Rating:
8.7
Pain - You Only Live Twice
3 June 2011


Disc I
01. Let Me Out
02. Feed The Demons
03. The Great Pretender
04. You Only Live Twice
05. Dirty Woman
06. We Want More
07. Leave Me Alone
08. Monster
09. Season Of The Reaper

Disc II [Limited edition]
01. Crawling Thru Bitterness [Unreleased 2011]
02. The Great Pretender [Millboy & Peka P Remix]
03. Dirty Woman [MC Raaka Pee Remix]
04. You Only Live Twice [Rectifier Remix]
05. Leave Me Alone [Rectifier Remix]
06. Eleanor Rigby [The Beatles cover] [Live at Sundown Festival, 2008]
07. Follow Me [Live in Brussels, 2009]
08. I Don't Care [Live at Raimsmes Festival, 2009]
09. Bitch [Live at Raismes Festival, 2009]


Welcome Painheads and enter another journey of luxurious music where Pain is pleasure. I believe there is no need to mention who the man behind the wheels (read: vocals, guitars, bass and keyboards) of Pain is. Peter Tägtgren released You Only Live Twice as Pain's 7th studio album which I admit, I awaited very anxiously for, since his previous work Cynic Paradise did not impress me as I hoped it would, as I found it too soft, even though I am very well aware that Pain doesn't deliver the most bone crushing sound and is more of Tägtgren's soft, melodic alter-ego. I was really hoping that its successor would bring something a bit more vigorous to Pain's discography and fortunately I wasn't wrong, even though I needed some time for this album to grow on me.

The sound of this album is a bit refreshing, even though the basic melodies are still driven by the generic Pain sound we are used to: very dense in electronics, which you will hear in ''The Great Pretender''. But Tägtgren took a step forward and upgraded it with some heavy riffing that gives this album an edge. Also, Peter's vocals are at his absolute best on this album, as he is flowing from clean singing to twisted screams and haunting whispers that almost slide into the realm of gothic music, that really complete the songs. And not only does he sound absolutely amazing, he also shows great control over his vocals, especially when he's instantly passing from one style to other. Just listen the heavy screaming on ''Let Me Out'' moving to ghastly vocals and the heavy riffing on ''Feed The Demons'', ''We Want More'' and ''Monster'' combined with his wretched screams, and you will taste the album's finest. Of course, this album would not be complete if Peter would not flirt with some slower sounds as well, so he gave us ''Season Of The Reaper'' and ''Leave Me Alone'' to taste a bit of everything. ''You Only Live Twice'' is my favourite track from the album, with its unique larger than life feel that is embodied in the sound of it.

Disc II then is just a special treat for all Painheads as it features one previously unreleased song ''Crawling Thru Bitterness'' and some remixes and live recordings. To be honest, I never really considered it as a part of the album, but as some extra bit of spice. There is no need to emphasize: the originals are superb to remixes. The live version of ''Follow Me'' and ''Eleanor Rigby'' are actually the only two tracks from this disc, which are really worth listening from time to time.

All in all, I cannot really say this album is the best thing that has ever happened to Pain, but it deserves to be presented proudly. Originality may not be its best quality, but it brings a fresh touch, heavier sound, wicked vocals and some diversity. So for those who still think Pain is just Tägtgren's bastard child, it is time to open your eyes and see he really did get his hands dirty with industrialism and there is no need to wash them.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 10


Band profile: Pain
Album: You Only Live Twice


 


written by AnGina-- | 30.11.2011


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 18  
Users visited: 58  
Search this topic:  


jupitreas - 01.12.2011 at 01:09  
Pain is one of the worst bands currently recording and this album is yet more proof of this.
pagb666 - 01.12.2011 at 02:26  
Written by jupitreas on 01.12.2011 at 01:09

Pain is one of the worst bands currently recording and this album is yet more proof of this.

Nobody forces you to listen to it, nor to publish TWO reviews throwing shit on the band. I don't like Hypocrisy at all and I wouldn't waste my time reviewing it, nor listening to more than 1 record from them... you must be either masochist by exposing yourself to every "hazardous" material Pain releases, yet you don't even learn to stay away from them... or you are simple hater.

Pain may not the greatest band on the world, it sound pop-ish, lyrics are shallow... but you know, it's not necesarily bad because of it, and it is enjoyable to listen to.

PD: Oh, and about the record itself. It is clearly not the greatest from the band, but it is defintely better than the last one.
Troy Killjoy - 01.12.2011 at 02:59  
Ya jup you hipster industrial know-it-all hater, why review something if you aren't going to score it a perfect 10 because it's the best band in the world.

Oh, and for the sake of the reviewer, this was well-written, although I have no interest in the music whatsoever.
jupitreas - 01.12.2011 at 03:04  
Written by pagb666 on 01.12.2011 at 02:26

Written by jupitreas on 01.12.2011 at 01:09

Pain is one of the worst bands currently recording and this album is yet more proof of this.

Nobody forces you to listen to it, nor to publish TWO reviews throwing shit on the band. I don't like Hypocrisy at all and I wouldn't waste my time reviewing it, nor listening to more than 1 record from them... you must be either masochist by exposing yourself to every "hazardous" material Pain releases, yet you don't even learn to stay away from them... or you are simple hater.

Pain may not the greatest band on the world, it sound pop-ish, lyrics are shallow... but you know, it's not necesarily bad because of it, and it is enjoyable to listen to.

PD: Oh, and about the record itself. It is clearly not the greatest from the band, but it is defintely better than the last one.


Forgive me for giving an opinion about music, LOL. I am a music critic and lover and I listen to anything that I can get my hands on. If it happens to be shit, I am vocal about it, just as when I praise albums that are great. Pain is shit and the world needs to know this.
Susan - 01.12.2011 at 06:32  
So would you say it's.... "painful" to listen to this band?
Troy Killjoy - 01.12.2011 at 06:38  
Written by Susan on 01.12.2011 at 06:32
So would you say it's.... "painful" to listen to this band?

Looks like jup beat you to it... twice.

"Unfortunately, Peter's industrial/pop metal band Pain is simply dreadfully wrong and literally a pain to listen to."
"...it was indeed a pain to wade through this stuff."
Susan - 01.12.2011 at 06:39  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 01.12.2011 at 06:38

Written by Susan on 01.12.2011 at 06:32
So would you say it's.... "painful" to listen to this band?

Looks like jup beat you to it... twice.

"Unfortunately, Peter's industrial/pop metal band Pain is simply dreadfully wrong and literally a pain to listen to."
"...it was indeed a pain to wade through this stuff."


I bet it pained you to tell me that.
Troy Killjoy - 01.12.2011 at 06:41  
Written by Susan on 01.12.2011 at 06:39
I bet it pained you to tell me that.

-.-
Milena - 01.12.2011 at 14:45  
All this pain in the comments HURTS me.
(ba-dum-tss!)

Nice review, girl, keep it up!
Slayer666 - 01.12.2011 at 17:13  
As painful as this is for me to admit, this is a very good review.
A shame that it's wasted on such a crappy album. It's painfully banal and just completely unmemorable.
hadriel - 02.12.2011 at 16:40  
Written by Slayer666 on 01.12.2011 at 17:13

As painful as this is for me to admit, this is a very good review.
A shame that it's wasted on such a crappy album. It's painfully banal and just completely unmemorable.


^ this.
ravendeath - 02.12.2011 at 20:00  
I can't believe that so much people hate Pain..., but alright, everyone can have his/her opinion. Anyway, great review AnGina!
jupitreas - 03.12.2011 at 01:28  
I'm glad people are coming forward with their hate of Pain. It gives me some hope that people aren't completely devoid of taste yet. Pain is industrial metal for the sub 90 IQ demographic for sure.
AnGina-- - 03.12.2011 at 10:06  
I was actually quite biased whether to publish the review or not, because I know from reading the comments about this album here and from my friends that a lot of people really dislike this album, but for me it's Pain best work after Nothing Remains The Same.

I want to thank everyone for the compliments on the review, whether you liked the album or not, because reading your comments made me realise that even if you share your negative feedback, it doesn't get to me at all, because it's not up to me to convince anyone the album is good or not, that's the band's work. Tastes vary, that's nothing new, and if some MSers will feel a lot better about themselves by pushing the Pain fans down, then be my guest.
MechanisT - 29.12.2011 at 13:57  
I like this album. Is Mensa going to cancel my membership?
I feel it's a pretty enjoyable album. The catchiness really works on the stronger songs (The Great Pretender, for one). The others? Not really. All in all, inconsistent, yet at the same time fairly enjoyable.
Nice review, though the rating's slightly high.
Troy Killjoy - 31.12.2011 at 05:11  
Written by MechanisT on 29.12.2011 at 13:57
I like this album. Is Mensa going to cancel my membership?

If you like Pain, you aren't a member of Mensa.
MechanisT - 31.12.2011 at 09:59  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 31.12.2011 at 05:11

Written by MechanisT on 29.12.2011 at 13:57
I like this album. Is Mensa going to cancel my membership?

If you like Pain, you aren't a member of Mensa.


Of course not. That is what is being implied, so don't be surprised when you see me in power in the next couple of decades or so.
ravendeath - 02.01.2012 at 18:22  
Mensa should give to listen the music of Pain to the candidates as a test for the membership.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
News Pain - First 2011 Live Dates Scheduled 4.5 16.02.2011 by
Reviews (Lone) Wolf & Cub - May You Only See Sky 4 31.05.2007 by Collin
Albums Pain Of Salvation - 12:5 3 05.09.2012 by Dentura
General metal forum Which gig would you attend if you had one day to live 3 26.06.2009 by Powerslavex
Metal arena What kind of metalhead are you at concerts? 3 27.05.2009 by BloodTears



Hits total: 2102 | This month: 69