Buy for
(7 items)

Release date: 23 January 2008
Style: Progressive metal


8.7 | 690 votes


860 have it
64 want it
2 trade it

Disc I [Y]
01. Age Of Shadows [incl. 'We Are Forever']
02. Comatose
03. Liquid Eternity
04. Connect The Dots
05. Beneath The Waves
    1 - Beneath The Waves
    2 - Face The Facts
    3 - But A Memory...
    4 - World Without Walls
    5 - Reality Bleeds
06. Newborn Race
    1 - The Incentive
    2 - The Vision
    3 - The Procedure
    4 - Another Life
    5 - Newborn Race
    6 - The Conclusion
07. Ride The Comet
08. Web Of Lies

Disc II [Earth]
01. The Fifth Extinction
    1 - Glimmer Of Hope
    2 - World Of Tomorrow Dreams
    3 - Collision Course
    4 - From The Ashes
    5 - Glimmer Of Hope [Reprise]
02. Waking Dreams
03. The Truth Is In Here
04. Unnatural Selection
05. River Of Time
06. E=MC²
07. The Sixth Extinction
    1 - Echoes On The Wind
    2 - Radioactive Grave
    3 - 2085
    4 - To The Planet Of Red
    5 - Spirit On The Wind
    6 - Complete The Circle

Disc III [Special & Deluxe Limited edition][DVD]
01. Behind The Scenes: Making of 01011001
02. Beneath The Waves [CGI Movie (5.1/2.0)]
03. Guide Demos [feat. Arjen on vocals][audio]
04. Ed Warby's Session: Recording drums
05. Bloopers [audio]

Top 20 albums of 2008: 10

Reviews (2)
Lyrics (15)

Additional info
Progressive Metal / Heavy Metal / Folk
Label: Inside Out
Distribution In France: Replica Records
The Netherland: 2007
Length: Disc 1: 50:08; Disc 2: 51:59

Line-Up on the CD:
Vocals: Hansi Kürsch
Vocals: Daniel Gildenlöw
Vocals: Tom S. Englund
Vocals: Jonas Renkse
Vocals: Jørn Lande
Vocals: Anneke van Giersbergen
Vocals: Steve Lee
Vocals: Bob Catley
Vocals: Floor Jansen
Vocals: Magali Luyten
Vocals: Simone Simons
Vocals: Phideaux Xavier
Vocals: Wudstik
Vocals: Marjan Welman
Vocals: Liselotte Hegt
Vocals: Ty Tabor
Vocals: Guitar, keyboards, synths, bass guitar, programming: Arjen Anthony Lucassen
Drums and percussion: Ed Warby
Guitar solo on "Newborn Race": Lori Linstruth
Guitar solo on "E=MC2": Michael Romeo
Keyboard solo on "The Fifth Extinction": Derek Sherinian
Keyboard solo on "Waking Dreams": Tomas Bodin
Piano and Keyboard solo on "The Sixth Extinction": Joost van den Broek
Flutes: Jeroen Goossens
Violins: Ben Mathot
Cellos David Faber

Staff review by

How can I start this review? How many words will I have to use to talk about the new Ayreon? There are definitely too many things to say about "01011001", the new baby of Arjen Lucassenů I should maybe try to write a book about this album and the whole Ayreon story but well, I will just write a review and I promise I will do my best to explain what "01011001" is, and sorry if I'm a bit long this time roundů

published 05.02.2008 | Comments (68)

Staff review by

The more Ayreon albums get released and the more spectacular the line up becomes – the more known Ayreon becomes and the more awaited the new album is. That is nothing bad by itself but it does hit a ceiling eventually. There are basically two statements I want to get across about this album. First, it's perfect. Second, it's not.

published 22.02.2008 | Comments (32)

Found in 44 lists
Top lists

Introspekrieg Beginner's Guide To Building A Prog Collection (Standards, And A Few Unorthodox Choices)  | #265
R'Vannith Space Metal!  | #93
Starchild My Favourite Albums Of All Time  | #23
Curumir Awesome Space Atmospheres  | #7
In5anity My share of experime(n)tal music and other innovative stuff  | #45
Amo del Merol Avant-Guardía...  | #10
Erik M. Ayreon Albums: Best To Worst  | #3
Angel_Lament The Awesomest Duets  | #33
More lists with this album (44) | Create a list! ››


‹‹ Back to the Albums
Comments: 9  
Users visited: 894  
Search this topic:  

Stas - 13.02.2010 at 01:24  
  Fantastic pure delight! Not to say I would by everything that contains such a charm as "River Of Time".
ErnilEnNaur - 14.02.2011 at 20:13  
  The first disc is a litte weak when compared to the second one. I don't care at all for Web Of Lies of Connect The Dots. You don't have to preach to me about how bad it is to eat fast food and play computer games, Arjen. Great album, but doesn't live up to ITEC and THE. 9/10
DelightfulJim - 06.02.2012 at 17:20  
  I much preferred The Human Equation.
Unna Med - 29.06.2012 at 19:17  
  The first disc is really weaker than the second, but I can forgive Ayreon almost everything for Age Of Shadows, one of their most dark and atmoshperic compositions.
Dentura - 03.09.2012 at 20:13  
Rating: 8 Listening to the album right now. I think it's great! The fact that three of my all-time favorite singers, Daniel Gildenlow, Hansi Kursch, and Jonas Renkse are all on the same album is what made me want to buy the album, but all the material not featuring them, but the other guests is a pure delight to listen to as well. I should check out more of Ayreon's albums sometime, since this is my first album.
Echonia - 11.11.2012 at 11:53  
  Can anyone tell me the story of this album?
Cynic Metalhead - 11.11.2012 at 12:46  
Written by Echonia on 11.11.2012 at 11:53

Can anyone tell me the story of this album?

won't be able to dig it up as much clear as you really want to.

So, here you can check it out what fuss is all about.
Mehdi Taba - 14.12.2012 at 00:09  
Rating: 9 The Disc II is better than Disc I 9.3 .
Erik M. - 21.01.2013 at 23:16  
Rating: 9 I'm sort of in between the 2 reviews that are written for this album. It's not really worth either of those scores. The thing with this album is, is that it has a few brilliant tracks (the longer ones are the better ones) and a few pretty mediocre (Connect The Dots) or even bad tracks (only Web Of Lies though, which seems a lame excuse to have Simone Simons on the album). While it's not as consistent as ItEC or THE, it's definitely a great album.

Advertise on Metal Storm

Login or register to post here.

Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Ayreon - 01011001 4.5 22.02.2008 by Ivor
Reviews Ayreon - 01011001 4.5 05.02.2008 by
Albums Ayreon - The Theory Of Everything 4 26.03.2013 by Groby94
News Arjen Lucassen - Unveils New Project 3 22.04.2014 by BloodTears
Reviews Ayreon - Into The Electric Castle 3 01.03.2011 by Dark Blood

Hits total: 13960 | This month: 1