Cradle Of Filth - Evermore Darkly... review



Reviewer:
N/A

72 users:
6.99
Band: Cradle Of Filth
Album: Evermore Darkly...
Release date: October 2011


Disc I
01. Transmission From Hell?
02. Thank Your Lucky Scars
03. Forgive Me Father (I Have Sinned) [elder version]
04. Lilith Immaculate [extended length version]
05. The Persecution Song [elder version]
06. Forgive Me Father (I'm In A Trance)
07. The Spawn Of Love And War [elder version]
08. Summer Dying Fast ["Midnight In The Labyrinth" breadcrumb trail]

Disc II [Venus Diversa DVD]
+ Lilith Immaculate [video]
+ You Can't Polish A Turd… But You Can Roll It In Glitter [Documentary]
+ Burning Down Graspop [live footage]


Almost a year since Darkly, Darkly, Venus Aversa, and the filthy Englishmen are back with... not much. Evermore Darkly... offers just one original track and a splatter of demos, remixes and fillers.

Following an eerily spooky intro, "Thank Your Lucky Scars" is the only new track here, much in the same vein as the band's last album. The rest of the EP offers little to nothing for non-fanatic obsessive's; "Forgive Me Father (I'm In A Trance)" might be a peculiar but decent trance remix of the original, and the demo version of "The Spawn Of Love And War" gives you the opportunity to hear a rawer version of one of the last album's more promising songs - but there is no reason why you should feel the desire to pick up Evermore Darkly... and play it through again.

Cradle Of Filth have a brilliant track record with EPs, from arguably their absolute best release V Empire, to From The Cradle To Enslave to Bitter Suites To Succubi. Perhaps Evermore Darkly...'s biggest draw is the accompanying DVD with live footage on it, but it just makes the release seem all the more thrown together for the sake of it.

Unfortunately it seems that the band just didn't care to put the effort in to making this a worthwhile release. Only for the masochistic diehards.


 



Written on 03.11.2011 by Member of Staff since 2006.


Comments

Comments: 15   Visited by: 277 users
03.11.2011 - 22:36
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Cashgrab 101.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
04.11.2011 - 08:17
AngelofDeth
Cyborg Raptor
Damn... i fuckn loved Godspeed, but it also came with false hope for cradles future.. with these last two releases they seem worse than ever.

In the words of the late, and great Bilbo Baggins..
Cradle of Filth is "Like butter scraped over too much bread"

haha.
----
pewpew.. gotcha
Loading...
04.11.2011 - 16:24
quirin
Ah well... Although Evermore appears to be more of a commercial move, I admit I quite enjoyed the remixes ...except for Forgive me father, which felt like a bad mushroom trip.
It reminds a bit of the Thornography Deluxe post-release, which I enjoyed as well, to be honest.

So, not much new material, that's a fact. Too easy then? Not worthy of people's €? Guess it's a matter of how wealthy and dedicated a fan you are.
Nevertheless, the monumental talent displayed by Dani & co allows me to foresee a potentially bright future for COF.
Loading...
04.11.2011 - 16:27
Warman
Erotic Stains
Huh? Another version of "Summer Dying Fast"? One of my favourite Cradle tracks, need to check it out.
----
Loading...
04.11.2011 - 18:18
Daniell
_爱情_
One of my all time favourite bands, the authors of such brilliant releases as "Vempire" are tumbling down towards the rock bottom of crappiness
----
Now loving:
Naglfar - I Am Vengeance
Hour of Penance - Cast the First Stone
Hate - Indestructible Pillar
Depeche Mode - Going Backwards
Flotsam & Jetsam - Forbidden Territories
Immolation - When the Jackals Come
Suffocation - Your Last Breaths
Loading...
04.11.2011 - 20:39
Cynic Metalhead
Atrocious Virgin
I despise the New Cradle of Filth quite honestly!! Old COF was really good and unique!
----
Loading...
04.11.2011 - 22:15
Koen Smits
I like the live footage: was there when they were "Burning Down Graspop"
----
RIP: Frank Vandenbroucke (6 nov 1974 - 12 oct 2009)

Written by Bad English on 05.04.2014 at 15:05

but spoil thius film is like spoil porn and say porn ends whit cum shot ...
Loading...
04.11.2011 - 23:53
Plague_Angel
This review lends the album about as much credit as it is worth.
Really a rather crappy EP from a usually hopeful band. Needless to say, I was gravely disappointed.
Loading...
04.11.2011 - 23:57
bluegreengod
Account deleted
It's probably Roadrunner Records and not necessarily the band that didn't care to put the effort into making this a worthwhile release. (I haven't heard it so that's assuming it's not worthwhile)
Loading...
06.11.2011 - 03:51
Plague_Angel
Written by Guest on 04.11.2011 at 23:57

It's probably Roadrunner Records and not necessarily the band that didn't care to put the effort into making this a worthwhile release. (I haven't heard it so that's assuming it's not worthwhile)


Roadrunner Records had no involvement with this EP.
Cradle was signed to Peaceville Records before DDVA was released.
Loading...
06.11.2011 - 03:55
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Plague_Angel on 06.11.2011 at 03:51
Cradle was signed to Peaceville Records before DDVA was released.

Ah Peaceville, masters of unnecessary compilations, meaningless EPs, and pointless re-releases.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
06.11.2011 - 19:09
Plague_Angel
Written by Troy Killjoy on 06.11.2011 at 03:55

Written by Plague_Angel on 06.11.2011 at 03:51
Cradle was signed to Peaceville Records before DDVA was released.

Ah Peaceville, masters of unnecessary compilations, meaningless EPs, and pointless re-releases.


How unfortunately true. But at least Cradle is now with a label more their style, than one who also signed Nickleback.
Loading...
07.11.2011 - 06:23
bluegreengod
Account deleted
Written by Plague_Angel on 06.11.2011 at 03:51

Written by Guest on 04.11.2011 at 23:57

Roadrunner Records had no involvement with this EP.
Cradle was signed to Peaceville Records before DDVA was released.


Yeah, Peaceville... I think they actually split w/ roadrunner a couple years ago. My bad.
Loading...
02.12.2011 - 20:48
freedom forever
I really like COF albums, yet I cannot deny the fact that they like to collect money more than they like to play music
Loading...
04.01.2012 - 12:39
Paradox0
Unasuming Madnes
I surprisingly liked this EP. Sure a little over priced for what where getting but at least they didn't go ahead with the special edition cd thing again and make fans re-buy a more expensive cd with a handful of new(ish) tracks. Thank You Lucky Scars isn't too bad of a song and I find myself actually liking the demos a bit more than their album versions. Strangely the music sounds a bit tighter without the additional production for some reason, although once again, the songs are at best good no overlooked greatness from over-ambitious production here. However despite this being a good song, some decent demos, a bad techno mix and an orchestral version of Summer Dying Fast (seriously why is this here, is this some kind of reference to their previous EP) this is a little underwhelming for a CoF EP which are usually on par with their albums (which is a complement by the way).

I would LOVE to say this is a good new direction for CoF as I liked this EP more so than DDVA but this doesnt have anything new. Looks like where going to get another 10 reconfigerations of The Smoke of Her Burning.
Loading...

Hits total: 5571 | This month: 33