Advertise on Metal Storm
Skyclad - Folkemon

8.2 | 61 votes |
Release date: 23 October 2000
Style: Folk metal


97 have it
6 want it

01. The Great Brain Robbery
02. Think Back And Lie Of England
03. Polkageist
04. Crux Of The Message
05. The Disenchanted Forest
06. The Antibody Politic
07. When God Logs-Off
08. You Lost My Memory
09. Deja-Vu Ain't What It Used To Be
10. Any Old Irony?
11. Swords of a Thousand Men [Tenpole Tudor cover] [bonus]
12. Loco-Commotion [bonus]

Martin Walkyier - vocals
Steve Ramsey - guitars, backing vocals
Graeme English - bass, acoustic guitar, classical guitar, backing vocals
Georgina "George" Biddle - fiddle, backing vocals, keyboards
Kevin Ridley - guitars, backing vocals
Jay Graham - drums, percussion, keyboards, jaws harp, hunting horn, backing vocals

Studio musicians
Tirza Abb - vocals
Averre Graham - penny whistle, cor-anglais
Fred Purser - guitar solo

Additional info
Produced by Kevin Ridley and Skyclad.
Recorded at Trinity Heights (Newcastle, UK). Assistant: Fred Purser.
Additional musical compilation at Face Studio (Newcastle, UK) by Dave Maughan.
Mixed at Moles Studios (Bath, UK). Assistant: Dan Austin.
Compiled at Octagon by Andy Forsyth.
Mastered by Tom Müller at TTN Mastering (Berlin).
Artwork by Duncan Storr.

Found in 1 list
Top lists


Comments: 1   Visited by: 35 users
26.05.2016 - 19:52
Rating: 9
Metal Addict
It seems from its MS rating that this album is one of the most underappreciated in Skyclad discography. Why that is is beyond my understanding. In my opinion, it has all the juicy ingredients: a nearly perfect mixture of folk melodies and heavy guitar-driven metal sound, the lyrics of Martin Walkyier that seem to be his wittiest ever, great production, beautiful artwork of Duncan Storr... Really, it's a shame that Martin and the band separated their ways after this record.
"And we are not who we think we are
We are who we're afraid to be"
- Lux Occulta "The Opening of Eleventh Sephirah"

Hits total: 4256 | This month: 24