Metal Storm logo
Future Metal - Original Or Not?

11.03.2007 - 01:14
Dark Cornatus
Powerslave
Elite
Ok well its simply a thing i was thinking about.

We all know how music has progressed, Metal didnt just begin, it was blended into rock by bands mainly from the 70's, and now is its own genre. It became big and since the mid 90's, has really evolved into a diverse genre. There is Metal bands with influences from ALL styles of music, each taking their own progression with their sound. Other genres have done this too, but we really do not know about it, we are only talking about Metal.

By the present stage, do you ever wonder, how much more can Metal progress? Will bands become unoriginal? Maybe they will take music to a new level we dont know about yet?

Post away with your thoughts, im keen for opinions.
11.03.2007 - 02:13
tulkas
el parcero
This is really hard to think about, or to try to figure out. From my point of view not being a musician I wouldn't know what to think specifically in terms of musical writing, I mean, each band has their own methods for writing their music and looking for new stuff to do, me instead don't know about that.

Now, I think the situation is different in terms of lyrical writing. As we know a lot of bands write thier songs based on peronsal experiences, on things that happen in the world, or simply about new stories or things they would like to talk about. There are many things that you can write about and many things that can induce you to do it in many different ways. There's a lot of roads to travel here still.

So I think that in terms of lyric writing there's lot to explore and evolve, there's a whole lot more to say to the world. In terms of the music itself, I wouldn't know... I leave this to the musicians
----
love is like a jar of shit with a strawberry on top
11.03.2007 - 07:09
Dark Cornatus
Powerslave
Elite
Good response, thank you. You are very right with the lyrics part.
11.03.2007 - 08:25
Opium Magnet
Account deleted