Defeated Sanity - Biography




DEFEATED SANITY was formed in 1994 as a project of Wolfgang Teske (guitar) and Lille Gruber (drums) with the intention to play the most brutal and intense death metal possible. The band started playing shows in 1996 with the help of session musicians Jonas Gruber (bass) and Robert Colnik (vocals). With this line-up the band also recorded 2 demos: Devoured By The Black (1996) and Withdrawn From Beauty (1998).

The next step was to find musicians able to play the very complicated songs, and they ended up being Tino Köhler (bass) and Christian Münzner (guitar). In 2001, Czech label GRODHAISN PRODUCTIONS released a split CD with DEFEATED SANITY (with Marcus Keller doing vocals) and POPPY SEED GRINDER. Also recorded in 2001 was the "Collapsing Human Failures" contribution to the Split 7" EP with IMPERIOUS MALEVOLENCE, which would be the last recording featuring guitarist Christian Münzner (who then became part of NECROPHAGIST).

In late 2004, the band released their debut full length album, "Prelude To The Tragedy" on UK label GRINDETHIC RECORDS.

DEFEATED SANITY has now undergone further line-up changes with Jens Staschel joining on vocals, Christian Kühn on guitar, and Jacob Schmidt on bass. In August 2006, the band entered Soundlodge Studios and recorded their second album, "Psalms Of The Moribund" which was released in early 2007 on GRINDETHIC RECORDS.

Recently, the band recorded a Promo CD which will be available soon.