 16:13  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 04.06.2011 at 15:43

bad start... lol... they are death/doom with funeral influences. But I don't really want to start this kind of debate, really.


Funeral with train wheels in that case, I think it's an easy way into what the genre has to offer specially because it's not pure Funeral doom but it has enough elements to help the newbies understand what's the deal with the genre.

The question to why they start doing melodic stuff is quite simple though... They just feel like it
Troy Killjoy - 04.06.2011 at 17:22  
Written by R'Vannith on 04.06.2011 at 15:38

...thought I might check out Ahab

Great place to start, they're widely regarded as one of the best funeral doom bands today.

Although it's kind of a bad place to start too, because you won't find another band that has that same crushing "oceanic" atmosphere, so everything after this might feel watered down.
R'Vannith - 04.06.2011 at 17:43  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 04.06.2011 at 17:22

Written by R'Vannith on 04.06.2011 at 15:38

...thought I might check out Ahab

Great place to start, they're widely regarded as one of the best funeral doom bands today.

Although it's kind of a bad place to start too, because you won't find another band that has that same crushing "oceanic" atmosphere, so everything after this might feel watered down.


I was intrigued by the glowing reviews of their 'The Call Of The Wretched Sea' album, plus it won an MS award. I noticed that they're labelled as 'Extreme Funeral Doom', perhaps it's best to start with the non-extreme kind
Mr. Doctor - 04.06.2011 at 17:46  
Written by R'Vannith on 04.06.2011 at 17:43

I was intrigued by the glowing reviews of their 'The Call Of The Wretched Sea' album, plus it won an MS award. I noticed that they're labelled as 'Extreme Funeral Doom', perhaps it's best to start with the non-extreme kind

Extreme doom means in the awards case: death/doom, black/doom, drone doom and funeral doom... Not necessary because they are SO extreme but jsut to make a difference with other kind of doom like the more tradional and melodic kind of doom
Troy Killjoy - 04.06.2011 at 17:48  
Written by R'Vannith on 04.06.2011 at 17:43

I noticed that they're labelled as 'Extreme Funeral Doom', perhaps it's best to start with the non-extreme kind

Metal Storm is - to my knowledge - the only site that differentiates extreme doom from regular doom. Ahab aren't "extreme funeral doom", just "extreme doom", as funeral doom is regarded as an extreme metal genre, whereas regular doom is considered "melodic" metal (as its usually more akin to heavy metal).

EDIT: + what the Doctor said
R'Vannith - 04.06.2011 at 17:57  
Ah I see so 'Funeral Doom' is categorized as 'extreme doom'.

Although it does say 'Extreme Funeral Doom' on the page for that album:

Germany: 2006
Genre: Extreme Funeral Doom
Label: Napalm Records
Length: 67:41 minutes
Troy Killjoy - 04.06.2011 at 18:18  
Written by R'Vannith on 04.06.2011 at 17:57

Although it does say 'Extreme Funeral Doom' on the page for that album:

Ya that's a redundant tag. Just stick with funeral doom and you'll be fine.
Mr. Doctor - 04.06.2011 at 18:48  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 04.06.2011 at 18:18

Ya that's a redundant tag. Just stick with funeral doom and you'll be fine.

Except Esoteric, THAT is extreme...
Passenger - 04.06.2011 at 19:09  
This seems quite different from the previous albums. don't know if i'll like it, they're one of my favourite bands though, i need to get around to it!
Merchant of Doom - 05.06.2011 at 01:15  
Well, it looks like I'll have to say it again and sorry for the OT... but Ahab are NOT funeral doom... get a grip
Mr. Doctor - 05.06.2011 at 01:43  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 05.06.2011 at 01:15

Well, it looks like I'll have to say it again and sorry for the OT... but Ahab are NOT funeral doom... get a grip


Like I said before : true... But it's still a good enough start. Why? because it has enough elements of that genre to tell the newbie what the genre is about. A pure funeral doom album might be a turn off for the completely umprepared. That's why a "transicion album" is good. It's not like they are completely death/doom either
Ag Fox - 05.06.2011 at 02:05  
Nice review. I'm very curious about it now
Merchant of Doom - 05.06.2011 at 23:55  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 05.06.2011 at 01:43

Written by Merchant of Doom on 05.06.2011 at 01:15

Well, it looks like I'll have to say it again and sorry for the OT... but Ahab are NOT funeral doom... get a grip


Like I said before : true... But it's still a good enough start. Why? because it has enough elements of that genre to tell the newbie what the genre is about. A pure funeral doom album might be a turn off for the completely umprepared. That's why a "transicion album" is good. It's not like they are completely death/doom either



Id' like to try some pasta... no, have some pizza, instead, it's close enough...
Mr. Doctor - 06.06.2011 at 00:20  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 05.06.2011 at 23:55

Id' like to try some pasta... no, have some pizza, instead, it's close enough...


Meh, really don't see how "faaaaaaaaaaaaaaaar" is Ahab from Funeral Doom as you seem to put it with your food analogy since it's far from being that radical... In terms of basic riff sound and production it is funeral. It's just the composition itself isn't natural from the genre and a bit closer to death/doom. For me it's more like Funeral doom with death/doom influences rather than the other way around.
Although I do accept that their second album is much less funeral and closer to death/doom, I can give you that but not the debut


I won't go over this again, not here anyway since we're going way too offtopic now. I'm just going to agree we disagree.
Cheers.
Troy Killjoy - 06.06.2011 at 02:41  
Quote:

Haven't heard this one yet...but I'd give everything they've done at least an 8/10, so I don't imagine I'll be disappointed.

Ironically enough, this album did in fact leave me with a taste of disappointment. It's not bad, but at the same time I was thinking "what the hell" throughout the entire thing.
Merchant of Doom - 06.06.2011 at 14:05  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 06.06.2011 at 00:20


I'm just going to agree we disagree.



Looks like it... Maybe a bit of funeral riffing in "The Call"... but that's just about it.
Mr. Doctor - 06.06.2011 at 14:08  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 06.06.2011 at 14:05

Written by Mr. Doctor on 06.06.2011 at 00:20


I'm just going to agree we disagree.



Looks like it... Maybe a bit of funeral riffing in "The Call"... but that's just about it.


You like to push me don't ya XD Nah, won't work now... The band is good and that's the only important thing to me.
Merchant of Doom - 06.06.2011 at 15:38  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 06.06.2011 at 14:08

Written by Merchant of Doom on 06.06.2011 at 14:05

Written by Mr. Doctor on 06.06.2011 at 00:20


I'm just going to agree we disagree.



Looks like it... Maybe a bit of funeral riffing in "The Call"... but that's just about it.


You like to push me don't ya XD Nah, won't work now... The band is good and that's the only important thing to me.


I'm actually listening to "The Call..." right now, just to refresh my memory. The first track starts with some nice funeral riffage, but then it speeds up and all the funeral ambiance disappears. All the other tracks are pretty much death/doom.

BTW, I'm not trying to push anybody, but it's interesting to see how we can all have different sensibilities regarding musical matters.
Mr. Doctor - 06.06.2011 at 15:55  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 06.06.2011 at 15:38

I'm actually listening to "The Call..." right now, just to refresh my memory. The first track starts with some nice funeral riffage, but then it speeds up and all the funeral ambiance disappears. All the other tracks are pretty much death/doom.

BTW, I'm not trying to push anybody, but it's interesting to see how we can all have different sensibilities regarding musical matters.


The second track is far more funeral-like than the first, same for the last song. I know you were'nt pushing anybody, just kiddin
SoulScarred - 09.06.2011 at 19:50  
I like this album, it's very refreshing and original, agree totally with the review and the rating
btw, isn't it strange that some of the songs like "Be here" and "Live through me" gave me like.. a "hopeful" feeling, doesn't that contradict what funeral doom should be about xD
and for Impeckable, I think you should start with Shape of Despair just like I did, I think they will give you a true idea about the genre..
Troy Killjoy - 09.06.2011 at 20:11  
Written by SoulScarred on 09.06.2011 at 19:50

btw, isn't it strange that some of the songs like "Be here" and "Live through me" gave me like.. a "hopeful" feeling, doesn't that contradict what funeral doom should be about xD

It's not strange to find hope in doom, or funeral doom for that matter, but just for the record this album isn't anywhere close to funeral doom.
Marcel Hubregtse - 09.06.2011 at 20:15  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 09.06.2011 at 20:11

but just for the record this album isn't anywhere close to funeral doom.


Just wanted to type the exact same thing
Troy Killjoy - 09.06.2011 at 20:20  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 09.06.2011 at 20:15

Written by Troy Killjoy on 09.06.2011 at 20:11

but just for the record this album isn't anywhere close to funeral doom.


Just wanted to type the exact same thing

Nothing gets by us.
Kosst Amojan - 11.06.2011 at 00:31  
Kostas became mellow, he must falled in love! ;-))
R'Vannith - 19.06.2011 at 15:47  
Written by SoulScarred on 09.06.2011 at 19:50

I like this album, it's very refreshing and original, agree totally with the review and the rating
btw, isn't it strange that some of the songs like "Be here" and "Live through me" gave me like.. a "hopeful" feeling, doesn't that contradict what funeral doom should be about xD
and for Impeckable, I think you should start with Shape of Despair just like I did, I think they will give you a true idea about the genre..


Thanks for mentioning Shape of Despair, they sound fantastic!
IronAngel - 11.02.2012 at 18:29  
Finally this album is available on Spotify so I get to hear it. I really like it, rarely is this melodic, goth-influenced doomy stuff done so tastefully. Too bad 40 Watt Sun trumps everything else, I would love to vote for this, Argus and Ixion, and probably Black Oath if I could hear the entire album.
Marcel Hubregtse - 11.02.2012 at 18:32  
Written by IronAngel on 11.02.2012 at 18:29

and probably Black Oath if I could hear the entire album.


If I remember correctly all the tracks can be found on Youtube.
IronAngel - 11.02.2012 at 19:49  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 11.02.2012 at 18:32

If I remember correctly all the tracks can be found on Youtube.


Cool, I'll look around. Not that I'll probably vote for it anyway, it sounded good but not as distinct as a few candidates by the few tracks I listened to.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Pantheist - The Pains Of Sleep 6 05.10.2006 by Lokomotiv
Reviews Pantheist - Amartia 6 17.01.2010 by Uirapuru
Reviews Paradise Lost - Gothic 3 19.02.2008 by omjaimes
Reviews Unholy - Gracefallen 3 30.06.2009 by lord artan
Reviews Amorphis - Eclipse 3 01.08.2007 by BlueMobius



Hits total: 4339 | This month: 50