Metal Storm logo
Michael Kiriakos Delaouglou


NA- Geisha - drums (as Mikkey Dee)  
NA- Nadir - drums (as Mikkey Dee)  
NA- WWIII - drums (as Mikkey Dee)  
1985-1988 King Diamond - drums (as Mikkey Dee)  
1990 Don Dokken - drums, percussion (as Mikkey Dee)  
1992-2015 Motörhead - drums (as Mikkey Dee)  
2013- Nordic Beast - drums (as Mikkey Dee)  
2016- Scorpions - drums (as Mikkey Dee)  

Studio musician

1989 King Diamond - drums (as Mikkey Dee)  
2003 Helloween - drums (as Mikkey Dee)  

Live musician

2001 Dokken - drums (as Mikkey Dee)  
2016 Thin Lizzy - drums (as Mikkey Dee)  
2016 Scorpions - drums (as Mikkey Dee)  

Guest musician

2007 Pain - drums (as Mikkey Dee)  
2020 Wolfpakk - drums (as Mikkey Dee)  

Personal information

Also known as: Mikkey Dee
Born on: 31.10.1963

Micael Kiriakos Delaoglou, better known as Mikkey Dee (born 31 October 1963 in Gothenburg, Sweden) is a drummer/songwriter in the Heavy metal band Motörhead. A Swede of Greek descent, he has been known for his speed and precision since his mid-80s stint with King Diamond.

Early life

Delaoglou began his musical career with local bands Nadir and Geisha. His favorite drummer is Ian Paice. Other influences include Brian Downey, Neil Peart and Steven Smith. Dee also gives credit to Buddy Rich.

King Diamond (1985-1989)

Having moved to Copenhagen to play with Geisha, in 1985, he joined King Diamond, who were looking for additional members to complete their line-up. After their release of the "Conspiracy" album (1989), Dee decided to leave the band, as he felt he was becoming more of a back-up musician, rather than an equal contributing songwriter. King Diamond himself was becoming quite popular and the musicians backing him were taking a secondary role in the writing and decision making, often Diamond was the only person answering for the whole group in magazine interviews, etc. Dee continued to play as a session drummer for the recording sessions of the Conspiracy album (1989), after which he was replaced by Snowy Shaw. Mikkey's drumming in King Diamond proved to be very powerful and with a strong presence. Of all the King Diamond recordings,on 1987's "Abigail" and "THEM" which followed 1988, he exhibited innovative drumming performances that showcased his style and continue to influence drummers to this day.

Don Dokken (1990)

He joined Don Dokken for his solo album, Up from the Ashes (1990), with the music videos for the songs "Stay" and "Mirror Mirror" receiving airplay on MTV's Headbanger's Ball. The band headlined their own tour, as well as opened for Judas Priest. During this time, Dee also filled in a short time playing for World War Three (WWIII).

Motörhead (1992-present)
Mikkey Dee during a drum solo

Lemmy had been repeatedly asking him to join Motörhead since 1985, and in 1992, when asked once again, Dee accepted the offer, replacing Phil "Philthy Animal" Taylor. Commenting on his replacement of a longstanding member of the band, Dee said in a 2006 interview:

"Phil Taylor was great when he was good... so I could never have filled that space. It's like when you get married and have kids, no one can take my father's place. Of course, some other guy could have taken his place, but he wouldn't have been my father; so I could never be Phil Taylor, so I had to introduce Mikkey Dee into Motörhead."

Dee's first gig with the band was on 30 August 1992 at Saratoga Performing Arts Center, but he did not have much input on that year's release, March or Die, as this had been recorded with Tommy Aldridge prior to Dee joining the group. Dee did play on the tracks 'Hellraiser', which was on the album, and 'Hell On Earth', which wasn't on the album, but was on the soundtrack album to the film Hellraiser III: Hell on Earth. Ideally the band would have had Dee re-record all the drum tracks but this was not possible, due to a combination of money and time factors.

Alhough Aldridge was a member of the band, Dee's photo appeared on the rear album sleeve. Aldridge generously said that Dee could take his credit for the playing but Dee politely declined, as the drummers' styles are very different. In an ironic reversal, Aldridge had earlier had his photo on an album on which he played nothing, namely Ozzy Osbourne's Diary of a Madman.
Mikkey Dee live with Motörhead

Their record label, Epic Records dropped the band after its release and the group continued recording with SPV GmbH. The band also started a label themselves, called "Motörhead", which was copyrighted and distributed through Warner-Chappell and ZYX, Dee's first album for this label being 1993's Bastards.

He also played drums on Helloween's 2003 album Rabbit Don't Come Easy, stepping in for Mark Cross.

In April 2006 King Diamond reunited with old friend Mikkey Dee at a sold-out gig at Kåren in Fiskebäck, Gothenburg, Sweden. In 2001 King referred to Dee as "one of the best [drummers] of all time and that's something that has bothered us since he left."

Dee also played the drums for Martin "E-Type" Eriksson in the Swedish pre-qualification to the Eurovision song contest 2004, as well as on E-Type's 2003 Eurometal tour.

He is famous for his long drum solos during concerts, often lasting between five and fifteen minutes and filling between songs. Dee currently plays a drum solo halfway through the song "In the name of tragedy"; previously it was during "Sacrifice".

Dee is a ice hockey enthusiast and a supporter of the Frölunda HC team from Gothenburg. The rumor that Dee was in a Swedish National Youth Hockey team (stemming from an interview on Motorhead's stagefright DVD) has since been rebutted by Dee himself, claiming that "in the end of the 80's and a bit into the 90's I played for a team called Team Sweden in southern California" causing the rumor to arise.

Dee was a contestant celebrity on season 1 of Kändisdjungeln on TV4. He was eliminated on the 15th episode.


Mikkey Dee uses Sonor drums, Paiste cymbals, Remo drumheads, and Wincent Drums sticks. He was endorsed by Vic Firth, but recently switched to Wincent, with whom he has his own signature model.


King Diamond
* Fatal Portrait (1986)
* Abigail (1987)
* Them (1988)
* Conspiracy (1989)

Don Dokken
* Up from the Ashes (1990)

* March ör Die (1992)
* Bastards (1993)
* Sacrifice (1995)
* Overnight Sensation (1996)
* Snake Bite Love (1998)
* We Are Motörhead (2000)
* Hammered (2002)
* Inferno (2004)
* Kiss of Death (2006)
* Motörizer (2008)
* The Wörld is Yours (2010)

* Rabbit Don't Come Easy (2003)