Advertise on Metal Storm
HIM - Greatest Lovesongs Vol. 666

7.9 | 157 votes |
Release date: 20 November 1997
Style: Suomi metal


179 have it
8 want it
1 trades it

01. Your Sweet Six Six Six
02. Wicked Game [Chris Isaak cover]
03. The Heartless
04. Our Diabolikal Rapture
05. It's All Tears (Drown In This Love)
06. When Love And Death Embrace
07. The Beginning Of The End
08. (Don't Fear) The Reaper [Blue Öyster Cult cover]
09. For You
10. [Hidden Track (666)]

Additional info
Greatest Lovesongs, Vol. 666 was produced by Hiili Hiilesmaa, who also produced their EP 666 Ways to Love: Prologue. Like that EP, this album was recorded at Finnvox, MD and Peacemakers in Helsinki, Finland. Guest vocals were provided by Sanna-June Hyde and Asta Hannula on "(Don't Fear) The Reaper" and "For You", respectively. A special Digipak version of the album was also released with "For You" moved to the first track. Another special edition was released in Germany with the bonus track "Stigmata Diaboli", taken from 666 Ways to Love: Prologue.

After track 9 (For You), there is a series of untitled hidden tracks (numbers 10 - 66), although only track 66 contains any music, the same music from the end of a demo of The Heartless, recorded in 1993.

Guest review by
Having released two demos and an EP helped HIM to establish its own ideology and gave the audience a little bit of a sense of what they were: a well fit Finnish gothic rock/metal band that sings dark romance songs. Actually it was nothing but a combination of 80s rock music and metal music on a love theme that is a little bit "satanik" in Ville Valo's words. "Satanik" refers to the evil in love, don't get the wrong impression. Greatest Lovesongs Vol. 666 is a good example to understand and look at the idea of love with a different and a bit unusual perspective.

published 29.06.2006 | Comments (19)

Found in 2 lists
Top lists

Hits total: 6563 | This month: 21