Rating:
4.0
Sepultura - Kairos
24 June 2011


01. Spectrum
02. Kairos
03. Relentless
04. (2011)
05. Just One Fix [Ministry cover]
06. Dialog
07. Mask
08. (1433)
09. Seethe
10. Born Strong
11. Embrace The Storm
12. (5772)
13. No One Will Stand
14. Structure Violence (Azzes)
15. (4648)
16. Firestarter [The Prodigy cover] [Deluxe edition bonus]
17. Point Of No Return [Deluxe edition bonus]
+ Making Of DVD [Deluxe edition bonus]


Sepultura's history is common knowledge. For those who didn't write the band off ten years ago, the last two albums Dante XXI and A-Lex were actually worth some time and gave back the Sepultura name some respect. Now with the band's first Nuclear Blast release Kairos has gone and blown it all away again.

Kairos is one of the limpest thrash metal albums you could have the misfortune of hearing. As much as Sepultura were re-building their reputation as fighters against the odds, there is absolutely no excuse for this sorry excuse of an album. The concept behind the album is time, which is probably the most apt theme this album could have had for its ability of making an hour seem like two.

"Relentless", "Born Strong" and "No One Will Stand" are the least bland moments of the album, aside from the cover of The Prodigy's "Firestarter" hidden on the track "4648". None of these songs have any of the conviction found on the band's last two albums, and are openly banal and weak in comparison. Sepultura even manage to conjure an entirely uncalled for lifeless cover of Ministry's "Just One Fix" to add insult to injury.

Kairos is an embarrassing gift to the band's fans for their optimistic support over the last years. Tedious, half-hearted, and just plain flat, Kairos is an album that no one needs to hear and the band would have done better without even releasing.

--

Thrash metal
Brazil
Length: 53:10
Nuclear Blast

Performance: 5
Songwriting: 3
Originality: 5
Production: 7


Band profile: Sepultura
Album: Kairos


 



Written on 12.06.2011 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 80  
Users visited: 579  
Search this topic:  


Angelic Storm - 01.07.2011 at 03:04  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 01.07.2011 at 02:59
I'm completely ignorant here: What influence put Max's wife into Sepultura?


Max's wife Gloria was the band's manager.
Mr. Doctor - 01.07.2011 at 03:09  
Written by Angelic Storm on 01.07.2011 at 03:04

Written by Mr. Doctor on 01.07.2011 at 02:59
I'm completely ignorant here: What influence put Max's wife into Sepultura?


Max's wife Gloria was the band's manager.


Aw fuck so she went all Yoko Ono on the band?! fuck women... Ok have to fix that, sorry:
Fuck gfs that get in the fucking way.
Ozman - 01.07.2011 at 03:14  
@Mr. doc Gloria was Sepultura's manager. That's how she and Max met. But once they got into a relationship he kept her on instead finding a new manager.
Hugoj33 - 20.08.2011 at 16:55  
Gaypultura
RavenKing - 18.09.2011 at 23:18  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 13.06.2011 at 03:13

"...the last two albums Dante XXI and A-Lex were actually worth some time and gave back the Sepultura name some respect..."

If you thought those pieces of crap were any good and you gave this a 4, I'm thinking I don't even wanna waste my time checking it out even just so I can give it a low rating.


"A-Lex" was such an unlistenable piece of crap that if this album is much worse, I'll be sure to stay as far as possible from it.
sepulkisser - 18.11.2011 at 04:40  
HAHAHA... This review makes me laugh!!!! Absolutely blinded by the past!

2 last albums was really AWESOME... because have an insane drummer like Jean Dolabella. That added the heavy side that Seps needed!!

Igor was tired to play heavy music and now he wants to become the best DJ on the world! And that's the real reason why he leaves Sepultura... The Cavalera Conspiracy project is only for money... no more! In fact, he doesn´t made music or lyrics... he only played that Max made!

Back to the review... KAIROS is a Metal Album. In the line of Chaos AD, or maybe better, because Chaos was written with a lot of hardcore influence!

The only problem here is that all the haters missing Max & Igor... And maybe you've got all the reason.
But the album is fucking insane!

And last but not least... I never liked Sepultura for Cavaleras, I was and I'm still fan of Andreas Kisser... The real spirit of the band!! And I'm very happy that he can demonstrate day by day a Brazilian Fans Quote: "WHO NEEDS CAVALERAS?"

Sepultura is Kisser... SEPULKISSER!!

P.D. For all the haters.... ¡¡¡É SEPULTURA CARALHO!!!
Lit. - 27.11.2011 at 01:00  
Written by sepulkisser on 18.11.2011 at 04:40

HAHAHA... This review makes me laugh!!!! Absolutely blinded by the past!

2 last albums was really AWESOME... because have an insane drummer like Jean Dolabella. That added the heavy side that Seps needed!!

Igor was tired to play heavy music and now he wants to become the best DJ on the world! And that's the real reason why he leaves Sepultura... The Cavalera Conspiracy project is only for money... no more! In fact, he doesn´t made music or lyrics... he only played that Max made!

Back to the review... KAIROS is a Metal Album. In the line of Chaos AD, or maybe better, because Chaos was written with a lot of hardcore influence!

The only problem here is that all the haters missing Max & Igor... And maybe you've got all the reason.
But the album is fucking insane!

And last but not least... I never liked Sepultura for Cavaleras, I was and I'm still fan of Andreas Kisser... The real spirit of the band!! And I'm very happy that he can demonstrate day by day a Brazilian Fans Quote: "WHO NEEDS CAVALERAS?"

Sepultura is Kisser... SEPULKISSER!!

P.D. For all the haters.... ¡¡¡É SEPULTURA CARALHO!!!


Troy Killjoy - 27.11.2011 at 01:02  
Written by Lit. on 27.11.2011 at 01:00
laugh harder

I've tried responding to him before but that video is honestly everything I wanted to say. Will be jacking that for future arguments as well, thanks.
Lit. - 27.11.2011 at 01:05  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 27.11.2011 at 01:02

Written by Lit. on 27.11.2011 at 01:00
laugh harder

I've tried responding to him before but that video is honestly everything I wanted to say. Will be jacking that for future arguments as well, thanks.


Always happy to help.
A New Enemy - 26.12.2011 at 03:25  
Written by sepulkisser on 18.11.2011 at 04:40

HAHAHA... This review makes me laugh!!!! Absolutely blinded by the past!

2 last albums was really AWESOME... because have an insane drummer like Jean Dolabella. That added the heavy side that Seps needed!!

Igor was tired to play heavy music and now he wants to become the best DJ on the world! And that's the real reason why he leaves Sepultura... The Cavalera Conspiracy project is only for money... no more! In fact, he doesn´t made music or lyrics... he only played that Max made!

Back to the review... KAIROS is a Metal Album. In the line of Chaos AD, or maybe better, because Chaos was written with a lot of hardcore influence!

The only problem here is that all the haters missing Max & Igor... And maybe you've got all the reason.
But the album is fucking insane!

And last but not least... I never liked Sepultura for Cavaleras, I was and I'm still fan of Andreas Kisser... The real spirit of the band!! And I'm very happy that he can demonstrate day by day a Brazilian Fans Quote: "WHO NEEDS CAVALERAS?"

Sepultura is Kisser... SEPULKISSER!!

P.D. For all the haters.... ¡¡¡É SEPULTURA CARALHO!!!
Boxcar Willy - 03.01.2012 at 18:58  
Written by Lit. on 27.11.2011 at 01:00

Written by sepulkisser on 18.11.2011 at 04:40

HAHAHA... This review makes me laugh!!!! Absolutely blinded by the past!

2 last albums was really AWESOME... because have an insane drummer like Jean Dolabella. That added the heavy side that Seps needed!!

Igor was tired to play heavy music and now he wants to become the best DJ on the world! And that's the real reason why he leaves Sepultura... The Cavalera Conspiracy project is only for money... no more! In fact, he doesn´t made music or lyrics... he only played that Max made!

Back to the review... KAIROS is a Metal Album. In the line of Chaos AD, or maybe better, because Chaos was written with a lot of hardcore influence!

The only problem here is that all the haters missing Max & Igor... And maybe you've got all the reason.
But the album is fucking insane!

And last but not least... I never liked Sepultura for Cavaleras, I was and I'm still fan of Andreas Kisser... The real spirit of the band!! And I'm very happy that he can demonstrate day by day a Brazilian Fans Quote: "WHO NEEDS CAVALERAS?"

Sepultura is Kisser... SEPULKISSER!!

P.D. For all the haters.... ¡¡¡É SEPULTURA CARALHO!!!




when are they bringing that show back

as for the album, i can sum it up with two characters...


:/
Ozman - 03.01.2012 at 20:35  
Written by sepulkisser on 18.11.2011 at 04:40

2 last albums was really AWESOME... because have an insane drummer like Jean Dolabella. That added the heavy side that Seps needed!!


No idea who the drummer is on the last two albums but live it's the 20 year old Eloy Casagrande who is vastly superior to anything Igor could ever do. Live Sepultura nowadays is also vastly superiro than to what Sepultura live ever was with Max and Igor. I am sure Max is crying his eyes out that he could never even managed to get near to the live level of current day Sepultura
Angelic Storm - 03.01.2012 at 20:39  
^^ It's really sad watching Max live now. It's like he's become a parody of himself. His live vocals are terrible, and he plays guitar even less now than he did when he was in Sepultura. Makes me wonder why he even straps a guitar on at all for live performances... And this is coming from someone who loves Sep's classic material with Max.
Ozman - 03.01.2012 at 20:52  
Written by Angelic Storm on 03.01.2012 at 20:39

^^ It's really sad watching Max live now. It's like he's become a parody of himself. His live vocals are terrible, and he plays guitar even less now than he did when he was in Sepultura. Makes me wonder why he even straps a guitar on at all for live performances... And this is coming from someone who loves Sep's classic material with Max.


Max was never any good live, not even in Sepultura's heydays. And i am still puzzled why he had a guitar strapped on in that era. All he ever did was play one string max. Current Sepultura proves the songs sound just as good with one guitar instead of the two back then. But like I ssaid curentday Sepultura is a live beast whereas old Sepultura were good at best on their good days.
Mr. Doctor - 03.01.2012 at 21:08  
Written by Ozman on 03.01.2012 at 20:52
But like I ssaid curentday Sepultura is a live beast whereas old Sepultura were good at best on their good days.

WTF happened on the studio then? black magic?!
Troy Killjoy - 03.01.2012 at 21:16  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.01.2012 at 21:08
WTF happened on the studio then? black magic?!

aliens.jpg
Ozman - 03.01.2012 at 21:18  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.01.2012 at 21:08

Written by Ozman on 03.01.2012 at 20:52
But like I ssaid curentday Sepultura is a live beast whereas old Sepultura were good at best on their good days.

WTF happened on the studio then? black magic?!


Well, Kisser, Max, Igor, Paulo Jr. together could write a mean tune whereas Kisser on his own can't or even with the current line-up.
But being able to write good songs does not equate being good live.
Angelic Storm - 03.01.2012 at 21:29  
Written by Ozman on 03.01.2012 at 21:18
Well, Kisser, Max, Igor, Paulo Jr. together could write a mean tune whereas Kisser on his own can't or even with the current line-up.
But being able to write good songs does not equate being good live.


I would dispute that Seps weren't good live in their heyday, although yep, Max isn't anywhere near the likes of James Hetfield, Dave Mustaine, or Mille Petrozza as a live rhythm guitarist. But his live vocals were a lot better back then than now. If we're comparing them now, it's no contest. Derrick destroys Max when it comes to singing live.

As for the songwriting, I think what the split has proven is that the original band (not counting Wagner or Jairo T! ) was far greater than the sum of it's parts. Although I do find "Roots" to be weaker than some of the Derrick era material. People say Max was Sepultura, but he has released nothing outside of Sepultura that comes anywhere the quality of late 80's/early 90's Sepultura.
Ozman - 03.01.2012 at 21:41  
Written by Angelic Storm on 03.01.2012 at 21:29

Written by Ozman on 03.01.2012 at 21:18
Well, Kisser, Max, Igor, Paulo Jr. together could write a mean tune whereas Kisser on his own can't or even with the current line-up.
But being able to write good songs does not equate being good live.


I would dispute that Seps weren't good live in their heyday,


I have seen them countless times during their Beneath The Remains and Arise era and also during the time they went downhill with Chaos A.D. and Roots and at their best Sepultura were good live never great.
Angelic Storm - 03.01.2012 at 21:52  
Written by Ozman on 03.01.2012 at 21:41
I have seen them countless times during their Beneath The Remains and Arise era and also during the time they went downhill with Chaos A.D. and Roots and at their best Sepultura were good live never great.


I've seen them twice live when Max was in the band, and both times thought they were great. Max has definitely deteriorated a lot since those days, in my eyes.
Moosh666 - 27.02.2012 at 14:56  
Max Cavalera died many years ago to be replaced by a Rob Zombie impersonator.
sepulkisser - 16.03.2012 at 22:46  
Sepultura played for first time in "Wacken". And now They were invited by Metallica to play in the Orion fest.... All for "KAIROS"!!!

¡¡¡That be hurts haters!!!
Ralle - 27.11.2012 at 18:04  
Great album, best without Max !!!
@gent_-_orange - 27.11.2012 at 18:59  
Written by Ralle on 27.11.2012 at 18:04

Great album, best without Max !!!

That honour belongs to Dante IMO which is a very strong album in its own right.

I guess I should check this out, But I am not expecting much.
Ralle - 28.11.2012 at 14:22  
Kairos rules,my old school thrash metal friends also love this album
Dante is good, but this is better:banger:
Ravenous - 11.09.2013 at 13:50  
Such a bad subjective review. That's all I need to say. Let me tell you what Max is now. A zero. Fat lazy zero. He let himself go. These guys are doing much better then he is now.
@gent_-_orange - 12.09.2013 at 21:13  
Written by Ravenous on 11.09.2013 at 13:50

Such a bad subjective review.

But all reviews are subjective.
Ravenous - 13.09.2013 at 18:16  
Written by @gent_-_orange on 12.09.2013 at 21:13

Written by Ravenous on 11.09.2013 at 13:50

Such a bad subjective review.

But all reviews are subjective.

But not completely
subjective.
@gent_-_orange - 13.09.2013 at 20:54  
Written by Ravenous on 13.09.2013 at 18:16

But not completely
subjective.

The only thing I can see being reviewed objectively is the musicianship on the album, The quality of the songs is an entirely subjective matter.
Pepe44 - 20.09.2013 at 09:31  
The only problem with this review is that you mention how this is a thrash album, the problem with that is that they only used elements of thrash which doesn't make this album entirely a thrash album, which is what you are trying to imply. This is definitely not a straight up thrash album, if you're going to critique this album on that basis then I can see how you score it a 4. I can see that you really don't like this album, but please don't say that it's thrash.
Cheers

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Milking The Goatmachine - Back From The Goats 4.5 05.11.2009 by Bas
Reviews Arsis - We Are The Nightmare 4.5 19.04.2008 by Ozman
Reviews Bobaflex - Tales From Dirt Town 4.5 01.01.2008 by
Reviews Gotthard - Need To Believe 4.5 03.09.2009 by Abattoir
Reviews Nuclear Blast Allstars - Out Of The Dark - 20 Years Nuclear Blast 4.5 23.10.2007 by Bararey



Hits total: 13242 | This month: 68