Conquering Dystopia - Biography


Conquering Dystopia is a 4-piece instrumental progressive metal band formed by Jeff Loomis (ex-Nevermore) and Keith Merrow (Merrow, Demisery). The band is completed by infamous bassist Alex Webster (Cannibal Corpse, Blotted Science) and drummer Alex Rüdinger (Ordinance, The Faceless, ex-Threat Signal).

Jeff and Keith had known each other for some years (Loomis guested on Merrow's 2011 album Conquering The Stone King), and decided they wanted to collaborate together in a band. Jeff formally announced the collaboration in January 2013. In July the band began a crowdfunding campaign to cover the costs of the album and also revealed the name of the collaboration would be Conquering Dystopia, as well as revealing they had been joined in the band by Alex and Alex.

In early March 2014 the band revealed the artwork and release date for the album alongside a teaser. The band's eponymous debut was released worldwide through iTunes on March 10, 2014.