Insomnium - Biography





Over the last decade Insomnium has slowly but surely made itself a household name among the melodic death metal scene. Formed in 1997 in the somnolent town of Joensuu, in eastern Finland, these stern men have ever since redefined the boundaries of the genre. Two highly acclaimed demos already set the standard and in 2001 the band signed to UK label Candlelight Records.

At this point the founding members Markus Hirvonen (drums), Ville Friman (guitars) and Niilo Sevänen (vocals/bass) attached guitarist Ville Vänni to the band. The triumphant line-up had been born. Their debut album "In The Halls Of Awaiting" (2002) introduced a young and fierce band that combined aggression and violent riffing with a melancholic atmosphere. Their sound can be described as a marriage between Scandinavian death metal and traditional Finnish tunes, catchy but progressive, melodic but brutal - these have been the Insomnium trademarks ever since. Their debut was praised all over the metal world but the band still remained Finland's best kept secret.

With "Since The Day It All Came Down" (2004) the band moved further from the beaten paths of the genre. This album was darker and more challenging; the songs took meandering pathways: a rewarding journey for those who dare to take it. Exaltations followed: the prestige grew. In 2005 Insomnium made its first real tour outside Finland as they hit the shores of the UK. The road had been long, narrow and rocky, but now things started to roll.

The band's third album "Above The Weeping World" (2006) was the breakthrough. Compositions and arrangements had reached a new pinnacle and the overall sound was heavier and richer. The album was tighter, meaner and more menacing than ever. Long-time friend Aleksi Munter did the epic keyboard parts which added a whole new layer to the songs. "Above The Weeping World" took the 9th spot on the Finnish album charts, while the 'Mortal Share' music video appeared on MTV and Insomnium made long tours in Europe and North America with bands like Amorphis, Katatonia, Enslaved and Satyricon.

The band's latest offering, "Across The Dark" (2009) shows a band that knows its strengths but isn't afraid to evolve. Crux of the music is still melodic death metal but nuances are giving it a unique flavor. Keyboards are overwhelmingly epic and there are some stunning clean vocals by Jules Näveri, in addition to bits of folk metal, a pinch of doom, some thrashing, a whole lot of timeless melodies and progressive twists; there you have it: ingredients of a masterpiece.