Stephen O'Malley


1994-1995 Thorr's Hammer - guitar  
1995-1998 Burning Witch - guitars  
1998- Sunn O))) - guitars  
1999-2007 Lotus Eaters - guitars, samples  
2000-2006 Khanate - guitars  
2001- Fungal Hex - all instruments  
2001-2002 Teeth Of Lions Rule The Divine - guitars  
2002- Ginnungagap - guitars, bass  
2002-2007 House Of Low Culture - guitars  
2003- Æthenor - guitars  
2006- KTL - guitars  
2006- Gravetemple - guitars  
2007- Stephen O'Malley - guitars, bass, electronics  
2011- Nazoranai - bass  
2013- Äänipää - electronics, guitars  

Live musician

2007 Oxbow - guitars  

Guest musician

2008 Boris - guitars  

Personal information

Born on: 15.07.1974
Official website

Stephen O'Malley (sometimes referred to as SOMA) is a producer & musician, predominantly a guitarist, from Seattle, Washington who has conceptualized and participated in numerous drone doom, death/doom, and experimental bands. Currently, he is involved with the monikers: Ginnungagap, KTL, Æthenor, and Sunn O))), and composes for the French choreographer/director Gisèle Vienne.

He is also an art/director graphic designer, having produced album covers and posters since the early 1990s for numerous musicians & bands including Earth, Burzum, Emperor, Zyklon, Melvins, Boris, and Probot, and for commercial clients in the advertising and entertainment sectors. O'Malley has also worked as a rock/metal journalist & published a black metal fanzine called Descent in the mid-nineties. He was involved with creation of both the Southern Lord label & the experimental/neofolk/black metal label The Ajna Offensive.

Although he is originally from Seattle, O'Malley's website clearly states that he lives in Paris, France.

O'Malley is a founding member of several groups including Sunn O))), Burning Witch, KTL, Khanate and others. He has collaborated with a variety of artists including Greg Anderson, founder of Southern Lord Records and member of Goatsnake, and Burning Witch. O'Malley has also worked with Japanese noise artist Merzbow, guitarist James Plotkin, Julian Cope, Joe Preston (of Thrones, Earth, High on Fire, and the Melvins), Attila Csihar of Mayhem, Peter Rehberg aka PITA, Lee Dorrian of Cathedral and Napalm Death, Kristoffer Rygg (of Ulver), Aaron Turner (founder of Hydra Head Records and graphic designer and member of Lotus Eaters and Isis), guitarist Oren Ambarchi, Peter Rehberg, Malefic (Xasthur), Wrest (Twilight, Leviathan, and Lurker of Chalice), and percussionist Z'EV.