Demonical - Death Infernal review



Reviewer:
8.4

54 users:
8.09
Band: Demonical
Album: Death Infernal
Release date: April 2011


01. The Arrival Of Armageddon
02. Return In Flesh
03. Black Inferno
04. Ravenous
05. March For Victory
06. Through Hellfire
07. All Will Perish (The Final Liberation)
08. Slain Warriors
09. Darkness Awaits
10. From Northern Shores [Limited edition bonus]
11. Night Of The Graveless Souls [Limited edition bonus]


There's nothing like death metal that just rolls. Break-neck brutality has it's place, but kicking holes in your drywall is a highly rhythmic activity, you need a band with groove like Bloodbath, Hail Of Bullets, or Demonical to be able to destroy property to your full potential.

Speaking of Bloodbath, this is the direction they should have headed in with basically all their follow-ups to Resurrection Through Carnage. Demonical have created one hell of a monster with Death Infernal that seems to hit all the sweet spots; it's brutally vicious, but groove-laden enough to be extremely contagious. It's well-produced to the point where they managed to maximize the thick, heavy sound the band so effectively puts forth, but left with enough rough edges to really have that "face-meeting-asphalt-at-70mph" sort of feel. It's got the crunch, I guess you could say. It's definitely got a flavour of it's own, sure, that flavour might taste incredibly similar to the rock n roll vibes of Entombed at times, but considering how well they balanced everything else out on this album, it comes as no surprise that they mixed it all together and made the sound their own.

The lack of awe-inspiring originality with Death Infernal actually really works out in Demonical's favour here, after all, it is called a comfort zone for a reason. Instead of trying to grasp at some kind experimental sound, and failing miserably, they just stick to the tried-but-true, completely knocking it out of the park. Some call it unoriginal, in this case it's more of just a band playing to it's strengths.


 



Written on 14.09.2011 by Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.


Comments

Comments: 17   Visited by: 210 users
14.09.2011 - 15:18
Vikingr
Excellent review Doc, I shall definatley check this album out
Loading...
14.09.2011 - 15:25
BudDa
I agree with u Doc, Yes! The groove on this record is simply amazing and catchy sometimes. I love this album! Good review as well
----
Freeze! Step away from the hubris.
Loading...
14.09.2011 - 17:26
Kuroboshi
Looks like something just up my alley!
Loading...
14.09.2011 - 21:06
@gent_-_orange
Ahhh more of that great Swedish DM sound I love so much. Good review.
Loading...
14.09.2011 - 21:36
czarneptuna
Hi there, Speaking of death prediction, I find it really odd that one of the on-line death prediction services showed me the same death date that I was foretold in my dream about a year ago. http://yourdeathdate.info/1/index.html - I can't explain this coincidence in any other way except that there must be some kind of magic involved here.
Loading...
14.09.2011 - 22:08
Koen Smits
I fully agree with the review!
Listened a lot to this lately and enjoying...
----
RIP: Frank Vandenbroucke (6 nov 1974 - 12 oct 2009)

Written by Bad English on 05.04.2014 at 15:05

but spoil thius film is like spoil porn and say porn ends whit cum shot ...
Loading...
15.09.2011 - 03:48
Sulac
Groovy death? I'm so gonna check this.
Loading...
17.09.2011 - 06:07
Unhealer
Eclecticist
The Morbid Angel reference

Definitely have to check this out.
Loading...
17.09.2011 - 11:30
quirin
Never heard of them before, but I see just what you mean when I listen to their my_ samples.
Actually it feels like Amon Amarth with an Entombed sound. Can't go wrong with that.
Loading...
18.09.2011 - 18:56
BloodFireDeath
Thanks for the review. I checked em out after reading and I love em.
----
Goodspeed on the Devils Thunder
Loading...
21.09.2011 - 15:01
RockeRoy
What do you mean by saying Bloodbath should have followd the same direction? first of all they are two different bands and second.. The fathomless mastery is IMO the best Bloodbath record to date. resurrection ain't even close. anyway.. You made me want to check this out. So i'm gonna:)
----
You found god? If nobody claims him in thirty days, he's yours

Walk with me in hell
Loading...
30.09.2011 - 16:22
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by RockeRoy on 21.09.2011 at 15:01

What do you mean by saying Bloodbath should have followd the same direction? first of all they are two different bands and second...


I know what he means (because I agree with him): Bloodbath's debut was their best full lenght specially because of the production it had that gave it such an impressible old-school and fun atmosphere. After that album it went too clean for my tastes.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
03.10.2011 - 11:36
RockeRoy
Written by Mr. Doctor on 30.09.2011 at 16:22

Written by RockeRoy on 21.09.2011 at 15:01

What do you mean by saying Bloodbath should have followd the same direction? first of all they are two different bands and second...


I know what he means (because I agree with him): Bloodbath's debut was their best full lenght specially because of the production it had that gave it such an impressible old-school and fun atmosphere. After that album it went too clean for my tastes.

Ok i see what he ment now maybe, but i he does not mention anything about production being the reason he liked that album. Anyway i Like albums first for the Songs/music, production second. And i like better modern productions better, but even if All their albums had the same production.. The Fanthomles mastery is their best IMO
----
You found god? If nobody claims him in thirty days, he's yours

Walk with me in hell
Loading...
03.10.2011 - 15:27
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by RockeRoy on 03.10.2011 at 11:36

Ok i see what he ment now maybe, but i he does not mention anything about production being the reason he liked that album. Anyway i Like albums first for the Songs/music, production second. And i like better modern productions better, but even if All their albums had the same production.. The Fanthomles mastery is their best IMO


It's a matter of tastes mate. It doesn't matter if the songwritting is awesome, you need a good production to make everything shine properly. That's why everything is equally important to me. Can you imagea prog album like... let's say Dream Theater with a production like the ones on albums from Darkthrone? Or viceversa? That's insane. I pulled a quite extreme example but with almost every death metal band now (specially the tech death scene) a clean production takes away the bite the album has.
That's of course a personal opinion.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
26.11.2011 - 19:14
Destructo
Very good album, nice crunchy sound to the entire thing. And although the songs all sound a bit "same-y", it does enough to have a good time listening to it.
Loading...
24.12.2011 - 22:23
ThunderAxe1989
Irreligious
"There's nothing like death metal that just rolls. Break-neck brutality has it's place, but kicking holes in your drywall is a highly rhythmic activity"
.......couldn't have said it better myself I enjoy it the most out of all their albums thus far, the cover art alone is easily their best no doubt.
Loading...
05.05.2012 - 22:10
Nergal Is God
Account deleted
It's not often we agree on much, Doc, but I completely agree with ya. I thought this was hell of an album, and can't wait for more from these guys!
Loading...

Hits total: 4488 | This month: 18